TherapyAppointment

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews

About TherapyAppointment

TherapyAppointment is an easy-to-use, HIPAA-compliant, EMR solution for individual and group mental health practices. Our secure, cloud-based web platform powers your practice (charting, billing, insurance filing, scheduling, appointment reminders, telehealth) from any computer, smartphone, or mobile device. Designed for therapists by a therapist to power practice growth, our tools just make sense. Conquer your practice's financial tasks with our easy and intuitive insurance, billing, and reporting features. Grow your client base with appointment reminders and online scheduling. Open lines of communication with free Patient Portals that house HIPAA-compliant communications and telehealth. Grow your practice with free Admin accounts and the ability to add providers easily and simply. Manage and grow your practice with ease with one powerful dashboard. **We work hard to build HIPAA compliance into everything we do so you don't have to. Rest easy knowing we've got your back.** First 30-days free, including 1-1 training + telehealth! Just getting started? We've got your back with full-feature access for $10/month!
TherapyAppointment Software - Appointment scheduler
TherapyAppointment Software - Client invoicing
TherapyAppointment Software - Electronic insurance billing
TherapyAppointment Software - Online scheduling
TherapyAppointment Software - Sharing clinical notes
TherapyAppointment Software - Login page
TherapyAppointment Software - Appointment scheduler - thumbnail
TherapyAppointment Software - Client invoicing - thumbnail
TherapyAppointment Software - Electronic insurance billing - thumbnail
TherapyAppointment Software - Online scheduling - thumbnail
TherapyAppointment Software - Sharing clinical notes - thumbnail
TherapyAppointment Software - Login page - thumbnail

TherapyAppointment pricing

TherapyAppointment does not have a free version but does offer a free trial. TherapyAppointment paid version starts at US$10.00/month.

Starting Price:
US$10.00/month
Free Version:
No
Free trial:
Yes

Alternatives to TherapyAppointment

TherapyAppointment Reviews

Feature rating

Value for Money
4.2
Functionality
3.9
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4.4
5 reviews of 105 View all reviews
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 29/10/2018

Small Therapy Office

It makes my life 10 times easier! But we still need clients to fill out information on paper because they have a difficult time setting up and using their accounts properly.

Pros

I'm the billing assistant in the office. My favorite part is that it makes billing insurance companies so much easier and faster. It also tells me when I'm missing information in a client's file.

Cons

One of the features allows clients to create their own accounts in the system. Their system is so different from the one I use. It's difficult for them to access it without explicit instructions every time. It's not user friendly for ages 40+ from what I've found. It's also a pain to re-bill under a different CPT code if it's already been submitted once before under a different specific code.

Response from Psych Select Software

Thank you so much for your feedback! We're glad TherapyAppointment makes your life easier!

We are always working to make our software better, so appreciate your feedback on the patient portal and billing CPT codes. The patient portal in V2.0, our next upgrade, was built with user-friendliness in mind and we think you'll love it! Also, our team of billing experts is happy to take a look at this billing issue as well -- please give us a call and we'll see what we can do to help!

Replied 1/11/2018
Kristina
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/09/2020

By Practitioners, For Practitioners

Overall, TherapyAppointment has been an integral part of starting and maintaining my private practice. The ease with which I am able to access TherapyAppointment across devices helps me manage time and productivity. The comfort in knowing I will receive personalized support allows me to work through issues without stress. The billing process through TherapyAppointment has been one of the most painless processes I've ever encountered while working in mental health. I would highly recommend this program to colleagues in similar practice situations as me.

Pros

This program is wonderfully built to support my therapy practice needs. I can easily enter and access client information, upload documents, schedule, check billing and contact customer service. There are multiple helpful videos for initial set up and customer service personally walked me through step-by-step directions when I still did not understand some initial start-up procedures. Adjusting billing documents before submitting helps eliminate returned or rejected claims.

Cons

My only struggles have been around issues with adjusting or deleting scheduled appointments without a cancellation and recreating therapy notes but those can be adjusted by utilizing forms.

Alternatives Considered

SimplePractice

Reasons for Switching to TherapyAppointment

More colleagues had positive things to say about TherapyAppointment than Simple Practice and I like the set-up for TherapyAppointment better than the layout of Simple Practice.
Amy
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

2
Reviewed on 7/06/2017

Expect Outages

I am in the process of switching over to a different system.

Pros

Easy to use, you can make some very basic templates if you want.
No significant training needed to get started
Low cost

Cons

Frequent outages
Poor customer service - I asked for a partial credit due to significant outages and was arrogantly told that the electric company does not issue credits, and the most they would do would be to remove the outage time from the last bill when I decided to leave their system.
They have promised an update for a while now, and still no ETA.
Templates are very basic, you can only make a template with text, no check boxes, etc.

Response from Psych Select Software

We have continued to test the software changes made in response to the recent service outages. and are convinced that the problem caused by by our new password encryption system using too many resources and crashing the system has been resolved.

We also have a compensation policy that you will likely not find from most software companies. Here is our policy: we consider any service outage that lasts for more than one hour to have a significant impact on the utility of our system. For this reason, we consider any day with outages totaling more than 60 minutes to be a "lost day of service" for which compensation is appropriate. We count four such days in the last month; therefore, we will be giving credit for four days of service. This is consistent with the End User License Agreement that you accepted as a precondition for use of our system.

We understand that you may rely upon TherapyAppointment as a locus of organization of your practice, and recognize that a system outage can disrupt the operations of your practice. We will continue to strive for consistent service delivery; we believe that the recent problems are resolved.

Replied 9/06/2017
Gwen
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
0

5
Reviewed on 27/08/2020

What I Love About Therapy Appointment

My experience has been positive. We like the software for all it offers us and how efficient it is.

Pros

The accounting, the overall record keeping, the ease of use.

Cons

After a year I still do not have invoices with my letterhead and we cannot submit secondary claims electronically. Also, there is no phone app for my therapists.

Julie
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 20/11/2018

A decent EHR option for mental health therapists

I have really appreciated the responsiveness of the support team. I send in my question/request and hear back, typically that day or within 24hrs, with it answered/completed. Despite the things I get frustrated about with the system, I feel like the people behind this system are doing what they can and like I have a HIPAA team behind me, watching my back.

Pros

I've used this for years and appreciate the ease of storage, billing, and reassurance that the note formats keep me HIPAA compliant. It is best suited to an individual provider, although it can scale to small groups of providers.

Cons

It does not integrate well/function well for groups of diverse providers, such as group practices that include prescribers and other medical providers. It is limited in its ability to run useful reports. It suffers from significant glitches (like, reversing a payment you distributed in error reverses ALL of them for the client, not just the one you made the error in. This requires you to redistribute everything, which takes a lot of time, especially if you've seen a client for a long time). The statements it creates for clients are very confusing for them to read and understand. It does not facilitate a paperless office - no ability to exchange/complete all intake forms/questionnaires electronically - can send out but forms must be printed out by the client, filled in and signed by hand, brought in to the appointment (or uploaded by client and emailed back to office), scanned to computer by therapist and then uploaded to client's chart; no ability for electronic signatures, etc. There's a rumor that this bit about the paperless office has been corrected in the new version - fingers crossed!!

Response from Psych Select Software

Hi Julie,

Thanks so much for sharing and being part of the TherapyAppointment Family. We appreciate that you've been part of our family for years, and are grateful for your honest feedback so that we can continue to grow!

We're excited for you to get started in TA2.0 -- it has more adaptability for groups than our legacy product, and will address most of your concerns. For example, your office will be able to switch to a completely paperless practice with the addition of esignatures, customizable forms, attachments in messages. Feel free to uncross your fingers --it's here! :) We do hope that you'll continue to share your thoughts on how we can change for the better: TA2.0 is built to continually grow so that we'll never stop improving!

Thanks again for being part of our family,
The TherapyAppointment Team

Replied 3/12/2018

Related categories