User Reviews Overview

About Wolfram Mathematica

Wolfram Mathematica is a technical computing solution that provides businesses of all sizes with tools for image processing, data visualization and theoretic experiments. The notebook interface enables users to organize documents...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

Browse Wolfram Mathematica Reviews

147 of 137 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 24/04/2019

The best symbolic math software, with a learning curve

Pros

Mathematica is the go-to software when manipulating mathematical expressions that must be solved, simplified, visualized, modelled, etc.

It defines an entire language dedicated to writing expressions precisely, with the option to write them with math symbols (e.g. sum, product, etc) or more similar to other programming language.

Particularly useful is the symbolic differentiation feature, which is easy and intuitive to use.
Many more advanced and domain-specific features are available, and keep being added at each release (yearly).

There is a 'cloud' version of the software which can run Mathematica notebooks in the browser, making it possible to make quick checks without a full installation.

Cons

The Wolfram language's syntax and patterns is unlike any that I've seen, and so becoming proficient with Mathematica isn't just a matter of a few hours. Thankfully, the built-in help (reference manual) and tutorials are of great quality, and come with many practical example. The dedicated StackExchange community is also a great resource.

Contributing to the difficulty is the fact that certain expressions will be handled (e.g. simplified or factorized) by Mathematica more easily than others, even though it feels like they should be equivalent. It is sometimes necessary to expand an expression, then simplify and factor it again in order to solve it again.

Despite the support for many, many domain-specific features, working with vectors and matrices is still painful.

When not part of a university or ineligible for discounts, the price may be high, depending on the intended use.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 5/10/2019

Powerful Computational Software

I have been using Mathematica for three years, both in the context of my work and college. I have several applications written purely in Wolfram Language that I still use on a weekly basis. I have used Mathematica for solving differential equations and mechanics problems, building deep learning models and doing image processing. My most recent application is a function which takes as input video, audio or text and returns the key phrases and tags extracted from the speech/text.

Pros

The thing that I like the most about Wolfram Mathematica is that it is incredibly versatile. It handles almost all of the facets of technical computing starting form simple algebraic equations, solving ordinary and partial differential equations to image/ audio processing and machine learning. Moreover, Mathematica also has incredibly powerful graphing and modeling capabilities. The interface is aesthetically pleasing and intuitive. The ability to add hierarchical cells is a big advantage and allows to format notebook in a beautiful way. Regarding the features, Wolfram Mathematica has almost everything you need. Moreover, it's ability to be integrated with C++, Python and other languages, makes it an exceptionally powerful application.

Cons

The only thing that I dislike about Mathematica, is the fact that there is a certain learning curve, as Wolfram is a very vast language and it may take time to learn and use it comfortably. Other than that, there is nothing I dislike about Wolfram Mathematica, as it perfectly suits my needs.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 20/10/2020

Unparalleled Mathematic Computing Capabilities

If Mathematica suits your needs for computational power, it is an unparalleled and invaluable tool to have at your disposal.

Pros

Mathematica is a powerful computation and analytical coding framework. While not as versatile as similar computing languages, Mathematica is simple enough to use in day-to-day computations but powerful enough for any project. its visualization tools are very powerful, allowing you to easily view and manage data in both 2D and 3D sets. Its integration with additional packages is very powerful, and updated frequently. For symbolic mathematics, there is no competitor quite as powerful as Mathematica.

Cons

Given that it is a coding framework, the barrier to entry can be quite high to people without a programming background. Strict syntax rules dictate that functions be written precisely and correctly, or else you'll run into errors or unexpected behavior. While Mathematica doesn't have the worst error checking I've seen in some programming languages, it lacks on-the-fly error checking. The cost of Mathematica can seem prohibitive, but if Mathematica suits your needs it can easily make up for its cost in time savings.

Top Wolfram Mathematica Alternatives

GiniMachine

0

Izenda Business Intelligence

KnowledgeLake

Binod B. Binod B.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 3/12/2019

A must have software for every science and math student

I'm highly satisfied and recommend Wolfram Mathematica.

Pros

I like how easily it solves complex algebra and integration problems. It's so easy and intuitive to use.

Cons

The cloud version sometimes freezes otherwise it could be a great feature for users to have a powerful Computational tool everywhere.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 18/04/2019

One of the best mathematics tools available for students

Life-saver for anyone who is struggling with mathematics.

Pros

This software can be an absolute life-saver for any student learning mathematics. The software solves such a large range of math problems ranging from simple to complex in an instant. It demonstrates step-by-step problem solving which facilitates learning. I used this software throughout my undergraduate education and still use it today.

Cons

Like any great software, there can be a slight learning curve in order to get the most out of it. For the simple functions, it is click-and-go. For the most advanced functions, it may take some time to learn.

Pawan S. Pawan S.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 13/02/2021

Very versatile (desktop version)

Pros

This software helped me get my bachelor’s degree in mathematics... I used it to solve a differential equation that got me an A in the class. The prof was happily impressed with how I used the tool to solve the problem. It was a simple problem, in retrospect: a block of salt in a water tank with fish and bacteria. The optimal flow that saved the fish but killed the bacteria was the “solution” - pun totally intended!!!

Cons

It’s been a while since I last used the software; suffice it to say that it left a good taste in my mouth, so to speak.

Jason J. Jason J.
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 4/06/2019

Very Effective Math Tool

Pros

There are so many things that you can do with Mathematica because of the Wolfram foundation. It's completely free-form, so you can use it in whatever way you like and achieve results: from contour plots to simple arithmetic and anything more simple or more complex. There are built-in functions to help you if you make a mistake in your code or if you need help figuring out what to do to achieve your goal.

Cons

The tough part is learning all the aspects of the software. The way you have to write your functions and expressions are slightly unconventional to regular maths. And there's no way to know you did something wrong until you've messed up and it prompts you on how to fix it. Sometimes having too many functions is detrimental if there isn't enough support to help the users learn how to start.

Francisco A. Francisco A.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 21/06/2021

A powerful tool for science students

It’s the best mathematical software I’ve ever used

Pros

It’s UI is one of the most easy to use, even if you don’t understand much of programming

Cons

Like many other software of this type it requires for you to mess up before you actually achieve what you want

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 30/01/2021

Wolfram Mathematica

I use Mathematica for data handling and modeling. It has been very useful.

Pros

The language used here is similar to other commonly used machine languages. So as a person who know them somewhat, Mathematica helped me on subjects such as physics when it comes to modeling.

Cons

There is a long learning curve. But then again there always will be a lerning curve for a software like this. Therefore no big complaints

Alberto G. Alberto G.
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 18/04/2018

Mathematica is powerful, but you REALLY need to know how to use it to get great value from it.

Pros

The capabilities and functionalities embedded in Mathematica are almost unbounded. You can create very complex models in every branch of mathematics and statistics with this software and, in addition, Mathematica can display the final results using graphics that can be entirely customized to suit your needs--from very simple plots to very sophisticated graphical animations.

Cons

The amount of effort needed to use Mathematica in all its glory is long and steep. Unfortunately, the logic and naming conventions that make Mathematica a powerful programming language are not intuitive--there are too many rules and obscure naming conventions that are not typically used in other languages. Error messages are not very helpful for new users, and frustration can quickly set in.

Terran G. Terran G.
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 21/02/2020

Amazing. Does whatever you tell it to do.

I love wolfram and I think it is well worth getting to know and use in college.

Pros

I like the flexibility of wolfram. The online version is also free for most things which make quick math problems a breeze if you don't need step by step solutions.

Cons

Sometimes when I am trying to solve a complicated math problem it would be nice to see the steps to the solution. I am not a fan of paying for this.

Sk J. Sk J.
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 16/09/2018

Helping scientists, artists, business houses implement advanced mathematical models into their...

Pros

One of the oldest mathematics software (first version 1988) that has helped many scientists, artists, business houses implement advanced mathematical models into their work.

Cons

They need to work in a team and stop giving an impression that the world of programming is the world of Wolfram. Little reference or appreciation for other programming languages and habit of self-praising by its founder belittles his own real accomplishments.

Pallavi D. Pallavi D.
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 25/06/2020

Ideal software for technical computing!

I had a great experience using the Wolfram Mathematica. It's an ideal software for technical computing.

Pros

I like Wolfram Mathematica software because of its high speed mathematical calculation, instantaneous graph illustration, and 3D image view capabilities.

Cons

There is a learning curve to write or enter equations in Mathematica. It's easy to make mistakes.

Anna C. Anna C.
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 23/01/2019

Very powerful software

Love this software! Very powerful once you learn the language. I’ve used this software for years and I don’t that changing anytime soon.

Pros

Very powerful software. It’s very versitile when you know how to use it.

Cons

It can be quite a learning curve to use the software especially if you don’t have experience with similar software.

Tyler W. Tyler W.
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 6/09/2019

Great Tool

Great software and has great results. Always gets the job done.

Pros

Wolfram is a great way to solve pretty much any kind of equation. It's really easy to use and produces great results with a lot of information with the results.

Cons

I really don't have any complaints. It is really a great program and has never really given trouble.

John F. John F.
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 26/02/2020

Absolutely fantastic tool for various mathematics assistance

I have had fantastic experiences using Wolfram Mathematica and would highly recommend to users interested in diving into math and other computing technologies.

Pros

Incredibly handy tool that I have been using since my undergraduate education. The various complexities of mathematics are well represented within Wolfram Mathematica. My personal experience has only been positive with the features and it seems as though Wolfram has continued to support and expand the potential.

Cons

The main negatives are the features that aren't developed enough within Mathematica. I do believe the overall ease of use could be focused on. It is challenging to learn the ins and outs of the language, and unfortunately it is not open software.

Ossama E. Ossama E.
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 24/09/2021

Wolfram Mathematica

Pros

A very efficient program in creating Force related graphs and animation related in Structural design and construction. A very useful tool to use during education especially when "design" ideas are still new to fresh students.

Cons

Its a bit difficult to use without learning the proper methods and language.

Jennifer C. Jennifer C.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 18/01/2020

Wolfram Mathematica great for checking solutions and visualizations

Mathematica is great for creating lecture figures or solving problems to homework sets.

Pros

This software is great for visualizations of complex problems and detailing the steps to reach the solution. The interface is user friendly and is relevant for all types of coursework including biology, physics, engineering, math, and more. It's a very useful tool to have as a student.

Cons

The debugger tool isn't the best and you'll need a basic understanding of programming. The license unfortunately is not free.

Antonios F. Antonios F.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/01/2019

make mathematrics simply

Pros

Its very easy to make mathematics calculations

Cons

There is no one visual simulatoin package

Jacob C. Jacob C.
  • Industry: Facilities Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/05/2018

Mathemica is really the best digital solution out there for mathematical problem solving.

Great tool for complex math using a digital solution.

Pros

This is very powerful software. It is basically a must have in the higher education environment. For complex math solving in the digital age, this is the software to use. Very functional software.

Cons

With high amounts of functionality also comes a bit of complication in terms of execution. There is a bit of a learning curve on being able to effectively use many of the features of the software.

Dennis N. Dennis N.
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 26/04/2018

Reliable but extremely hard to use piece of software.

Pros

Its offering a huge amount of equations and formulas that are predefined, and you only need to know what you want, other than that i like the shortcuts that are common and mostly known.

Cons

I don't like that you can't use it right away even with a high level knowledge in the field of Mathematica, its complex and the tools are listed in some hidden in three level menus .

Andrei C. Andrei C.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 15/10/2019

One of the best tools for algorithm design

Using it to develop new (or improve existing) Computer Vision algorithms. It has reduced considerably our iteration times.

Pros

It’s very easy to test new algorithm ideas with almost instant feedback. Easy to use once you accommodate with the language.

Cons

It’s not much not to like about Mathematica... The language is simple and the documentation is very good.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 21/03/2019

Good

I was super great i can do anything i want in maths and physics problems

Pros

Finding the gravity anomility and easy programmable

Cons

Can use to simplify every mathematical problem

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 19/10/2018

Strong tool for mathematician

Pros

Powerful solver for differential and integral equations.
The 3-D graphs for functions and equations are really nice.

Cons

It is not easy to learn at first.
With the bloom of Python and open-source software, there are many substitutions for Wolfram Mathematica which are free, compared to the very expensive Mathematica.

Logan H. Logan H.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 7/04/2021

Wolfram Mathematica is a homework lifesaver

I love using Wolfram Mathematica and will for years to come.

Pros

Wolfram Mathematica not only helps when getting information on anything but also explains it in easy to understand steps

Cons

There really was nothing that I disliked about using their software. Everything is speedy and accurate.

147 reviews