ProcessMaker Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About ProcessMaker

ProcessMaker is an open source business process management (BPM) and workflow management solution that offers a drag-and-drop interface for analysts to model approval-based workflows. The solution assists organizations in...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
4.2

Browse ProcessMaker Reviews

175 of 175 reviews
Sort by:
Afolabi
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 27/05/2019

Best BPM Software in the market

Processmaker is easy to use and customize. Highly recommended.

Pros

- This is an open source software that allows the easy automation of manual processes.
- Processmaker gets rid of the need for paper authorization with the use of digital signatures
- Easy to define and create a workflow process with the use of drag and drop objects
- The user interface is easy to use and understand
- Easy Integration with emails and financial systems

Cons

- Processmaker still has some compatibility issues with Internet explorer
- License is expensive
- As useful as this tool is, the ability for end users to reopen cases will be welcome

David
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 20/05/2019

Rich text for email template

Truly workflow has been simplified, regular office business processes have been automated. Instead of having to carry papers about from one office to another for approvals I can simply create a form On processmaker and route them digitally through the required offices

Pros

I really like the idea of the Rich text for the email template building. The rich text enables me design email templates without having to write the html scripts.

Furthermore,The pm functions are easy to understand and it's very easy to call the variables out on any dynaform.
Lastly, this application supports Javascript which is the simplest language to learn. With the javascript the forms can be controlled to suit the business requirements.
Forms can also be easily customized using html in the panel web control feature.

Cons

The mobile application version needs a little attention. The mobile application is great because it makes users in out office location take on pending request without having to use a desktop. However, I think processmaker should work on the interface and response of the mobile app to enhance user experience .

Ethan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 25/06/2019

Powerful customization, many bugs

Pros

ProcessMaker allows you to customize most aspects of your processes including the forms, the underlying logic, and email notifications. If you are asked to create a complicated system, it can probably keep up with you.

Cons

When we tried to use many of the features we discovered that there were bugs in those features. When I first setup a process, I had about 10 confirmed bugs in their bug tracker. It takes 6-12 months for bugs to get fixed in my experience and every time they release a minor update it fixes one of the bugs and adds a new one. For example, the search feature has been broken for several months now, so users have to use the reporting module to search for past cases. It runs much slower than the built in search.

Alternatives Considered

Nintex Process Platform

Reasons for Switching to ProcessMaker

Nintex didn't support approval workflows from their mobile app at the time.

Top ProcessMaker Alternatives

Nintex Process Platform

Oracle Business Process Management

José Antonio
José Antonio
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 15/10/2019

ProcessMaker experience

Started to used for quality process, connecting franchises and vendors to validate changes.. it was really usefil as we could engage several stakeholders that before had a very manual process.. process timings wer reduced from 30 days to less than 2

The interface is very web basic, but it has helped us significantly in our digitalization and process oriented journey

Pros

Very open BPM platform, can be connected to multiple platforms

Cons

Usability, ease of use is reasonable but a little updated

Alternatives Considered

Salesforce Sales Cloud

Reasons for Switching to ProcessMaker

Cheaper option, easier to mantain
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 24/03/2019

Good BPM Software

ProcessMaker is a good BPM software, it allows you to design our own web forms as the start of the workflow, action by email is also a good function for manager level to approval the request.

Pros

ProcessMaker helps our organization to transfer many business process into digital business process.

Cons

I think web entry form should be more flexible for user to design based on more front-end frameworks. Interface of ProcessMaker can be more cool or not just a software.

Diego
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 20/03/2019

Good choice waiting for the V3

We have implemented processes for different business areas: HR, Finance, IT, Master Data Management. All with great results.

Pros

We have been using Process Maker en the Version 2.x and this year we are going to implement V3. It is easy to use for final users and easy to administrate.

Cons

We have issues with IE and lost of information in a Supplier-configured process. Departments updating is a very tedious task.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/03/2019

BMP very good software for processes

More than anything we use it to automate very good software processes since you can develop even if you do not have much knowledge about the programming topic with which we have basic knowledge we can develop

Pros

I can design my process easy to develop and design my dynaforms as we like, I have implemented with other platforms

Cons

That there can not be two developers working in the same process

Andrew
Andrew
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 29/07/2019

Review for ProcessMaker Workflow Software

Pros

I like that simple processes can be automated and put on workflows to improve efficiency of businesses.

Cons

I don't like that the pricing is quite expensive.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 26/09/2018

Workflow for the masses

It is an awesome product.

Pros

Processmaker is the first (after many others) that is exactly what workflow should be. The general architecture is solid. It is a great product. Although the database gets some getting used to and is a fairly steep learning curve, the designer and engine meet all expectations. It is easy to create and publish your first workflow. Complex workflows are a breeze.

Cons

More complex reporting requires significant knowledge of the backend database which takes time.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/10/2019

a straight and easy to use system

Overall it is a good system to manager internal process. It is inexpensive and customer support is prompt although the team is no in united states.
When process are set up, it works seamlessly.
However, there is a bit difficulty to add new process.
Hope vendor can make the setting new process an easier step in the future

Pros

easy to use
easy to manage users
Overall it is a good system to manager internal process. It is inexpensive and customer support is prompt although the team is no in united states.
When process are set up, it works seamlessly.
However, there is a bit difficulty to add new proce

Cons

hard to add new process
However, there is a bit difficulty to add new process.
Hope vendor can make the setting new process an easier step in the future

Charles
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 26/06/2020

BPM Development from a first time user.

We have used it for two different projects. The first project was very complex and we ran into many of the issues with BPM, but we overcame it, but the end users, really did not like the software, so basically, it was a wasted effort.
The 2nd project was some of the same issues using BPM, and a few new ones, but those were also overcome, but at least with this one, the end user is liking the software and using it daily.

Pros

The customer support service for the software is top notch, one of the best I have dealt with since becoming a programmer.
The graphical interface, setting up the workflows was pretty intuitive.
Installation of the software on the server was also pretty simple.

Cons

There seemed to be a real lack of thought or foresight, if you were using the software in different environments (IE: a dev, a uat, and a production environment). If you have variables that are pointed to a database, every time you export a workflow from one environment to the next, you have to go in and change each and every variable.
Some of the important features that are available, don't come easily with the version of BPM. For example the PHP excel sheet use, was difficult to find all the parts for to be able use it, and then to install it.
Also, there should be a way to export groups and roles and the users in them, instead of having to go in and rebuild each one in each environment, and then go and populate each one with the same users for each environment.

Daniel
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/10/2019

The Use of ProcessMaker in Automating AXA Mansard's Business Processes

So far, at AXA Mansard, we have automated over thirty (30) business processes including critical ones. This for us, has reduced the delay witnessed in getting processes to be approved across the company thereby resulting in an increase in TAT (turn around time). Also, the ProcessMaker Sales and Support teams have been very helpful as they have always been prompt in resolving issues/complaints presented. They have also exhibited proactivity as they check on our experience with the software at intervals.

Pros

Its ease of creation of workflows , affordability and customer support

Cons

Its "escalation feature" is limited in functionality

Lee
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 31/01/2017

Evolving platform that has ongoing potential

Powerful tool that does require good knowledge of JavaScript, PHP and MySQL however as someone with just learning these codes I have implemented a number of processes. The support team are fantastic and will help you through coding issues. Feature requests are implemented quickly and overall we have seem an improvement internally with our processes. ProcessMaker are very receptive to feedback and appear to genuinely welcome feedback requests to improve their software. I put 3 stars for ease of use as I don't know PHP, JavaScript or MySQL but am learning as I go. Overall compared to other vendors I investigated, for the price point this is a very good tool.

Pros

Flexibility in process design, great support, good documentation, powerful tool, Mobile app

Cons

Output to PDF function is fairly basic in terms of layout and design.

Ariella
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 20/06/2019

Easy, Fast And Flexible

This tools is easy to learn, fast to create flows and flexible. We do put our own code to provide better logic to each process and reach our clients requirements which makes our process take a bit longer to be complete, but at the same time it allows us to complete them however we need. Their support is pretty good. We have had a few extended periods of response, but nothing serious.

Pros

It is a very flexible platform that adapts to you business instead of the business having to adapt to the platfomr.

Cons

Its connection time and lack of warning that you have been disconnected. In various occasions I have been disconnected and I keep working and nothing is been saved.

Lennin Geovanny
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/07/2019

a bpm that speeds up several internal developments and for our clients, easy to implement and...

We use it in several implementations has become one of the preferred tools of our development team to solve our clients' requirements

Pros

We were looking for a tool that allowed us to implement solutions in an agile way, we trained in its use and we have not stopped using it from there, it implements solutions in an easy, scalable way and does not require greater effort for its maintenance

Cons

The migration from version 2.9 to 3, x is not easy and in some cases it was impossible

Budi
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 12/01/2018

Consider to user BPM Processmaker because it is open source

powerful software for business process management

Pros

- Open source is one of our benefit
- Interface simple but user friendly
- Workflows defined is easy
- Source can be modify because its open source
- Email is easy to configure
- User management have complete information
- documentation good

Cons

- Output as PDF format need to fixed out
- License price is too expensive
- should need experience in javascript because using many parameter for approval or workflow process
- support only come from community

Emily
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/01/2017

Nice Product that do helps us a lot

We have been using ProcessMaker for our business workflow in different departments for the past 2 years. It has been giving us a lot benefit when talking about managing process and monitor the status of workflow.

Thanks to this product.

ELIZABETH
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 28/02/2021

Making Processes Easier

Its an excellent software in general. I dont need papers anymore and has made working from home even more fun.

Pros

First of, I love that it can be designed not to require VPN access before you can use. I work from home and can easily access the company's processmaker when i want to submit my weekly and monthly reports.

Cons

I feel the software is too flexible that the processmaker team makes changes almost everyday. Human intervention makes using the software stressful.

Mostafa
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 16/12/2017

Good Program in Workflow

its really good program just need pet training for use also need to make it low cost

Pros

Work Flow is The Perfect - start up company also will be very useful for it - its easy to control the employees time sheets and Absences

Cons

Over Cost Per Month for 100 employees, not every one can use the work flow designer easy ,we have to make team and start give them training how to use the program

Suminda
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 17/10/2019

ProcessMaker BPM review

Missing some basic features

Pros

Simple configuration , simple coding and easy to develop UIs

Cons

Very difficult to make a reports. And also developing plugins.

Ala'a
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 20/01/2018

It's a very useful and helpful software.

Pros

I don't need to write a lot of code ,PM did lot of things instead and if not; there are a really good APIs and documentations. and I like how I can create email template as I want.

Cons

I think it has a weak point in reporting, i wish if i could get a sufficient reports about processes.

Abhijit
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 12/09/2016

Great software

Me and m team thinks this is a great software ..its something like opensource SAP. At Start it was a little difficult. new REST API is great move taken by company.

Pros

Easy to use . Visual interface of the process designer

Cons

Currently supports only MySQL database .

Edgard
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 23/07/2019

The Smart Choice on BPM Selections

This solution came pretty handy in solving issues of communication between departments and follow up of issues.

Pros

The easy to customize interface and configuration capabilities allowed us to automate old processes in to web based solutions.

Cons

There's room for improvement in the form of pre-programed options such as re-open cases or the deletion of them.

Peter
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/07/2015

best php written workflowengine on the market

i have searched for a long time and i must say, that processmaker fits my needs on a standalone workflowengine best.

i love the simple plugin mechanism an the flexibility of the triggers. So i was able to integrate 3rd party soap apps ver easyly
with the new designer, we can even win pitches agains well known java applications.
Great work on your 3.0

In only 2 days we have implemented a showcase with a heavy weight magento-store on a monster Adobe Indesign Backend.

What a great fun to work with.

The very good documentation helped me like a charm.

Processmaker is the perfect base to integrate workflows in webapplications and its your best friend if you speak php.

I hope for the future, that the backend code will be a little more modern and Zend Framework or Symfony or Cake will find the way in the very cool product.

All the best

Peter

Paul
  • Industry: Program Development
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 26/01/2017

Just Love using Process Maker

WAs able to learn how to use it and export models within a day. Work mates found it useful and are considering using it as well. The built in Dashboards made me look like a star

Pros

Ease of use an feature sets

Cons

I used to dislike their older interface but the latest release is sweet

175 reviews