Samsara Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Samsara

Samsara helps the largest and most complex operations organizations empower workers, save on fuel, and build a world-class safety program—all from a single easy-to-use, integrated platform. With tens of thousands of customers...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.9
Features
4.0
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4

Browse Samsara Reviews

338 of 338 reviews
Sort by:
L. Houston
L. Houston
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/09/2019

Samsara is an excellent Fleet Management software

I am pleased with Samsara overall. It has shown us how to take our business to the next level. As we've evolved, our requirements of Samsara have as well. Although Samsara could not anticipate this, I am eager to give helpful insight on how to help Samsara go even further!

Pros

I enjoy having the insight that it provides us. Literally, with what I can see on the road, and all of the back-end data it can provide us. Samsara helps us remain compliant in our industry. So its routing functions are a leading example of what vehicle tracking should look like. Lastly, the driver app is what comes in the clutch to wrap it all up. Our staff finds the app very intuitive, simple, and it rarely faults. It is official and its documents function help us log valuable information that we turn into presentable data!

Cons

The system is buggy, and I find myself having to call in every so often to inquire about why I'm not seeing certain stats or images on my vehicles from their dashcams. The Driver app sometimes force quits and will sometimes refuse my drivers to log information.

Alternatives Considered

Verizon Connect and Fleetio

Reasons for Choosing Samsara

Samsara is robust, very user-friendly, and is scalable.

Reasons for Switching to Samsara

Capterra reviews!
Junior
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 4/04/2024

Best products on the market for the transportation industry

It's been great, I thinks it's the best you can get and I have an excellent working relationship with my rep [sensitive content hidden].

Pros

Broad range of products, best products on the market. I like that I can call my Rep [sensitive content hidden] at any time and assistance with existing products and services and get the same level of interest and commitment that I received when he sold it to me. He supports what he sells.

Cons

The customer service and reporting a problem through the system. If I call my rep it's great customer service. If I can't get in touch with him or I used the reporting on line it takes far to long to get help and resolution

Sosan
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 5/03/2024

Buyers Beware!!!

Horrible service.[sensitive content hidden] is the worst representative not helpful at all.

Pros

In the beginning they are friendly to get you to sign up

Cons

They have hidden fees, no real customer service help, you have to wait 48 hours in order to get someone to help you.

Top Samsara Alternatives

Peggy
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 8/03/2024

IF YOU HAVEN'T SWITCHED TO SAMSARA, YOU SHOULD!

Pros

It is such an easy system to use and what's even better is how easy it is to teach drivers how to use! Makes orientation much simpler. The customer support is always top notch!

Cons

When trying pull data for reports sometimes selecting exactly what you want is not as easy as it should be, i.e. date ranges, grouping.

Darren
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 5/04/2024

Safety is the goal

Starting with the first rep that we talked to our overall experience has been fantastic. Everybody says yes we get no no’s

Pros

The safety section is by far the best and what I use all the time

Cons

No problem, don’t have any real problems. Customer service can solve whatever I need.

Alternatives Considered

Motive

Reasons for Choosing Samsara

We needed a product that just simply worked better and Samsara does that

Switched From

Motive

Reasons for Switching to Samsara

We had to choose between continuing with motive or getting your product. Your product was much better and you gave us the proper amount of money to get out of the contract.
Richard
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/03/2024

Love me some Samsara

I cant ra e enpugh about Samsara. We delt with other companys but none can compare.to Samsar. Love me some Samsara.

Pros

All the features and no options. Especially the camera system.

Cons

That we didnt get it sooner. The system just works.

Adam
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 18/03/2024

Samsara THE System

it's a top notch so far. I would highly recommend to anyone looking to upgrade

Pros

We finally found a system that does it all and accurate. I am still learning, but that's due to the wealth of knowledge it contains.

Cons

Nothing so far. It has been easy to use and navigate for our team

Anton
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 3/04/2024

Very Happy with Samsaras product.

Very positive. We have installed Samsara in all of our equipment, fleet vehicles, and over the road trucking assets.

Pros

Video AI, ease of use of Samsara dashboard, reports, and instant notifications.

Cons

System continues to read as running if asset goes into a cell dead zone and racks up inacurate engine hours.
Causes John Deere equipment to go into De-Rate when connected to equipment ECM.

Lance
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 12/03/2024

The Help of Samsara

Samsara has helped our business in many ways. Being able to see what our drivers are doing helps our company save money. Being able to submit videos when collisions happen and submitting to our insurance company is a bonus.

Pros

I like that we can see where every truck is and what they are doing. When we are paying drivers by the hour we monitor where they are going at all times and how long they are at every stop. The cameras have especially helped us when accidents are video captured when submitting to ICBC.

Cons

The video history somehow needs to be captured when needed. I believe you can only go back a certain number of weeks, or you cannot request to retrieve it.

Ryan
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 28/03/2024

Durabuilt Windows

Pros

Vehicle accuracy as well as alerts sent for violations or driving infractions critical part of driver evaluation.

Cons

Unable to change our billing from credit card to direct invoicing after several attempts and sales individuals agreeing that it would be done. it is to the point there is now consideration of changing provider.

Andres
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 5/09/2019

Next level tech.

Love it. We have a screen on the wall in our office, every time we have a customer that come to visit us they like the way it looks and we always get complements of what we can track with the software.

Pros

*Easy to use
*Can be used on different platforms
*Looks very high tech

Cons

On the maintenance section-When you create a schedule for any particular unit you have to create multiple for each unit. On an our previous software we used to use before you only have to select a unit and then select what you needed to track ea. PM, DOT inspections etc.

Michael
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 25/06/2023

Select 1 Group and Samsara

Pros

Samsara has the best real-time tracking capabilities of all of the other Telematics providers. The reporting functionality is superb.I love the integration with Fleetio and Magnus Technologies. I'd like to see Samsara work closer with TMS providers to offer better service and provide insight for improvements to operational efficiency.

Cons

I'd like to see more integrations with other companies. The dispatch and maintenance functions are very lacking.

Alternatives Considered

Omnitracs and Motive

Reasons for Choosing Samsara

Omnitracs was very expensive, and there were rarely any improvements to the platform.

Switched From

Omnitracs

Reasons for Switching to Samsara

Samsara has a wider suite of solutions under one roof. The competition usually specialized in a given area and was lacking overall features.
Bruce
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 3/05/2021

Great Asset

Over all a great system for the money. Drivers take to it easily, dispatchers like the flexibility and versatility of tracking the trucks and seeing what is going on. It would be nice if you could hover or select a driver and visibly see something that tells how long they have been sitting rather than having to going into the trips and just see a paragraph that displays time.

Pros

Very easy to maneuver and learn features on the dashboard. App is easy to learn, even for our older non-tech drivers. Cameras have paid for themselves in the first year by being able to download and utilize for accidents.

Cons

App updates constantly, which is good that features are added. Most times though updates slow the app down if the update does not take automatically and locks up app.
Since everyone has begun working from home and remotely, customer service has suffered and response time from email is very lacking, and when they do its the same scripted reply's. Initially someone would work through an issues with you on the phone, no so much anymore.

Benjy
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/07/2023

Samsara Journey

Samsara has helped us with our safety bonus program, safety scores and increase fuel economy across the fleet.

Pros

Easy to grasp and continued improvements!

Cons

Nothing with Samsara but our TMS provider took a very long time to integrate.

Alternatives Considered

Maven Fleet

Reasons for Choosing Samsara

Omnitracs was behind in technology and continues to be behind.

Switched From

Omnitracs

Reasons for Switching to Samsara

Price and features.
Christopher
Christopher
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/07/2019

Samsara - Perfect Balance of Features, Function and Design

Samsara allows us 100% visibility of our fleet, plus diagnostic info regarding our trucks, including fuel level and DEF level!

Pros

Samsara offers a simple yet stunning UX. The dashboard is subtle yet robust. What I love is that nothing annoys me about the interface. Things are where I would assume I should find them. There is just enough functionality without introducing options I'll never use. So far Samsara is super durable and stable. Reporting is quick and accurate. The hardware options surpass the competitors. So far we are very happy with our choice.

Cons

The maintenance feature doesn't allow uploading files such as receipts.

Alternatives Considered

Verizon Connect

Reasons for Choosing Samsara

Our previous provider didn't offer real-time vehicle diagnostics via OBDII port.

Switched From

FleetLocate

Reasons for Switching to Samsara

The user interface was superior as well as the hardware options.
Grace
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/05/2023

Samsara

Pros

Ease of use, good quality of cameras, customer service is on point.

Cons

Everything needs to be able to export in Excel, not just CSV

Alternatives Considered

Verizon Connect and OneStep-JV

Reasons for Choosing Samsara

Needed a system that could grow with our company

Reasons for Switching to Samsara

Better price, better quality, easier install and size was not too big
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 16/09/2020

Full Fleet Management

Positive, continuously improving, and clearly a leader in the fleet management/dash cam software industry. They have all the features and then some.

Pros

Ease of installation was very important. This is a plug and play, while other options must be wired in by installers at a cost. The interface, features, and overall usability are much better than the two other companies I have used.

Cons

Usual high pressure sales to start the process, but the negotiation and closing process was very smooth. Some reports and insights are slow to update but overall seems to be very accurate.

Alternatives Considered

GPS Trackit

Reasons for Choosing Samsara

Nextraq was very limited in the metrics and insight to driver safety. Process for installation was very cumbersome and lengthy. Customer service was outsourced.

Reasons for Switching to Samsara

Simplicity and ease of installation
Hillary
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 5/01/2021

Complete package for GPS and DOT compliance

It's really nice that Samsara GPS pings frequently. This means you can watch vehicles moving in real time, which is great for updating VIP clients. The DOT compliance portion completes the GPS services.

Pros

It's great having GPS, driver logs and vehicle inspections in one place. Our team uses GPS daily to keep on top of trips in progress for our chauffeur service. We do have vehicles that are under FMCSA jurisdiction, so we need to keep detailed driver logs and vehicle maintenance files, which are all done through Samsara as well, making things easier.

Cons

Unlike our last GPS service, you're not able to drop a pin to get a time when a vehicle was at a certain location. This is a bit of a nuisance and you have to guess.

Sierra
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 18/08/2020

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY

Our contract with your company started at the end of March 2019 and our dashboard turned off October 2019. EVEN THOUGH I HAVE PAID FOR FULL YEAR OF SERVICE ON MY DEVICES. We had to keep Verizon connect active and ongoing while we waited for your installation. Installation crews never could get them installed correctly . We were told that this system would alert for distracted driving, if there was a car stopped in front of you it would alert you, non of the in cab "coaching" features worked. The only two features that ever worked (not consistently, rarely did this work correctly) was the "your seatbelt is unbuckled" and "please reduce speed" . We made this switch to Samsara due to the salesperson advertising these features to us, which never worked. We were happy with our Verizon connect. We were told you had multi rear camera and side camera options That we're coming out within 4-5 months. That never happened. We were told we would be on a monthly billing cycle. Only to be told later that they were giving us 30 day month trial and that you did not offer monthly cycle. We never do annual billing cycles. This would have been a deal breaker for us. We spent $3000 integrating this product with our company operation software.we still have never even gotten to make sure works , yet since we haven't been able to pull a log from Samsara. Not having a fleet program is putting my company drivers at risk. This advertising was fraud. Our agreement has been breached.

Pros

THE FALSE ADVERTISING the idea of what the company and their equipment would do . I could integrate to our company software ( which our software people got done on our side) Samsara never did their part to run logs to see if it was working.

Cons

The coaching features do not work as advertised. Heat from your windshield will interfere with its performance entirely, promise of future equipment being developed which never came to be available. switch sales tactics, poor customer service,

Vincent
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 27/12/2021

Stay Away Horrible Unethical Company that Just wants your Money

HORRIBLE, we left our previous ELD company due to awful service and unethical treatment as a customer. Samsara promised to be a good business partner and has done nothing but fall short. Do your self a favor look else where for companies that Value your business and WANT to work with you. Keep in mind this company like many others will lock you into an additional contract period (3 more years) at the end of your first one if you do not provide notice.

Pros

The Product is somewhat simple and not to hard to use however the app will put drivers on duty when they take them off duty. Making edits in the driver reports is annoying and more time consuming than necessary due to needing to leave a remark for every edit.

Cons

The most disgusting part about this software is the team behind it. DO NOT purchase this software. This is a money grabbing company that will use contracts and unethical tactics to take your money. This company will NOT work with you or be a good business partner. I have a Fleet that I currently am building up. Initially we signed a contract for the starting 8 devices we needed. I purchased another truck recently. I contacted Samsara for another device. In response to this they sent me a contract for an additional device. Which would have been fine however this contract had different timeline terms. Meaning at the end of my contract period we would still be liable for that other device for an additional however many months. I called my account manager to explain that I am building my fleet and planning on almost doubling my trucks. I explained I wont be purchasing these trucks at the same time, I would gradually be acquiring them and would not like to have individual contracts on every truck at different periods throughout the year. Signing the contract would have been fine if the trucks I purchased fell into the same specifications as the original contract. There was no budging or help on their end. This means I would have 6 to 8 additional trucks all with different contractual obligations. [Sensitive Content ] is who I was talking to. There was no help no budging just no. A company like this should be your business partners but Samsara just wants to TAKE ADVANTAGE OF YOU.

Loren
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/10/2022

Two years of Use

Helping to establish better driving accountability.Better maintenance of the fleet.Keep accurate track of mileage travelled on a daily basis for cost tracking.

Pros

Real Time Tracking is helpful in our business to have our vehicles location for giving delivery times to customers that aren't present when the deliveries are made, giving the time/date and a picture of our vehicle at their facility helps with proof of delivery.Maintenance tracking is helpful for keeping vehicles service intervals to be done on time with the alerts to show up before mileage has been reach.

Cons

Following distance notifications can be annoying when driving in heavy traffic because the settings are fairly sensitive.Downloading footage from cameras can very slow at times, not sure if that has to do with the cellar service or if there could be an update to improve that retrieval.

Alex
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 24/03/2023

AVOID. Truly the worst customer service, across any industry we've ever experienced

AVOID. WORST customer service by any company we have ever experienced. Our big struggle right now is Samsara is integrated into our whole fleet and changing a provider, especially if we have to speak with someone at Samsara, is a huge undertaking. If I knew what I know now, I would have never moved forward with this horrible company. They are well below Comcast and Verizon level incompetence. Samsara makes the RMV feel like Disneyland.

Pros

The GPS and fleet tracking is great and have no complaints.

Cons

AVOID. Samsara is truly the worst customer service business we have ever dealt with. We have literally never been helped on an ongoing billing issue that we've experienced for years. I have created support tickets, had days of back and for email communication, at least 25 phone calls with multitudes of people and have never made 1 step of progress. I have even gone as far (as bad as I felt) making formal complaints about the last FOUR people who have "helped" me hoping this would cause an elevation to get this resolved and astonishingly nothing happened. Not even an email or phone call back.

Hope
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/09/2019

Excellent Service

Our telematics and GPS tracking have greatly improved since switching to Samsara. We have had an excellent experience with our assigned representatives and appreciate the constant (automatic!) software updates and Samsara's dedication to meeting DOT compliance as it changes.

Pros

Quick response to questions and recommendations. Constant updates. Great follow through. Incredibly accurate location and telematics.

Cons

A bit pricey compared to others I tried, but I feel it is worth it for the quality of service and accuracy.

Alternatives Considered

Geotab

Reasons for Choosing Samsara

OCC was very sporadic and inaccurate. Anytime I went to look for a truck having trouble, it wouldn't register on the map and I couldn't find its location. Also, telematics were reactive rather than proactive (on the rare occasion that they worked at all). Despite the increase in monthly service fee, I have no doubt Samsara has helped save us on predicting potential breakdowns before they cause lost time.
Ashley
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 5/09/2019

Love it!

Love that we made the switch and even my supervisor is starting to love it more and more everyday.

Pros

I love how much this program offers; it has helped us majorly weed out the not so loyal employees. The ELD portion is simple and easy to use and I don't have to fight the guys to use it for their logs. They just want to use it. I love the camera system as it has helped us out with false reports on reckless driving and gives us a little sense of comfort knowing that we have those backing us up 100%.

Cons

The only issue I have seemed to notice is where we live in Nebraska sometimes when the trucks are going out in the sandhills; sometimes the trucks don't quite connect all the way. So the live feed gets a little jumpy, but it still keeps it up to date as best as possible.

SIMONA
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 22/09/2020

REVIEW

Using samsara as over the rooad trucking company, this is all you need to run in compliance.

Pros

User friendly, we have a lot of older drivers that are not very computer savvy but they all complement Samsara for how easy is to use it. Also very easy to set up and navigate. I don't want to ever use another system.

Cons

Honestly i dont know any cons. I am very happy with it. I have been using it from the beggining.

Alternatives Considered

Motive

Reasons for Switching to Samsara

pricing and features
338 reviews