Recipe Cost Calculator Reviews

4.9
Overall rating
Reviews

4.9
Overall rating
Reviews
Visit Website

User Reviews Overview

About Recipe Cost Calculator

Recipe Cost Calculator was designed for food business owner and operators who want software that is both powerful and also easy to use. We've worked hard to create an extremely intuitive interface to help you manage your...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.9
Features
4.7
Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Support
5

Browse Recipe Cost Calculator Reviews

15 of 15 reviews
Sort by:
Christina
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/04/2024

Determined Inventory Managing Program

Pros

The software has all the measures that foster costing, and ensure there is defined order management.

Cons

The attributes of this program are flawless and useful.

Peter
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/10/2020

Outstanding value in recipe management software

Very happy for the price. Highly recommend.

Pros

- Simple ingredient and recipe building
- Fast and easy shopping list and production plan creation
- Ability to create USDA nutrition fact panels
- Outstanding customer service

Cons

- Displaying large number of ingredients or recipes slows down interface

Response from Recipe Cost Calculator

Hi Peter,

Thanks so much for this review. Realizing that customers with thousands of ingredients and/or recipes was slowing down the interface we have drastically improved the performance, making it search-based and paginated instead of a single long list.

Overall performance viewing recipes and ingredients in long lists is now almost instantaneous, regardless of how many ingredients or recipes you have in your account.

Thanks again for the feedback!

Replied 6/03/2023
Laura
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 6/11/2020

Great product

Great customer service, great tool to use and organizing our recipes and getting pricing dialed.

Pros

Compared to other websites, I found this one easy to navigate.

Cons

I just needed something that had a little more functionality to it

Top Recipe Cost Calculator Alternatives

Richard
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 9/04/2024

Great Product

Any time that we had any issue with the program, we were able to receive immediate help and solutions to the problems.
I sold the business and one of the biggest selling points for the buyer was that I was able to provide allergens and nutritional data for all of my recipes.

Pros

We found Recipe Cost Calculator extremely easy to set up and use. The ability to scale recipes based on different factors (the yield that we wanted to obtain most frequently, and sometimes having to scale based on ingredients that we were able to actually use!) quickly and easily was a life saver.

Cons

There were a few ingredients that we used in our recipes that were not "findable" in the nutrition database - this did slow us down somewhat but not to any great extent.

Sarah
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/02/2023

Recipe Cost Calculator 5 stars

This is a very valuable tool for me to manage my food cost. We are one year into owning our business and I think there is quite a bit more that I can do with this app that I have not explored yet. I look forward to using the other tools to see how they can be helpful as well. Most of all, I have had fantastic customer service from this company. They are kind, available and very helpful!

Pros

Recipe Cost Calculator is a great tool for my small business. It took us a little bit of time to figure out how to use the software but once we got used to it we fell in love. I really like that when you update any pricing for an ingredient it automatically updates all of your recipes using that ingredient. I also like that you can view your recipe in multiple ways. The pie chart of ingredient usage is a great visual to associate with what the costing looks like per recipe. You can also add ingredients as you are building a recipe with out leaving that page, huge time saver!!

Cons

Sometimes the conversions are tricky to incorporate. Some are an easy calculation and others you have to enter in a way that the software likes and remember how it is in when creating new recipes. For instance, eggs are in by weight not an each. So you have to multiply the weight to get the correct amount of eggs per recipe. The ingredient doesn't say that how it is entered so you have to remember or check.

Jana
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/10/2020

Success After Years of Searching!

All the information in one place! Having a representative right here in Canada and in my own Province! I now have easy access to all my ingredients and when an invoice comes in, I can easily add a new ingredient or update pricing if needed. My recipes are up-to-date; clean, costed, and with added graphs for clearer understanding, including the ever helpful profit margins from maker to distributer.

Pros

It has taken me years of searching to find a costing program that I could feel comfortable using, being straightforward enough for my skill level. I am a Pastry Chef first, not a computer person. And, while I was inputting information or setting up recipes it was very helpful to be able to ask for help in real time. They continue to work hard to see that this software encapsulates all aspects of hospitality.

Cons

As I became more comfortable with the software, I felt free to make suggestions, for eg. having a way to do inventory. So even though I did not come across anything to dislike, I could see that my suggestions were always heard.

Rina
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 8/06/2023

Have seen all the changes

Nothing but fabulous!

Pros

I have been using this software for a few years and have seen all the growth and changes it has gone through. It has been amazing! I asked for a particular feature and the owner has emailed me back to address my thoughts and ideas (I don't know any other company that has that type of customer support). The features just keep on growing!

Cons

It does have alot of functions that I do not use any longer since it has grown so much, but I continue to use it because it is so comprehensive and easy to use compared to any other program similar to this.

Marla
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/10/2020

Highly recommend this software

Very happy with our experience Recipe Cost Calculator. The staff was very responsive to any questions or suggestions we sent to to them. We are no longer in operation, but if I were in a position to need this type of software again, I will definitely reengage their services.

Pros

We utilized many functions of this software. We used the software to calculate our nutrition labels for our premade meals and to determine our cost per meal. We used the shopping list function to facilitate our weekly ordering of raw ingredients. We relied heavily of the software in our day to day functioning of our restuarant.

Cons

No complaints regarding the software. Recommend watching the tutorials before first using the software. I tried to start without watching and was a bit challenged as it wasn't intuitive to me (I am not very tech savvy). But once I watched the tutorials, the software made perfect sense.

Emiliana
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/11/2020

La Cocina Curriculum Tool

I've been so happy with this tool. Really have nothing but good things to say.

Pros

I love that it is easy to use. I also really appreciate that it's always improving!

Cons

I sometimes find that it can be confusing to enter a recipe's yield. Perhaps there can be more explanation given or examples?

Response from Recipe Cost Calculator

Thanks so much Emiliana. I've taken your feedback about recipe yields and have made a video tutorial and help documentation specifically for that area of the software.

Replied 15/11/2022
Colleen
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/08/2023

Great program; helpful for new in biz

Love it. Looking forward to getting ready for the 2024 season with the program.

Pros

Allowed me to effectively price my products without fear of loss

Cons

Not sure yet. It worked for me as a new owner.

Amber
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 5/06/2024

Recipe Cost Calculator Review

Recipe Cost Calculator is the perfect tool for anyone in the hospitality industry. It is a superior piece of software that does its job above and beyond.

Pros

Recipe Cost Calculator helped me get organised and feel more confident and professional during the stressful time of opening a cafe. It is very easy to use and troubleshoot. [sensitive content hidden] is always evolving and improving the functionality plus he is personally there to help out if you need it. I highly recommend this calculator, it is a very valuable business tool.

Cons

I did not have any negative experience using Recipe Cost Calculator. Typing in all your ingredients individually takes time but that is to be expected because the details are so thorough and once it’s done it is set up for good. Changing from there is easy and having all the detailed info about each ingredient saves you time down the track when menu planning.

Eileen
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/07/2021

Great Recipe Costing Software!

Loved it!

Pros

It was so easy to add ingredients, recipes, packaging materials, etc. to see the cost per serving/item. I could not have started my cottage food bakery business without it! I also really liked the ability to add ingredients with weight OR volume. I didn’t need to use all of the bells and whistles, but what I did need to use worked great! [SENSITIVE CONTENT] was always available to answer questions and provide support when needed. AND, the price was right! I highly recommend this software.

Cons

The nutrition database didn’t always have the EXACT brand of product, or if it did, it might not have been easy to find, but this was not an issue. I could always find a brand that was very similar, close enough.

Patty
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 7/10/2020

Amazing!

Customer support is amazing and overall best purchase I've made for my new business!

Pros

This is such a powerful tool. I wanted something that could show my costs so that I could price my goods effectively, but it is so much more. Having my recipes and ingredients all in one place has been a complete game changer for me!

Cons

The only downside so far is that there is no easy way to add an ingredient on the fly. If you don't have it added yet, you need to close out of the recipe and go back in - not a big deal once you get used to it/as more ingredients get added, but frustrating for a new user.

Response from Recipe Cost Calculator

Thanks so much Patty. We love getting feedback from customers and have now built the ability to create ingredients on the fly while creating recipes. The feature has been very well received.

Replied 15/11/2022
Ariel
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/01/2023

My #1 go to for costs

Every time I’ve reached out to customer service, I’ve gotten a prompt (and likable, lol) response. The software is also very straightforward so there’s no huge learning curve or anxiety when I use it.

Pros

I love how deeply it dives into the specifics of costs. From a part of an ingredient to an entire meal.

Cons

My only complaint is that I can’t integrate it with another system I currently use for recipe management.

Parisa
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/03/2023

Excellent product with reliable customer service

Pros

After 12 years in the food industry business, we feel like we have finally found a solution to help us manage costs and organize our countless recipes. The tutorial videos are very helpful and [sensitive content hidden] goes above and beyond to help with additional questions. We are looking forward to exploring Recipe Cost Calculator's inventory and nutrition features. Thank you for a wonderful product!

Cons

There has not been anything to note as of yet. So far, any issues I have come across have been resolved by watching a tutorial or reaching out to Recipe Cost Calculator via email.

15 reviews