AOL Mail Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About AOL Mail

AOL Mail is a free email solution for personal use, which offers privacy controls, virus protection, and other security features. The app lets users to connect all of their email accounts and use a range of productivity tools...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.6
Features
4.1
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.0

Browse AOL Mail Reviews

55 of 55 reviews
Sort by:
Holly
Holly
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/01/2022

AOL mail is my go to now

Absolutely love it having that feature where you can delete multiple multiple messages at one time is a godsend because I have one email that has 65,000 emails in it and that’s ridiculous but it doesn’t have the option where I can click on the box in the league multiple at a time. So I can deal with him aggravate me about downloader app download our app to have that option to wipe out all of the mail that I don’t want that one time

Pros

The thing I like most about AOL mail is that they have an option where you can click a box and then you click up at the top and you can delete every single message in that category all at one time. Like if you have 100 messages from today you click on one and you go up and click today box and there it is they’re all related

Cons

The thing I absolutely hate is they will bother you so bad until you download download their app the AOL mail app it’s not enough that you can go online to www.aol.com no you have got to download that out because they will drive you crazy until you do

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 6/05/2022

Use AOL mail for the privacy

I enjoy AOL for the primary fact of privacy

Pros

I like how AOL is far more private and they aren't spying on your emails like gmail and other email providers are

Cons

It's obviously a little outdated but it's totally okay if you value your privacy

Alternatives Considered

Yahoo Mail

Reasons for Choosing AOL Mail

I value my privacy more than function these days

Switched From

Gmail

Reasons for Switching to AOL Mail

Because I felt AOL had more privacy
Destiny
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/01/2024

AOL Mail thumbs up from me

I enjoy AOL Mail. It is my main email and it has proven very useful over the years.

Pros

I have used AOL Mail since I was allowed to have an email. It is my main email that I check constantly throughout the day. It is easy to use and the inbox management is great. I do not have an inbox full of spam or junk emails.

Cons

I wish they incorporated some type of word document capabilities like google docs does. That would make AOL perfect.

Top AOL Mail Alternatives

Charles
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 12/01/2022

Aol email still works, and can be utilized as a "short email address that is easy to remember"

I use it as my 1st line of defense when giving out email address to vendors and others that I know will sell my info and spam me in the future. I also setup aol mail to forward messages to another email service so that i rarely have to log in to aol and deal with their cluttered layout

Pros

It's free and easy to use, and has a short domain address making it easy to remember. I usually give out my aol address to vendors and sales people, as to avoid repeating my address several times, which is needed with long complex adresses.

Cons

The messy layout with ads everywhere makes it a frustrating and messy experience.

Carol-Ann
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/11/2023

AOL Mail is so easy to use.

I have been using AOL Mail for over 20 years :) And honestly while I have other email accounts from other providers my AOL Mail is my main email account and I would not change it for the world.

Pros

I like the ease of use and the fact that AOL has all the functionality I need.

Cons

There is nothing that I dislike about AOL Mail.

Alternatives Considered

Gmail and Yahoo Mail

Reasons for Switching to AOL Mail

While I do use Gmail as my secondary email account - AOL Mail is my main email account and I chose AOL Mail because it is easy to use, the layout is intuitive and Spam is filtered exceptionally well.
Amanda
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 21/11/2022

You've Got Mail!

I use Aol mostly now for personal emails but I did have a previous job that used it as well.

Pros

Aol is still a wonderful email service and I will likely always have one.

Cons

It doesn't have some of the latest features but it's still gets the job done.

Alicia
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 20/01/2022

Good

Good

Pros

Its easy to use even when you forget your password. Its an easy process to get back into your account.

Cons

There is nothing that I dont like about this software.

Alternatives Considered

Yahoo Mail

Reasons for Switching to AOL Mail

I didnt not like yahoo mail so I decided to stick with AOL mail.
Sonia
Sonia
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organisation
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 6/01/2022

AOL Mail Passed it's Prime

Overall it is not a bad system. It is user friendly and great for personal use. I would not use it for business purposes though.

Pros

AOL was a great email management system in it's prime. It excelled as a leader in the begining. I still have an AOL account but do not use it frequently. I do like the search feature as it is helpful. I also appreciate the ability to create many folders for sorting.

Cons

The software was pretty out dated, when I used it last as a primary email management software. I know it has improved but I feel like the amount of ads and pop ups are excessive.

Sunita
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 1/01/2024

A very good way to manage email

Pros

AOL Mail has a very attractive design which makes it enjoyable for me to use, it's also very smooth without any lagging experience, i enjoy how unproblematic it is for me.

Cons

there hasn't been a situation where I've needed to complain to support for any reason.

Victoria
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 25/09/2022

Not worth it

Pros

I've used AOL for a very long time and before it was a great software that I could use because not only can I check my emails I was able to do chat

Cons

The features on it now are too complicated and it just has all this mix of emails and ads

Amber
Amber
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 26/04/2022

With All The Email Providers, I'll Still Go Back To My First Love -- AOL

Pros

The email provider was outside of college was my first. I still use it for more personal use. Until I was able to get and create a business email, everything went to AOL. It became confusing at times, but one of the great things about AOL was the ability to keep things organized by creating folders. I'm shocked it still keeps email from when I first used it.

Cons

I wish it would accept large files, and have the capability of sharing them. I still remember when there was AOL Broadband. That was my first introduction to high-speed Internet. $60 per month was costly, but it was worth it. Still saddened by the fact they got rid of it. If AOL Broadband was brought back, I'd be the first to get it.

Ariana
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 3/06/2022

I use daily, as a student it is a necessity!

Pros

As a student and student working in college, I have been a user of AOL mail since the beginning of high school and I have found it to be everything I need. I receive emails fast and in an organized manner! With all the projects and assignments I have to stay on top of, I need to use AOL at least 10 times a day.

Cons

I have no complaints as a 6-year user of this software.

Mike
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/02/2022

You've Got Mail! AOL Mail is still a great email service

I use it everyday and still love it. Great for personal use.

Pros

It may seems simple but this email service still works great. It isn't outdated and holds p to gmail and yahoo.

Cons

The only downfall is the inability to send large files. This is only thing that keep this service in the past.

Christopher
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 5/10/2023

Since You Had to Dial Up

I've been with aol for years, so most of it is intuitive and second nature. I took a break for a little while, but came back because of ease of use. The organization and layout are a good design to make things feel simple. I like that. It also has a high deliverability rate for sent mail, so even going into inboxes of people I don't know, the email doesn't get tagged or shuffled into promotions or spam.

Pros

The design and layout is simple to use and can be used for a quick glance to determine what's important, what items can wait or what can be delayed just by looking.

Cons

There are no aspects of the product I found unuseful, howere the aol tag comes with a certain predisposition. It is one of the oldest in the industry, and almost ubiquitous, but that may create misconceptions with the intended delivery recepient.

Katie
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 15/11/2023

Old School but Updated

I've had AOL Mail since I was 17. I am now in my 40s. I have seen them upgrade the system, making changes to keep info protected. I have seen them come up with easier ways to change a lost password. It is my preferred email service.

Pros

I have been an AOL mail user forever! It's easy to navigate. You can find what you are looking for quickly. It was free. I love free.

Cons

I have never had an issue with AOL mail. Maybe just trying to find a password in the past. They have upgraded, and easier to reset.

Julie
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/10/2021

Forever AOL

I use AOL for all of my personal communications. It's important that I have an email that is not connected to my workplace, and my AOL account is perfect for that.

Pros

Email with AOL is so easy. I have always had AOL and I have no plans to change that. I like the extra features of stationery and smileys. I use those regularly.

Cons

The only thing I don't like about AOL is the attitude I hear on rare occasions that it's old-fashioned. AOL actually keeps up with the times by adding new artists, updated stationery, and more.

Oscar Anthony
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 10/05/2022

My Years on AOL Were Sweet!

AOL Mail was so much fun to use and great for getting messages across. It is what we had before posting memes on social media became a thing. AOL Mail was a stepping stone for me.

Pros

I loved how one could see whether the email was read or deleted by the recipient, something you don't get with other email platforms.

Cons

I had no complaints about AOL software, but I haven't been using it much ever since I switched to a throwaway email account on another platform and went into social media.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 19/11/2023

AOL Mail is my go-to Email Platform

Pros

I like that AOL Mail is secure. When I was working at home as a transcriber, AOL Mail was required. I have used AOL Mail for years.

Cons

There is nothing I didn't like about AOL Mail.

Tyonna L
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 24/08/2021

AOL Mail -My Favorite Email Provider

Pros

I love how it's so easy to use! There is nothing difficult about this software! And I have been using it for YEARS! I always have an AOL Email

Cons

Nothing to really dislike, except for the AIM Chat is gone!!! Bring it back if you can! I loved it so much lolol I'm from the Era where you could Instant Message on AOL!
I even remember recieving the AOL free Disks in any store that would carry them!

Margaret
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 15/02/2024

Just few letters about AOL Mail

It's very simple and secure site. I Recommend this for anyone

Pros

I've been using this service since 2023 and I love this app. Because it's very easy to use. Receiving new email notification is working perfectly. Their security also great and I recomend this app to all of you.

Cons

Actually I don't have any dislike features about this.

Joseph
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

2
Reviewed on 28/11/2021

AOl mail for dummies

My overall experience with Aol would be mediocre at best average plugins loose security protocols and customer service is barley teachable

Pros

The feature I liked most about Aol was the ability to use the build in software to add attachments and search for files online including audio and graphic

Cons

What I found most disturbing about this software was the fact that it would crash 1 to 2 times a day mostly when sendingass email folders with attachments causing me to waste 1 hour of my time refiling everuthing

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/02/2023

Simple, & Helpful

Pros

I like that I can contact anyone on my team whenever and wherever.

Cons

Sometimes things go to spam but with that in mind it's easy to check.

Corinne
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 22/12/2021

Basic needs met.

It has been consistant and reliable. I have had this email address since 1995 and I have no issues with accessing my information and have never lost saved files. I do receive an excessive amount of junk mail and span, that it is no longer my primary email address. Overall, it meets the basic needs.

Pros

I signed up with AOL mail back when AOL was brand new. I have been using the same email address since 1995. It has been consistent and reliable.

Cons

I get an abundance of junk mail and spam. More so than any other email account. I understand that selling personal information is a standard practice, but it has been done to excess that I do not use this as my primary account and switched in 2004.

Julie
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 9/12/2021

Meh

Pros

I liked AOL mail because I was an AOL user at the time.

Cons

It's not as powerful as I required and moved to Google Gmail and am much happier. Also, you look like someone who isn't modern or up on tech if you have an aol email account.

Justin
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 1/10/2021

It's email and works as it should

Pros

I like it because I've had it forever. It has emails from years ago and I've never had a problem with it.

Cons

There are better email clients out there if you are looking for that. It's just outdated now, but still functions just as it should.

55 reviews