Total Party Planner Reviews

4.8
Overall rating
Reviews

4.8
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Total Party Planner

The most popular web-based catering software for business owners to automate. Designed to help easily transition from manual Word documents and spreadsheets into one single organized system. Save time, quote faster, organize all...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.7
Features
4.7
Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Support
4.9

Browse Total Party Planner Reviews

153 of 153 reviews
Sort by:
Alex
Alex
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 5/12/2018

One of the few things that actually gets you more time to run your business!

It has allowed us to move into the cloud and keep all of our information in a reliable and easily interfaced system.

Pros

This allows any hospitality professional or small business to present itself professionally and efficiently! It brings together all the different parts of our business under one software platform so we can easily communicate and excel. It is a lifesaver for our hectic industry and we cannot recommend it enough! On top of everything else, the customer service from TPP is rapid and helpful.

Cons

The UI and UX could be a little bit improved. We are used to seeing all the web software interfaces being very streamlined and modern nowadays. As amazing as TPP is, the interface feels a bit clunky and outdated.

Rick
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 4/08/2021

Total Party Planner is the best way to run your catering business

By using TPP for the past many years we have been able to take the standardization of our operation to levels that were difficult to attain with our previous system. TPP is able to offer all of the pertinent information about each event in one location. Our teams have access to everything they need to execute the event to our exacting standards.

Pros

The pros of this application are truly too many to list. One of the best things about TPP (Total Party Planner) is all of our proprietary information is stored in one central location for our teams to access. From customer records to recipes TPP is able to help our team perform at optimal efficiencies.

Cons

The only downside to TPP is the initial learning curve can be steep. That being said if time is taken at the initial setup and done correctly the reward/payoff of efficiency in your operation will be quickly realized.

There are sooo many facets to the application that it can seem overwhelming at first. As you learn the ins and outs you quickly become comfortable and it soon becomes second nature. After using the app for over 5 years I am still learning new capabilities of TPP that I never knew existed.

Karen
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 29/01/2018

Used for three years and it was great but the new view they have rolled out is full of...

It was a great product that served our company for several years. It allowed our business to grow and service a retail store front, a catering and bakery business in a new expanded facility. Currently we are spending more time trying to fix problems with the software than we are spending with clients. It is costing us money in labor, time off task, plus the added expense of redoing the event over and over to get it correct.

Pros

It was easy to use, make changes on and produce a quality product. We were not having any issues so why they made big, big changes I do not understand. For a while we could continue to use the original system but then over night the old system would not work to process payments, create menus, etc. No new manual was created and you must tech support every time you create something new. For the money we pay we should have a quality product again.

Cons

Changes were made without preparation to train the users on the new product and the product was not field tested and fixed before the release.

Top Total Party Planner Alternatives

Jennifer
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 3/08/2021

Total Party Planner Fan!

They actually listen to their clients and work on supplying them the most efficient ways of utilizing their system. Overall; I have had more "wow" moments from the type of service they have provided. From the friendly way they respond to phone calls to the "all-hands" approach to trying to help you solve an issue...even if it has nothing to do with their software. THAT is EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!

Pros

It's ease of use. I dictate what I need where as opposed to being forced to comply with a strict or rigid set of parameters. It is fluid, user friendly and can be applied for almost anything we plan. It really expedites the speed at which I can send proposals. It is also easy for a client to read. There isn't a bunch of unnecessary information on the agreement that a client receives so it appears simple, straightforward and more importantly; easy to sign off on!!

Cons

Each year; the software gets better and better. If there were features that I wish it had; it now has them. The biggest need had been the ability to have the system send me reminders and this was added a few years ago.

Laura
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 2/11/2023

The Best Catering Software

Pros

We love that we can create a detailed proposal in TPP, that becomes a working event plan, and that we can have one version for the client with pricing and client appropriate notes and an internal version without pricing and kitchen/internal specific notes. We also love that we can send our contracts for esignatures and integrate with a payment system (including ACH which we offer at no charge or credit cards with a fee)

Cons

I wish that TPP had better interfaces with the major food suppliers so that we could import our pricing and it would covert to the correct units for costing recipes. I know there are some third party options for this but they haven't been good matches for us.

Alternatives Considered

Caterease

Reasons for Switching to Total Party Planner

Much easier to use.

Response from Computica

Hi Laura! Thank you so much for your review and feedback of Total Party Planner Catering Software! We appreciate you so much!

Replied 9/11/2023
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 6/05/2023

TPP-Totally Perfect Planning

Pros

I love having the ability to customize and brand all our communications with clients. We were a very small 2 person team, but having the ability to manage booking and send professional proposals, was absolutely our main priority. I liked that everything was in one place, and could be integrated into other apps/services if needed.

Cons

We just do not use it to it's fullest potential and that's our fault. It has a lot of data entry to make sure it is running completely smooth, so it's hard sometimes to figure that out. But customer service will help you if you can make time and make it a priority to set up.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 4/04/2018

Easy to use, great customer service

Tracking and Preparing for Events

Pros

Easy to setup events, integrates with google calendar and quickbooks. Great for tracking events, preparing menu's and listing setup instructions. Also used for Labor tracking and cost, menu creation and inventory.

Cons

when adding items having to enter amount and check them off also before it will post, seems like double work. Some reports are do not give enough detail. I would like more items available when
I setup my own Query.

Ilana
Ilana
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/04/2017

Fantastic!

Pros

This program saves hours in all aspects of event planning - initial proposals, budget considerations, contracts, menu pricing, tracking profits, you name it.

Their staff is incredibly efficient and helpful. I was working remotely late on a Friday - after business hours - had an issue, and they contacted me back within 30 minutes and had the problem fixed. Awesome!

Cons

It would be nice if it could integrate with FSA Star Solutions database.

A final count due date indicator would be nice.

Davii
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/04/2019

Love This Software

Their customer service is awesome: friendly and responsive.

Pros

Total Party Planner is the best catering software. I use it several times a day. It keeps track of all my events in an easy to use platform.

Cons

It sometimes has glitches. I usually point them out and they get fixed sooner or later. The phone app needs real help.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/08/2018

Great tool to run our beverage services

Pros

We use this on a daily basis to run our beverage service at our venue. It is great for tracking inventory and sales.

Cons

We would like to use this to book our clients into their space rental, but there isn't functionality for that at this point.

Alissa
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/10/2016

Amazing Software, Stellar Customer Service

From start to finish TPP's customer service was always friendly, and above & beyond helpful. If they didn't have a feature, they worked on creating one. They have great work-arounds to manage almost anything you need. The use of the software increased our efficiency, productivity and therefore profitability almost instantly. It takes a little bit of practice to get everything sorted out and create proposals but once you get the hang of it you fly through them send customers professional and thorough proposals and invoices super quickly and close the deal. I can't say enough good things about the service and the staff! Totally worth the cost.

Pros

The details and the ability work around and create your own options. The menu details and invoicing ease was great too.

Cons

At the time I was using it (I stopped 2 years ago to raise our son and hire someone to take over for me) there was very little I could do on a mobile device or phone. The ipad version was very difficult. I think that's been worked on but I believe it still lacks a lot of features of the full computer version.

Angie
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 24/10/2016

Thanks for making me look good!

I just wanted to let you know what a great product that we believe that you have!

I first researched your product, after a rave review from another local caterer, I then convinced the company that I was working for to get your software. When I made the change over to Jonz Catering, the owner was still using 'Hammer and Chisel' (Office Word and a calculator, not EVEN excel!!), to do catering proposals. I told her that even as AMAZING that I am, my typing skills leave something to be desired! If she wanted productivity and an updated, professional look, I needed to bring her into the 21st century!! She dragged her feet for about a month and then finally looked at the website'she was hooked! At least once a month for the last year she has thanked me in one way or another for 'revolutionizing' her life! About 6 months ago, we got robbed and they stole her computer. We lost a lot of history for the business, but now that we are in the cloud, we didn't miss a beat. She was so happy!!

Pros

The fact that it has so many functions and can provide so many different reports

Cons

That there isn't a room diagram function with it.

Cymbre
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 7/06/2017

TPP has transformed our business productivity, professional appearance and efficiency.

Pros

TPP was very easy to set and customize to our specific business model. The pricing and inventory functions have saved us hours and hours of man time. The uniform and professional "look" of our proposals, contracts and invoices are top notch.

Cons

For me it is too easy for user error in Xing out of program. No stop of warning before you exit out. Not being able to emails staff from other areas is a big concern.I like to track conversations between other staff members and staff in order to decrease redundant queries and have a record.

Response from Computica

Cymbre - thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear we are saving you hours and hours of time. As far as communicating with staff within the program... stay tuned! We are currently working on an internal notification system within TPP that will greatly enhance communication and reduce redundant queries. I have also put a ticket in to see if we can set a warning before closing the program. --John Cohen

Replied 12/06/2017
John
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 4/10/2016

Amazing Customer Service

We have been very happy with TPP for the past 4 years that we have been using them. Their customer service is second to none. One of the initial things I loved and made me choose them over some of the pother options was their upfront pricing. The price they quote you is what you pay. No surcharges for upgrades and they integrate seamlessly with other 3rd party software that we utilize in our day to day operations.

Pros

Customer service agents are always available when we need them.

Cons

There is an initial time investment on the clients part getting set up, but I pays down the line.

Response from Computica

John, we appreciate and thank you for your business over the past 4 years. The Client Care team was absolutely thrilled to read your comment about being second to none. To them it makes all of their hard work so worthwhile. As far as pricing, we have always believed in a fair model that includes the important functionality you would need to run a successful catering company. --John Cohen

Replied 17/10/2016
Jennifer
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 5/12/2016

Happy customer for about 4 years!

I shopped around for software for our catering business, tried one other company but discontinued the service, when I did a trial for Total Party Planner, I switch right away and have been using it ever since. TPP software is very user-friendly for people like myself who are not extremely tech savvy.
The help desk has always solved my problems or answered a question within minutes of calling, which is a greatly reassuring feature, for the fast pasted work of catering and needing solutions quickly.
I would highly recommend TPP software for any catering company who is growing and needs to organize, streamline and make their operation more efficient.

Pros

Efficient overall tracking of food sales, staff, and inventory, helping our business grow by making it more organized.

Cons

The one thing we've had troubles with is not being able to delete menu items but only making them a discontinued item.

Sarah
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/10/2016

Long Time, Happy Customers!

We have been using Total Party Planner for about 10 years. We LOVE the software and the benefits it has to offer. We really wouldn't recommend any other software for catering companies.

Pros

Very straight forward once you learn the program.

Cons

Since we are on the beta, we tend to have some glitches-- but nothing major!

Response from Computica

Sarah, many, many thanks to you and Camille for being such long time clients of Total Party Planner. Creative Hands Cuisine was one of the EARLIEST adopters of our revolutionary cloud based solution introduced back in 2006. Your input on our BETA team is invaluable and is helping to pave the way for future evolutions of the software. We apologize for the BETA team glitches. I know it comes with the territory, however, I'll make sure the team is aware. Sometimes it's just that we get so excited to release all of the great new things out to the BETA team for feedback! -- John Cohen

Replied 24/10/2016
Adam
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/10/2016

Adam Gooch, Common Plea Catering

I have been using TPP for over 7 years now. I love this software because it is good with all the different areas of catering. Some software is good with Invoicing and Sales but has no function for BOH. TPP is good at many different categories.

Pros

All the different categories that this software provides. Also being web based it is easy to jump on from anywhere.

Cons

Would like to be able to arrange inventory according to our inventory. Would like for info to be able to put on the menu item reports.

Response from Computica

Chef Gooch, thanks for believing in Total Party Planner for the past 7 years. It's been a pleasure to work with you and we will continue to work hard to evolve the software. Your suggestions for improvement have always been a huge benefit to the entire user community. We'll touch base soon about the inventory sort.
-- John Cohen

Replied 19/10/2016
Moesha
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 3/05/2023

Absolutely LOVE TPP

Everyone working within TPP is kind, knowledgeable & super helpful. If anything else, you will definitely appreciate their amazing customer service. [sensitive content hidden] is amazing. She answers any questions that you have & checks in with you to see how you're coming along with the program. [sensitive content hidden] is super responsive & helpful when it comes to TPP Pay and is very friendly. [sensitive content hidden] (from Client Care) has been the best person throughout this entire process. He's very patient, caring & works hard for you to make sure that everything is running smoothly.

Pros

My favorite thing about this program is that once you have everything entered in for an event, all you have to do is pull up the report that you need & it's all compiled for you & ready to go. This has saved me a lot of my time! I now have more time to respond to clients faster & more efficiently.

Cons

The only con, that I have found so far, is just the beginning of the process can be a bit overwhelming. Trying to get all the information together needed for this program & learning how to use it at the same time is overwhelming & time consuming. BUT necessary!

Delaney
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 8/06/2017

It changed the way we work, build events, and our efficiency as a company

Creating a more efficient way to create proposals for our clients.

Pros

I love how easy it is for us and how easy it is to review for our clients. I also love how everyone in the office can few all of the events at the same time.

Cons

I don't like how complicated and time consuming getting quantity and pricing for food is. We get kicked out of TPP pretty frequently as well.

Response from Computica

Delaney - we are glad to hear that TPP has made things easier for both your staff and clients! We will have a member of our Client Care team reach out and see why your security session may be timing out. In many cases it is a simple browser setting that can be adjusted. --John Cohen

Replied 12/06/2017
Tim
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/09/2016

The Best Catering Software on the Market!

We could not be more satisfied with Total Party Planner! It's such an amazing program that has been extremely helpful and essential to the growth of our business. We began with the desktop version and moved to the web-based version when it became available, and we could not have been more pleased throughout every step of our 10 year relationship! The owner, John, is very hands-on and helpful with any assistance that we have ever needed. If you are looking for catering software, I highly recommend Total Party Planner.

Pros

I love that it's very user friendly and essential in order for me to keep my clients and menus organized.

Cons

I like everything about his sofware!

michonda
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 4/08/2021

Excellent product

Dont know what i would do without it.

Pros

Saves money saves time, can see where we were losing $, keeps track of everything and saves it forever for u, great for ordering, sales reports, billing, accounts receivable, client info and history, labor reports, user friendly so much it helps with!

Cons

Its only as good as the info entered by the user 🤪 .

Patti
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 3/08/2021

Customer Service is the BEST!!

Again GREAT customer service!

Pros

Tpp assists in making our overall timelines, menu items, tracking of food and quantities, pricing, etc. so much easier to keep track of and to oversee.

Cons

The great news is that anytime we have an idea for something that we may need, we talk to customer service and they look into it for us and try to add what we need to the program to make it user friendly for us and our business.

J'Val
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 7/02/2020

SO excited about Total Party Planner!

The customer training and support has been outstanding. It is really helpful to be learning how to use the system with someone who has working at a catering company so they have a clear understanding of what the day to day and event to event work is within a catering company. I also really appreciate that they have a system or suggested process to follow in terms of how to introduce the software to your company in stages as opposed to having everything ready for full functionality at the start.

Pros

I really like how it has been designed by people who have worked in the industry so they understand how it is going to be used and how it can help.

Cons

I wish there were more creative options for what the client proposals can look like.

Amber
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/02/2018

Saves time so you can focus on the food and service

It saves us times!!!
Improves communication between the client team and kitchen/production team
Helps keep our events and inventory organized

Pros

I like that I can quickly whip up a professional proposal and send it right within the system, this function alone saves me hours and is worth the price. It is so easy to make changes to a proposal.
We are starting to use some of the other features including the costing and pack lists and it's all just making our business more efficient and productive. I wish I would have found this program sooner. I would strongly recommend to any caterer.

Cons

I would like the ability to have a couple of screens open within the same window at the same time.

Rhonda
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 6/12/2016

Precious Time Saver

When I became the catering director for an established well know company in our area we were using an appointment book, Microsoft Word, Excel and a huge whiteboard to keep up with events. To say the least it was confusing and hard to keep up with. Party Planner streamlined this process and saved me hours of office time plus it has given us a more professional look when sending proposals and invoices to clients. I am also able to copy reoccurring events and make changes easily for my clients.
I absolutely love it!

Pros

It streamlines all documents needed for my staff to fulfill their individual jobs. I also love the mobile app.

153 reviews