Total Party Planner Reviews

4.8
Overall rating
Reviews

4.8
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Total Party Planner

The most popular web-based catering software for business owners to automate. Designed to help easily transition from manual Word documents and spreadsheets into one single organized system. Save time, quote faster, organize all...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.7
Features
4.7
Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Support
4.9

Browse Total Party Planner Reviews

153 of 153 reviews
Sort by:
Alex
Alex
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 5/12/2018

One of the few things that actually gets you more time to run your business!

It has allowed us to move into the cloud and keep all of our information in a reliable and easily interfaced system.

Pros

This allows any hospitality professional or small business to present itself professionally and efficiently! It brings together all the different parts of our business under one software platform so we can easily communicate and excel. It is a lifesaver for our hectic industry and we cannot recommend it enough! On top of everything else, the customer service from TPP is rapid and helpful.

Cons

The UI and UX could be a little bit improved. We are used to seeing all the web software interfaces being very streamlined and modern nowadays. As amazing as TPP is, the interface feels a bit clunky and outdated.

Raygan
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/02/2020

Has the the potential to be perfect with a few add ons.

Pros

I can do most of my work on this software.

Cons

1) I wish there was an customized online forms for questionnaires.
2) Once contracts are signed, I would like for them to be saved under the clients
event tab.
3) Would love to have the capability to set up an automatic email to remind the client that a contract/proposal has not been signed or an invoice has not been paid or if they owe us some information pertaining to their event.

Ray
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 18/10/2016

On The Move Catering Review

My experience with Total Party Planner has been up and down. It's very convenient and the functions are very cool. Once trained, everything is really easy to use. Customer support has been wonderful!!! The only negative is that sometimes it glitches or takes a while to load.

Pros

If I don't know how to do something, then I can call and the customer service representatives will help me out!

Cons

Sometimes it glitches.

Response from Computica

Ray, Thank you for your candid review and your kudos to our support team. I've asked the team to brief me on any of your open tickets to make sure we get everything ironed out for you. Also, just to let you know, we are constantly working on our internal infrastructure to make the system more efficient. We have some really powerful changes coming to the architecture by the end of year. -- John Cohen

Replied 21/10/2016

Top Total Party Planner Alternatives

Rick
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 4/08/2021

Total Party Planner is the best way to run your catering business

By using TPP for the past many years we have been able to take the standardization of our operation to levels that were difficult to attain with our previous system. TPP is able to offer all of the pertinent information about each event in one location. Our teams have access to everything they need to execute the event to our exacting standards.

Pros

The pros of this application are truly too many to list. One of the best things about TPP (Total Party Planner) is all of our proprietary information is stored in one central location for our teams to access. From customer records to recipes TPP is able to help our team perform at optimal efficiencies.

Cons

The only downside to TPP is the initial learning curve can be steep. That being said if time is taken at the initial setup and done correctly the reward/payoff of efficiency in your operation will be quickly realized.

There are sooo many facets to the application that it can seem overwhelming at first. As you learn the ins and outs you quickly become comfortable and it soon becomes second nature. After using the app for over 5 years I am still learning new capabilities of TPP that I never knew existed.

Laura
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 2/11/2023

The Best Catering Software

Pros

We love that we can create a detailed proposal in TPP, that becomes a working event plan, and that we can have one version for the client with pricing and client appropriate notes and an internal version without pricing and kitchen/internal specific notes. We also love that we can send our contracts for esignatures and integrate with a payment system (including ACH which we offer at no charge or credit cards with a fee)

Cons

I wish that TPP had better interfaces with the major food suppliers so that we could import our pricing and it would covert to the correct units for costing recipes. I know there are some third party options for this but they haven't been good matches for us.

Alternatives Considered

Caterease

Reasons for Switching to Total Party Planner

Much easier to use.

Response from Computica

Hi Laura! Thank you so much for your review and feedback of Total Party Planner Catering Software! We appreciate you so much!

Replied 9/11/2023
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 6/05/2023

TPP-Totally Perfect Planning

Pros

I love having the ability to customize and brand all our communications with clients. We were a very small 2 person team, but having the ability to manage booking and send professional proposals, was absolutely our main priority. I liked that everything was in one place, and could be integrated into other apps/services if needed.

Cons

We just do not use it to it's fullest potential and that's our fault. It has a lot of data entry to make sure it is running completely smooth, so it's hard sometimes to figure that out. But customer service will help you if you can make time and make it a priority to set up.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 4/04/2018

Easy to use, great customer service

Tracking and Preparing for Events

Pros

Easy to setup events, integrates with google calendar and quickbooks. Great for tracking events, preparing menu's and listing setup instructions. Also used for Labor tracking and cost, menu creation and inventory.

Cons

when adding items having to enter amount and check them off also before it will post, seems like double work. Some reports are do not give enough detail. I would like more items available when
I setup my own Query.

Ilana
Ilana
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/04/2017

Fantastic!

Pros

This program saves hours in all aspects of event planning - initial proposals, budget considerations, contracts, menu pricing, tracking profits, you name it.

Their staff is incredibly efficient and helpful. I was working remotely late on a Friday - after business hours - had an issue, and they contacted me back within 30 minutes and had the problem fixed. Awesome!

Cons

It would be nice if it could integrate with FSA Star Solutions database.

A final count due date indicator would be nice.

Davii
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/04/2019

Love This Software

Their customer service is awesome: friendly and responsive.

Pros

Total Party Planner is the best catering software. I use it several times a day. It keeps track of all my events in an easy to use platform.

Cons

It sometimes has glitches. I usually point them out and they get fixed sooner or later. The phone app needs real help.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/08/2018

Great tool to run our beverage services

Pros

We use this on a daily basis to run our beverage service at our venue. It is great for tracking inventory and sales.

Cons

We would like to use this to book our clients into their space rental, but there isn't functionality for that at this point.

Suzana
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/03/2020

User Friendly, Great for Client Proposals

Overall, the experience with TPP has been good, with some room for improvement.

Pros

I use TPP daily for all my customer proposals. The quoting process is simple, and once all options (menus, signatures, contract, company info) are entered and saved, it is easy to go down the list and check everything that you want to appear on your proposal/quote. The proposal comes out clean, and I appreciate the features. For clients, I believe it is easy to read and understand. TPP connects to my email, so the client receives the proposal directly from my email, and when they respond it goes right to my outlook. I would recommend.

Cons

There are some features that are extra, like online payment links. I wish these features were included, since it is such a convenient feature. Also, when saving more that 1 proposal, if they are not on the same day, you cannot save them combined. When saving more than one proposal on the same day, you're unable to click on them and directly email the client. You must first save them to your computer, then separately email the client with the attached file. This take more time, as you can imagine.

Colin
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/09/2020

Customer Service

Pros

The customer service is amazing... [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has always been there to answer any questions I have or help me with any issues. I will continue to use the software during my catering career as a business owner

Cons

You cannot delete items - making an item discontinued is not enough. We should be able to delete an item from our menu but not have it affect a proposal. This is the most frustrating part about the software. ALSO the mass emails does not work for gmail users. That is ridiculous and hurting our business daily.

Response from Computica

Hello Colin. Thank you for your feedback. I want to encourage you to reach out to our Client Care team to resolve your GMail issue. We have enhanced the system to be able to use your Gmail application as your personal
mailing gateway.

Also, at some point we will allow you to delete your Menu Items from the system but for now it's important to retain them for reviewing your historical events.

--TPP Team

Replied 21/10/2020
Arin
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/12/2016

Great Tool for a Growing Catering Company

Total Party Planner has been an amazing tool for our small, but quickly growing catering company. The features are exactly what we need, and the program is extremely intuitive to use, which makes it a breeze to learn for our new event coordinators. TPP's customer service team is extremely responsive and will get back to you within hours (if not minutes!) of a report of any issues or questions. We highly recommend this software!

Pros

How intuitive it is to use for event planning (I honestly haven't delved deep into the rest of its features yet at this point, but I'm sure I'd love them too!).

Cons

It does run slowly on occasion, or even freeze up and you have to wait a few minutes before you can access your events.

Response from Computica

Arin, so glad to hear that TPP has been an asset to B.Lin Catering. Definitely try some of our extended features outside of the event planning. We know you will love them! As far as the issues you mentioned, the team is working on a new server architecture coming very very soon. TPP has been receiving a tremendous amount of positive buzz in the industry which added thousands of new users this year. Our new load balancing model will definitely better prepare us for both the present and future in terms of response time. -- John Cohen

Replied 13/12/2016
Amy
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/10/2016

Amy's Two Cents on her life in TPP

We found TPP a couple years back when we first started Tuscan Hall Banquet Center, and needed an online option. I was working here part time, working from home, so online access was needed for my boss and myself to be able to log in and see what I was doing. Mobility was a big asset. We like the functionality of TPP, there are so many things we still are not using because our business has boomed so quickly, but I use TPP every single day!

We rely on TPP for everything. Who know as a full time events specialist that many hours of my week would be spent on data entry ( and I type FAST!!! ) . What I enter has such an impact on our daily events and catering lives, its super important that I understand each and every aspect of TPP and that it works correctly! We use our calendars daily and the export feature is still giving me issues, but I am so busy I have not had time to call.

We really like the customer service, the quick responses, and the fact that you care about our small business makes us happy. We will stick with TPP! We cant function without you!

Davii
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/10/2016

I Love This Program!

I have been using TTP for approximately 4-5 years. It is the most convenient way to do menus, keep track of menu items, do proposals, invoicing, checklists, almost everything I need for my catering company. They are super responsive to emails and calls and very very nice to work with. In addition to the benefit of your information being stored OUTSIDE your computer (which is much safer - yes I've lost mine), they do frequent updates to the program resulting in easier use and better applications.
They have an app. It doesn't have too many functions yet. I'm hoping that will improve soon. But it's useful for looking up basic event information on the go.
Try it out! It's one of the best out there! (And, yes, I've used others)

Pros

Ease of use, easy to figure out, training videos, responsive staff. Takes care of my whole business in one place!

Cons

Mobile app is almost useless to me. I wish it had more functionality.

Mike
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/12/2017

I've used this software for years, it only gets better...ALL THE TIME. Really a terrific...

it just works

Pros

Allows my company to generate professional quotes with all information that a client needs. Prices, product with description and amounts.
I can built menu items quickly and accurately allowing me to food cost each unique event menu.
I can staff events quickly and know my labour cost as well as allowing the client to see their cost.
There is so much more Total Party Planner does.
If there is a question I may have I can email and get an answer back quickly, if I need an answer NOW, I can phone the tech line and there is always someone there, oh wait, 1 time I had to leave a message, and was called back within 5 minutes.
Terrific company, software and service.

Mark
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 12/10/2016

Great value

Been a TPP user for almost 8years now. They have a great product and they know catering. I also like how responsive they are. I've made a few suggestions and they made changes that helped not only me, but the rest of the TPP users. Such a valuable experience!

Pros

Flexible, easy to use, very responsive. They are a small, family owned business.

Cons

They are a small, family owned business

Response from Computica

Mark, thank you for your 8 years of business. Please feel free to keep those suggestions coming! Our team loves feedback from the community because it helps to shape the future road map of TPP. Although the company started out as a small business, we have grown to be one of the largest catering software vendors on the market today. We serve thousands of users across the US, Canada, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, India, Italy, and even in the Philippines. -- John Cohen

Replied 17/10/2016
Lisa
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 25/02/2020

Highly recommend TPP

Staying organized, keeping everything in one place
Proving a nice contract for the customer.
Ease of sales

Pros

Very easy to learn and although it has tons of functionality it is easy to navigate
Customer support is better than other software that we use and training is all included which is rare.

Cons

The only feature that I ever wish for is being able to set up menus according to services.
For example separating appetizer, dinner and dessert into different functions.
I know there is a time line and headers but other software has the ability set to set up each meal service separately.

Mike
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/02/2017

Fantastic Product, Fantastic customer support

We have been using Total Party Planner for 10 years now. It only gets better and more powerful as time goes by.
I used to put proposals, menus etc. on Excel, not professional enough in this day and age.
TPP makes us look professional.
Food costing is so important if you want to stay in business, I did not do food costing and it was killing us. In TPP you can build recipes down to the Nth degree, you will know what the menu cost is. This also goes for building staff for events, having it pre-costed so you will know if the price you give is correct.
Stopping in at the TPP booth at Catersourse, I met John Cohen, the owner. I am still thrilled that he listened and was able to understand my needs and get me signed up.
If you need catering software you owe your company to call Total Party Planner and get onboard.

Jamie
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/10/2016

Total Party Planner makes my job so much easier.

We have been using Total Party Planner for a few years and found the program to be very beneficial to our company. We have always had great customer service from the initial training through present day. Total Party Planner has been great about hearing our requests and making the changes to the program. The ease of working from anywhere with your computer or phone is beyond convenient. We have been much more efficient with our time by using the program for completing proposals, submitting orders, and giving kitchen staff production worksheets. Wonderful program and company...very pleased with the products and people!

Pros

Very easy to use and always expanding to help our business grow.

Sequena
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 26/02/2020

Training was very helpful!

Overall our team finds TPP to be easy to use and helpful in our event booking process. We would recommend this software to other caterers in the industry.

Pros

We like that TPP creates easy to read reports, that helps us review financial details, past and pending events. The training was very helpful and straight forward. Our team also appreciates how helpful and responsive the TPP team is.

Cons

One feature that could better improve the program would be to offer a more detailed event history that includes changes made in the event.

Delaney
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 6/12/2016

Organized with Ease

Total Party Planner (TPP) has been a Godsend for this company! Everything is all in one place. You don't have 1 million files for one event! It's easy for you, easy for your clients to read and comprehend, and easy to train others on too! So grateful for TPP for giving us ultimate organization with ease! :)

Pros

How everything is in one place and how all of each events' information is shared on one cloud for all other planners to see!

Cons

Sometimes TPP can have some software glitches and just stop working in the middle of your workday.

Nathan
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/04/2023

TPP is a must have for any catering operation!

Pros

Ease of use and quick learning curve. Makes our job efficient and streamlined.

Cons

The only con is that occasionally the software runs slow but besides that it’s great!

Megan
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/11/2009

Can't Live Without Total Party Planner

Absolutely two thumbs up! The price is great! The product is easy to use! Customer Service is always there to answer your questions if you have any. Total Party Planner would be an asset to anyones business.

Pros

This product has made my life so simple. Our entire company is run through this program from the initial entry of the event, to the pricing of the event, to building the menu, to the closing of the event and sending it over to quickbooks via the web.
The ease of clicking on my party via the calendar, the ease of finding a client or venue as well as changing them during set up of the event, the ease of adding menu items when creating the menu are all great. Total Party Planner is always making their product easier to use through updates from their knowledge and clients input.
We have the web version and the business can be tracked from the comfort of my home or when out of town or on vacation. Because we are on the web, we have full access to our company. We can email invoices or proposals from anywhere.
I can go on and on on how great this program is and how it has made my life easier in our catering business.

Cons

I can't find any cons. If there is an issue, we call customer service and make a suggestion and the folks over at Total Party Planner usual try to implement the idea if it makes sense for the users.

Sue
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/02/2019

Great for event planning businesses

Great customer service, have always been fast to respond. Courtesy call to check on how we are doing a few times a year.

Pros

Easy to use, web based, keeps track of all details for events, integrates with google calendar and Quickbooks, schedule staff with email notification, tracks inventory, great report function for payroll.

Cons

I would like more options to create my own reports.

153 reviews