Access Server Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Access Server

Free to try and up to 3 connected users - OpenVPN Access Server is a full-featured SSL VPN software solution that integrates OpenVPN server capabilities, enterprise management capabilities, simplified OpenVPN Connect UI, and...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.6
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4.1

Browse Access Server Reviews

189 of 189 reviews
Sort by:
Giuseppe
Giuseppe
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 13/05/2022

Easy way to implement vpn

Pros

I recently installed the vpn server and it was really simple. Offers complete vpn functions and excellent iOS, Windows and MacOS clients.

Cons

the Linux client is not at the level of the other clients in terms of ease of use, otherwise I find no defects.

Chris
Chris
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 28/01/2020

Fast and reliable network tunnel

This is a great piece of software that allows for secure browsing with a quick push of a button.

Pros

This was provided to me free with my ISP. I was allowed to securely connect to the internet through this VPN software after a simple configuration process. Fast, painless, and was up within minutes. I was able to use this software on my pc's and my smart devices.

Cons

I did not have any issues with this particular piece of software. The most difficult part was figuring out how to load the configuration on to my smart devices correctly.

Rachelle
Rachelle
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 22/10/2019

Great Product for International Travel

We are using OpenVPN to stay secure when traveling. It allows us to access sensitive data and documents without worrying about malicious activity on the network.

Pros

OpenVPN is useful when traveling and needing to connect to unsecured wifi networks.

Cons

Some countries detect the usage of OpenVPN and block it.

Top Access Server Alternatives

Rajesh
Rajesh
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 28/02/2021

Best for connecting AWS

Very happy and would recommend to others. Very light weight software.

Pros

I use it to connect to the services hosted in Amazon web services. It’s simple and provides steady connection. The user profiles can be saved and hence easy to make connections every time.

Cons

No much cons related to this. It would have been nice if there are more flexible packages for wrt sales based on connections, data transfer, location based etc.

Tom
Tom
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/03/2020

Best open source VPN available

I've had no issues with it. Clients connect easily and quickly.

Pros

Have been using this in various environments. Most recently on my home OpenWRT router. It's so easy to set up and configure.

Cons

There aren't many things I dislike. The community version of the client is a little cut back, but this is what you'd expect.

Nathan
Nathan
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 23/03/2019

Works but can be glitchy.

Pros

When it works it works well. I don’t really have to worry about it once connected.

Cons

I may be a bit new to it, but I have had difficulties connecting to my VPN on occasions which has slowed down work considerably. I recently started using an older version of the software that has worked better.

Akshay
Akshay
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 22/04/2019

We use it daily in the work to connect the server that are located out of the country:...

Pros

Powerful and flexible. Like supports, various operating systems across versions and have seamless conn

Cons

There is nothing I don't like about this software, though some people say that it requires technical knowledge to use it, but it is meant for technical people so, I love Open VPN.

Irfan
Irfan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/02/2021

Best Choice VPN Service

So far so good. I am using it all the time and I have to because I work from home and I need to secure my connection and it is going smoothly. I am happy with it.

Pros

It is secure and especially to access our office servers from home our IT department has set it up and since I am using it I am fond of it. It is really easy and works at an excellent speed. Normally with some of the other VPN Access your internet speed gets compromised but with OpenVPN I have not noticed anything like that so far.

I do use it to access the server of a client securely. Configuring OpenVPN is really really easy and it provides excellent security.

Cons

I have not seen much of hick ups so far its just sometimes it takes bit of time in connection but that only happens very very rarely.

There is not much of a server range though but as long as it is connected to one server who needs that many number of servers.

Enio
Enio
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 8/05/2018

Browse the web and protect your data.

If you are thinking about implementing a virtual private network you can be sure that OpenVPN is a solid, safe and functional choice.

Pros

It offers us a strong encryption and confidentiality protection, so that our traffic is encrypted so that it can not be examined in case of being intercepted.

Cons

It has some difficulty to configure it once installed but with practice it becomes easy. The interface could be more friendly.

Rosmer
Rosmer
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/06/2018

Good tool that guarantees privacy when it comes to protecting our data in the network.

It has been positive since it has fulfilled the requirements for which it was designed, it is efficient and of quality, I recommend it because it is a useful tool in relation to the security of personal and company information.

Pros

What I like most is that it is fast and secure when it comes to accessing content from other countries and protecting our network, especially when financial operations are carried out or simply increasing our security, which is more to install or antivirus, with this we can navigate in a safe way and its price is commensurate and I am really satisfied with this product.

Cons

Sometimes but very few connection errors have existed, however, they have been corrected quickly, the rest is very safe and reliable in relation to the funcinality and guarantee offered by the provider.

Sandhya
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 14/01/2021

Review of OpenVPN

Overall OpenVPN is a great tool to ensure users communication are secured and private.

Pros

OpenVPN is a free VPN server which provides super security features. They include OpenSSL library together with HMAC packet authentication due to which network safety is maximum. It is easy to use, reliable and provides great community support as most of their software protocols are licensed by GNU GPL. It is open source and source code is available for modification. It supports TCP and UDP protocols on any ports which makes it extremely difficult to block. It has high 1024-bit encryption levels and supports forward secrecy.

Cons

One of the disadvantages of OpenVPN is it is not compatible to few servers as OpenVPN does not support them. Due to prioritizing maximum security, encryption occurs in User's space, it affects the speed of network and increases latency. Mostly low specs devices are affected by network latency. It has numerous options thus, it can be confusing for new users to use. It is blocked by few proxy servers and is difficult to configure.

Angus
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 13/10/2022

The Best OpenSourced VPN Solution

OpenVPN is probably the best VPN platform on the internet which can be freely used by anyone. If you want to run your own VPN then this is the software that you need.

Pros

I've been using OpenVPN for longer than I can remember, it's a rock-solid VPN platform on which you can create your own VPN configuration on. I use it to create a VPN within our company network, and it was extremely easy to set up.

Cons

I've racked my brain, but OpenVPN has been flawless for me. I haven't encountered any bugs or downsides since I've used it.

Michael
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 15/01/2019

This is the standard for remote access

I think it's a great standard that should continue to be developed.

Pros

Easy to setup point to point tunnels from other openvpn routers to other openvpn routers, cross platform compatibility with apple, windows, android, and linux devices, tons of support and the gui is very simple for windows users to use as along as they can remember to open it in the right hand corner of the tray and click connect first before trying to open other network resources like remote desktop or windows file sharing.

Cons

some of the windows 10 system had a bug where you had to right click and run as administrator for security issues to get the software's TAP adapter to successfully load so you could connect.

Jeremy
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 6/03/2020

Very secure VPN

Overall I have a very positive experience with OpenVPN, I have not had any technical issue or noticed any bugs since onboarding with them.

Pros

Working with proprietary data means that we need the best security possible to access our network - OpenVPN makes this extremely easy to do this without worrying about network security when we are not in the office.

Cons

Setup can be improved to be more simple but I understand the amount of security it must take to make sure it runs properly - our IT team was able to help us through this.

Sanel
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 15/08/2019

OpenVPN Access Server - Depends On User

Provides excellent service especially per cost.

Pros

Easy enough for most users to understand how to set up. Pretty secure. Able to use in most settings.

Cons

Users without a stronger technical background will find managing the software difficult. Can be even more complicated in enterprise environments. In event of reconfiguration, a user of stronger technical background is needed.

Brad
  • Industry: Gambling & Casinos
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 6/10/2020

Vital VPN software that is available on most platforms!

It is available on everything I use and does the job needed to access the things important to completing work day to day.

Pros

OpenVPN being on so many platforms / devices is incredibly convenient and vital to the work I do, as much of it is behind firewalls. This is running on my desktop PC, laptop and numerous mobile devices.

Cons

It is a little clunky to set up on a new device. It's not a massive hassle but having the option to quickly transfer a profile via something like a QR code would be more convenient.

Kevin
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 11/07/2017

Solid VPN server, does what you need

Easy to setup Virtual Private Networking, generally works without much management.

Pros

Reasonably easy to setup, generally just works most of the time. Price is quite fair for what you get. Overall a good VPN solution.

Cons

Server management interface could use some improvement. Could use improved functionality around audit logging and other related configurations.

Javier
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/04/2022

Best free VPN software in the market

We use it daily and we haven't switched since around 2 years ago. We are happy with the tool and for what we need it

Pros

It's very easy to setup specially for mac users. You just have to download the file with the configuration and select it, that's it. Very easy for everyone

Cons

After a couple of hours using the VPN it would randomly disconnect. You have to completely turn off your wifi and the VPN and then turn them on again.

Alafia
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 28/06/2018

I use it to work remotely from home and to have secure access to the application and database...

Secure connection

Pros

The application is very light at the moment of downloading it and executing it on the PC when installed correctly is very easy to activate

Cons

The installation and configuration are complicated in occasions does not allow an easy access via remote to the enterprise servers

Kateřina
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 10/03/2023

OpenVPN Review

Pros

OpenVPN is free to use and is compatible with many systems (e.g. Windows, iOS, Android) which is a huge advantage. I use it for VPN when I am out of office and I have never had any problem with its performance.

Cons

I didn't find any disadvantages of this software since it is open-source and it can be installed for free.

Emmerson
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 4/10/2021

OpenVPN

The need for my users to be able to work securely via VPN

Pros

Very easy to configure and even easier to use

Cons

There were no feature that I did not like

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/06/2018

OpenVPN works great and satisfies our needs.

Pros

The things I like most about this software is the price point and the functionality. I specifically chose OpenVPN because it was a free piece of software that is integrated right into my Linksys router. I was able to set this up with little effort and no cost. For occasional use the speed was good and the availability was right.

Cons

What I like least about this software is, as with most free software, you are not guaranteed good service or support. This tool is open sourced and while the community is very helpful, the site is not laid out well and there is no solid support system that I have seen. Avoid this if you don't want a challenge if something goes wrong.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 7/06/2019

Fast Connection!

Pros

It helps me boost my data connection and somewhat helps people connect with it.

Cons

Sometimes servers come crashing down and it affects your connection.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 14/09/2018

Utilitarian VPN server

Pros

Based off the open sourced free version it tends to have updates for security problems fixed very quickly when they occur. Once configured it works smoothly. The LDAP integration for the business version is pretty slick

Cons

Configuration can be tricky depending on your certificate setups and your installation (specifically on windows, had some files in the wrong directory and in the wrong format initially). Updates are frequent which is good but aren't clandestine as I would expect them to be.

Michal
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 27/12/2021

Michal - OpenVPN

Pros

It’s easy to use in desktop and mobile app

Cons

It’s not working when applying another VPN (for Geo targeting)

189 reviews