Taxprep Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Taxprep

Taxprep is a cloud-based tax preparation software that helps companies with diagnostics, data entry, audit reviews, quality assurance and more. The system allows users to conduct in-depth analyses including trendlines, rolling...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.8
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.2

Browse Taxprep Reviews

214 of 214 reviews
Sort by:
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 3/07/2019

The best of the best for tax preperation

Pros

This is the ultimate in tax preparation. Has best interface, best feature set and the most trusted calculations and up to date information built in. Has mad strides in integration between their other products which makes it even better. Has nice on board pricing for new users.

Cons

The cost can get very high especially when you get the full package.

Alexei
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 6/05/2021

Title

It is best interface and using comparing to other product of the same domain.

Pros

It’s professional and pointed on formulars instead of simple data entering

Cons

It is expensive, version updating process is manual, it is slow starting, slow opens files.
There is a list of problems and missing features that could be implemented:
- Form 21200 makes wrong calculation of amount for QST refund (reported into VD-358)
- CARE form took in federal consideration the amount entered in Quebec - it should not, because some times there is no deductible amount to federal side;
- When TED federal fails, it should not try to send provincial;
- in TP1 should be the possibility to transfer Québec refund into conjoint automatically, now it always manual;
- Where is useless diagnostics in a report of depending person. Dependant have same address, but diagnostics is asking if he lives alone and two more related questions;
- Then you try to open more then 5 pdf files (after generating pdfs) it always asking to confirm, because it maybe slow down the system. There is should be possibility suppress that confirmation forever. Like check box "Do not ask this question in a future";
- There is shoud be a summary page similar to DT max summary page - that shows essential information on one page;
- Then a person have self-employe income (2125) and foreign employe income, program should not calculate RQPP on this foreign income.

Ed
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 9/01/2020

Review of T2 programs

Pros

I have been using Taxprep for over 20 years. I am very familiar with the program. The program is relatively easy to use. I like the fact that the return on the screen is exactly the same as what is printed out. The diagnostics function is very useful.

Cons

I have noticed a change in version 2 of the T2 2019 program which is not at all useful. When you first open the program you used to be able to see certain information about each client without going into the actual file (i.e. the status, the year end, whether the return had been e-filed etc.). Now you have to actually open the particular client file to see that information. I don't know if this an option that has to be selected but I have been unable to find the answer. Extremely annoying. Also, the program has become quite expensive, especially for a sole practitioner.

Top Taxprep Alternatives

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise

ONESOURCE Trust Tax

Glenn
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 24/01/2020

Review of Taxprep

Pros

The software is much more robust than other tax software we have used. There are many diagnostics that are available and the search function works well. We also like the link with their other client management system, iFirm.

Cons

The software is much pricier than other options. Customer support was very poor when we were attempting to purchase additional licenses. I would also consider training poor. It's hard to absorb all of the training initially when you don't know the software and you don't know the features and you don't know what questions to ask yet. They should come out after a year with an update training so the users can have much more specific questions they can ask. The multiple updates that we receive during the year is also annoying. We have to have our IT department update on each and every computer every time there is an update (which there are many) which costs us even more money. The old software we used, Profile, had an update feature that warned each user that an update was available when they were in the software and could click on a link and update themselves, without the involvement of the IT department. This is much more preferred. Our IT costs have gone up 20% when we changed over to Taxprep because of all these updates.

Scott
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 31/10/2019

There's competition and then there's Taxprep

Our public accounting practice produces a thousand personal tax returns and hundreds of corporate returns, so a tax preparation software is critical. We started with Taxprep about a quarter century ago. The software continues to evolve. Every few years we look at a host of other preparation software and talk to other preparers in the industry. Given our client base, with its particular complexity, we can't imagine another software handling it all. We also prepare US tax returns and have gone through numerous software providers; our terrible experience with US tax preparation software makes us realize how lucky we are with Taxprep for our Canadian work.

Pros

Importing and exporting data - we use this in a host of ways. For example, we have developed our own processing dashboard, detailed label production that provides key data on the docket speeding intake or referencing, sharing info between files, billing management, analyzing client base for potential review issues, double checking filings, etc.

Rich with nearly all required forms. Most complete of any tax software we have reviewed.

Reliable.

Cons

The form layouts often have a curious arrangement to them which is not ideal for data entry.

The drill down data on multi-forms (e.g. family member names) is inaccessible to the data reporter.

nathalie
nathalie
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/04/2020

Pro Fx is the greatest tax software out there

Overall, I've had a very positive experience with Tax prep. I am able to work on large and complicated returns on a user friendly software.

Pros

Wolters Kluwers tax prep has been my most preferred tax preparation software for multiple reasons. It's a very sophisticated software and enables me to prepare complex tax returns that include an enormous amount of information and forms. I find it very user friendly and easy to navigate and I feel the input sheets are organized in a convenient way. I also like the presentation of the instructional letters.

Cons

I will, to an extent, always struggle with state returns and this is where i feel this, as well as other tax prep softwares fall short. It's difficult to determine where to input certain information so that it flows to the correct line on the state return. If the "link to worksheet" function could provide better guidance, that would be much more helpful.

Andrea
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 5/11/2019

Taxprep review Nov 2019

Good product , good customer service when required, no complaints other than mentioned above

Pros

Easy to use although since i have been using for 15+ years familiarity also adds to ease of use.

Cons

requirement to open different versions of the software for different years' filings. Need to manage multiple versions or if you open an earlier year's return you need to ensure the right version has been opened. Solving this issue (as Profile does) would allow ranking of 10's

Kelly
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 31/10/2019

Great product

It was a great upgrade from our previous software and it integrates well with the other software from cch which creates a great way for us to manage our midsized form.

Pros

The checkup is great for providing insight on things you might not think of. This program makes reviewing a breeze.

Cons

File management must be done in a specific manner otherwise the tools for connecting groups or running queries is a nightmare. We learned this the hard way.

Justin
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 31/10/2019

Taxprep review

As taxprep is starting to more and more integrate with iFirm and other products, having one major database to run it all it is quickly becoming the 2nd most used software in the firm.

Pros

Taxprep - both T1, T2 and Forms - are the most advanced and robust software on the market today. Not only does their T1 product have an over 95% CRA efile acceptance rate - but it is the easiest to use software we currently use. No matter if your tax returns are simple or very complex Taxprep can handle it by making it easier to prepare an accurate return.

Cons

It is expensive there is no way around that. But when you look at their development team there is a reason why. They put through changes and correct errors/problems at a speed you just won't see with any other software provider in Canada.

Bryan
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 5/11/2019

Taxprep

I have been administering Taxprep since 2002. The program is consistently consistent. Very rare to find a major flaw, it just works. The advanced networking module is a must for a firm of my size and allows great customization for different groups. It just works!!

Pros

It does exactly what you want it to do. There is a reason why firms such as mine depend on Taxprep. It's not flashy, but certainly not basic. Regular updates keep it up with CRA changes and the customer support is always helpful. I could not imagine using any other software.

Cons

Due to the nature of the software, I need to keep all old versions up-to-date annually, manually changing the client letters and Electronic filing passwords. As the administrator, this is a tad time consuming. I wish there was a simple way to update all the software from one master console.

Shabir
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 12/11/2019

Using Taxprep Platinum Internet

It helps us in doing what-if scenarios for tax planning.

Pros

It's a dependable - intuitive - quality software.

Cons

2018 tax year was the year when the speed of loading the software has been too slow.
Clients also had trouble printing the T183's to scan back to us.
Hopefully, in the 2019 season - it will be back to normal in terms of speed and quality.

David
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 14/01/2020

I do not have time

The on line review of the new Corp format was in my mind poorly provided. I admit i am not a strong computer person, particularly when new formats are provided. The session when so fast I had could not find some of the new identifies of what was being talked about. I asked if there was a manual (even small related to the identifies of the Taxprep), but there is nothing. I have provided my own, I think.

Pros

It does the calculations and relates to the CRA forms

Cons

Getting more complicated with less assistance from Taxprep for which more documentation could be provided.

Cheryl
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 14/01/2020

Long time user potentially being forced to change due to cost of software

Generally a very positive experience with Taxprep. We're a small family business. We have used Taxprep since we switched from manually preparing the tax returns - probably close to 30 years ago.

We've been receiving advertising regarding software that could be used for a limited number of returns. We wish an option like that were available with Taxprep. If at all possible, we would like to continue using Taxprep. However, that may not be feasible due to the cost.

Pros

Consistency from year to year.
Reliability.

Cons

The cost. Our firm is winding down. As we wind down the cost ratio is getting so high that we may have to look at other options.

DENIS
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/01/2020

Improvment to Schedule # 60

I am an SR&ED Consultant and prepared about 50 claim a year and of all software that I use, I prefer Taxprep to Profile, CanTax and other tax Software because its menu driven, easy to operate and very friendly.

Pros

Software is easy to navigate, schedule and amount are properly prorated and easy to follow.

Cons

When information has to be repeated to one schedule to another, the only option is to Copy and past the Info from one schedule to the other.(Can be Time Consuming) For Example, if I have 20 Projects in an SR&ED Claim, I have to type similar information in each schedule instead of having the information pop-up base on the First Letter of a specific box. I use different Tax software base on my client need. I use Profile which have the function that I have outline above which is grate because its reduce time at entering the info. However, their software is not as friendly as Taxprep.

Eric
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 2/03/2023

Taxprep: The In's and Out's

Overall we are satisfied with this program. The price is a bit high but we get outstanding functionality and a great knowledge base to use with out staff. We will keep using this for many years to come hopefully

Pros

We process a multitude of tax returns for both personal and corporate. We deal with many companies and Taxprep has always been there helping us out. The programs are amazing and they offer amazing support and have a wide array of answers to many questions to help you along the way.

Cons

Sometimes the support team can forget about you and you feel forgotten about. But the most thing I like least is the pricing. Personally I feel the price could be lower as looking around at other software's to buy the prices are definitely lower in other markets. Just something to keep in mind.

bradley
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 9/01/2020

Taxprep is great

i have used various programs over my career preparing tax returns and taxprep is by far the best product out there... definitely more expensive than other products, but the feature taxprep provides makes preparing the returns and tax season run smoother and is more efficient

Pros

customer service and ease to use (diagnostics are very useful and helpful)

Cons

The program is great, but the major issue would be the price... i guess in this case it is a matter of "you get what you pay for"... high quality product

Joel
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/01/2020

BEST TAX SOFTWARE IN CANADA

We have never had a tax problem that could not be handled successfully by the software and Taxprep's support staff.

Pros

We have been with Taxprep since the very beginning. Ease of use, accuracy and outstanding support make it ideal for a professional accounting practice such as ours.

Cons

The software is pricey in relation to its competitors and for a small practice it can be a difficult choice. Prices increase annually.

Geoff
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/03/2021

Love TaxPrep

Exactly what i required and fulfilled my expectations

Pros

Worked with Taxprep products my entire career as a Tax Partner with a Big 4 firm. On retirement I have continued to consult to a select few clients and the Taxprep software fully accommodates my need

Cons

Nothing noted - given my background with TaxPrep continuing to use on my own after retirement was seamless

Emma
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/01/2020

tax prepare review

tax planning is good

Pros

all credits/payable can be seen in one place

Cons

price of software. and from trial to actual software there is difference that I don't aware when I use discount version

Don
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 9/01/2020

Taxprep

Generally a very good experience

Pros

The product is very user friendly and easy to learn. Taxprep has a very good diagnostics routine, which helps to eliminate any errors in the return.

Cons

I find the T2S9 a little cumbersome to amend each year. The sort feature is only alphabetical and I prefer the companies to be grouped alphabetically within year ends. We have over 30 companies with different year ends. The only way to add a company in the middle of the schedule is to redo the entire form. It would be helpful to be able to add a line wherever you want it rather that at the end.

Lise
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/03/2021

Reliable

Since we are very familiar with the software, efficiency is the big thing for us.

Pros

I've been using this software for over 25 years now. I find it very reliable, well structured, and appreciate the webinars that WK offer as a support for the software.

Cons

There is nothing about the software that we don't like.

MARTIN
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/01/2020

CRITCAL REVIEW

Pros

I am not computer literate, however, I find this software very easy to use
I also find the help feature to be very helpfull

Cons

The pricing. I am 77 years old and am heading towards retirement. As my practice diminishes the costs become prohibitive. I have requested a seniors discount with no success

Bill
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/01/2020

Good product with odd interface decisions

Pros

Accuracy, end product looks good. Good support.

Cons

A different version for every year, slow to load, start menu changes make software hard to find, network setup routines confusing with file path setup issues, no ability to set default settings in the network version across user groups.

Dennis
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 12/11/2019

Taxprep

Pros

The fact that the program is updated with new tax changes on an efficient timeline. The was one of the main reasons that we changed software.

Cons

The new version changes make it harder to find some of the icons and shortcuts that we were used to in the prior version.

allan
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 18/01/2020

Allan Hayman CPA, CA review of Taxprep software

Easy to you. Although I do not use some of the expanded (optional) features. I like the year-to-year consistency.

Pros

Consistency Reliability Accuracy year-to-year. Ease to install.

Cons

The price. Should be cheaper, especially for users like me who use multiple Taxprep products - T1 and T2.

214 reviews