WebTitan Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About WebTitan

WebTitan is a cloud-based internet security solution that monitors for viruses, ransomware, malware and more. It also provides web and DNS filtering control and is suitable for large and midsize businesses across all industries. ...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
4.5

Browse WebTitan Reviews

258 of 258 reviews
Sort by:
Syazila
Syazila
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/06/2021

Really excellent in securing internet activity

WebTitan is my fast solutions for securing and shielding my internet connection health and preventing my computer from any attacks from spam and malicious attack.

Pros

I really like that WebTitan is working for me both for my work computer and my personal computer. It help me filtering the internet activities and blocking any suspicious traffic that my computer connect on. The GUI is really easy for a non technical user to implementing it in their system.

Cons

WebTitan support team is really passive and lacks of medium that they offer for us to connecting with them. I can only contacting them by email, and no other medium are available like phone number or live chat are supported. They should improve their support option.

Henry
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 6/11/2020

Positive experience

My overall experience with the software is very positive as with the whole site on one blocking system, but with instant access for staff with their PIN codes, it is a very quick, easy system to use. The main issue being end users keeping their PIN secure, however it is easy to see when the PINs were used and who they are linked too.

Pros

When using tis software in education, it can be difficult with blocks and filters. As an admin, you have to constantly add websites to black and white lists to block and allow a variety of different sites. As well as the usual block all that contain.....you can select individual sites, however with the function of adding a PIN for staff to allow then access to a site for an hour, this takes the workload off myself, but allows the teacher to get on with the task at and not disrupt the teaching of the student.

Cons

With the initial set up of the software, we had some teething problems, but the support staff were very useful in supporting the setup. The layout of the portal itself is a bit "all over the place" and not as logical as I would hope, but after a few clicks and getting use to the interface, you can do everything you need it to do.

Alternatives Considered

Trellix Endpoint Security

Reasons for Switching to WebTitan

Main reasons were price and power of the software to block sites before they even come on site.
JUSTIN
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 11/02/2018

Not worth it, would much rather use opendns or webroot dns

Cons

Many invalid classifications, many issues with not receiving DNS responses. Single DNS server without backup DNS server

Response from TitanHQ

Hi Justin,
I'm very disappointed that you haven't had a good experience with WebTitan. This is not the case with our other 7,500 customers.
I can't put think there is an issue with the set up. Could we have another look at it with you?

It hasn't been our experience that we have had "Many invalid classifications" and just to update you we always have a backup DNS server.

Our product is significantly more mature than the Webroot offering and is more affordable than OpenDNS.

Can you drop me a mail and we can try to get to the bottom of the issues you experienced.

Kind regards,
Dryden

Dryden Geary,
Marketing Director,
TitanHQ
[email protected]

Replied 23/08/2018

Top WebTitan Alternatives

Carbon Black Cloud Workload

Trellix Endpoint Security

iPrism Web Security

0
Terence
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/04/2022

WebTitan

Works well.

Pros

Ease of use. Easy to integrate. Good support.

Cons

I don't have any cons. WebTitan works well right out of the box. I was up and running in no time.

Alternatives Considered

Cisco Umbrella

Reasons for Choosing WebTitan

Ease of use.

Switched From

Cisco Umbrella

Reasons for Switching to WebTitan

We use Securly to monitor our Chromebooks. WebTitan monitors student BYOD.
Brad
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 8/07/2021

Very pleasant experience.

The software is inexpensive compared to competitors, but does not lack in functionality, design, administration, and customer service. The roll-out was simple to both Mac and PC users. The reporting and dashboards are very informative and easy to understand. I am very pleased overall with this product.

Pros

The admin console for this product is simple, informative, and easy to navigate.

Cons

We had issues integrating with our existing endpoint protection software for our Mac users.

Alternatives Considered

Cisco Umbrella

Reasons for Choosing WebTitan

Cost and ease of use.

Switched From

Cisco Umbrella

Reasons for Switching to WebTitan

WebTitan is a better fit than Cisco Umbrella for us due to cost, ease of use, and is not an overkill of functionality for our business needs.
Michael
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/10/2021

Great DNS proxy for the enterprise.

Great product for its price point. Great support and generally enterprise grade solution.

Pros

Site and agent based option allows enterprise to provide workstation web filter within and out of corporate network. Relative simple to deploy in various reporting level to fit all situation. Deploys in hours for the most basic reporting detail.

Cons

User to request matching has gaps without agent on workstation.

Alternatives Considered

Cisco Umbrella

Reasons for Switching to WebTitan

Pricing and feature. Cisco is also tested to be too sensitive.
Jill
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 16/07/2021

WebTitan Performance

So far so good!

Pros

Recently switched from an appliance system to WebTitan. I love the cloud setup!

Cons

If I had one thing I wish I could do, it would be to copy an existing policy to create a new one. In some instances I want to create a specific policy for a team with only one or two changes from the base policy. Would make it easier than having to recreate the whole thing each time.

Scott
Scott
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 6/02/2018

Extremely good blocking of spam, a bit hard to use though.

Pros

Very good blocking of spam messages.
Works with any e-mail server setup.
Provides extra layer of protection.

Cons

Difficult to use their web interface, as a lot of the parts don't make sense. No simple method to setup multiple users quickly and easily. But once setup, it's pretty much set it and forget it. Also, you lose 99% of control of incoming messages at your e-mail server. Which may or may not be a bad thing.

Miguel
Miguel
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 14/02/2018

I use the SpamTitan Cloud. I like it! Low price and powerfull anti spam

Stop receiving spam!!

Pros

It's very effective
You have a great anti-spam at low cost
License by email is great
Filter rules is easy to use

Cons

Very hard to find my subscription (expiration)
Spam list is slow during daytime
Can't block recipient (If you delete a mailbox, but someone continue to send at this mailbox it count for 1 license)
UI only in english

Randy
Randy
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/01/2019

The most fundamental, widely used robust and effective system

If I talk about my overall experience, I would say WebTitan is outstanding software that helps me a lot in minimizing viruses.

Pros

The thing I like most about WebTitan is that it is extremely easy to use and configure. I like its' clear interface. It let us block malicious content and spam easily. It is no doubt an amazing product helping us a lot in kicking out harmful bad stuff. It is helpful in integrating with other network simply. I love its responsive support. Furthermore, in order to filter websites WebTitan is the best solution.

Cons

There is not anything to dislike about WebTitan as it fulfills all the needs of our company. I never face any problem whenever I use this product. It is a flawless app with lots of benefits. It has made my work easier for me.

Mark
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 25/08/2020

Some Customer Support Agents Amazing, Some not so Good

Everthing about web titan service and support has been great, except my interactions with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] as noted above.

Pros

I purchased Web Titan to block all thing pornographic from my computer. This your software has done very well!

Once blocked, I needed to ensure I couldn't get back into the account, and the only way to do this at the moment is to change the email associated with the account to one that I don't know.

So I reached out to your support and asked them to change the email address associated with the account, so I can no longer access it. Technical Support Engineer [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] helped me out with this and made my dreams a reality. He did a great job and I'm thankful for that.

Cons

After the initial setup and email change, I needed to blacklist a few more URLs, including facebook, because there are plenty of sexual images on there.

I reached out to support to quickly add the URLs, (to avoid wasting time changing the email back and having me do it), and [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] responded, and was incredibly rigid and resistant to helping. Basically, he's the kid at recess that tells the teacher on everyone, saying he would reprimant the support agent ([SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]) that made this happen in the first place.

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] did an amazing job. It's [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] that should be in trouble, if any, in my opinion.

Anyway, account manager [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] talked to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], calmed him down, and convinced him to blacklist the 5 websites in my account. The job is now done and I'm happy as can be.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 6/02/2018

Effective, Inexpensive, and Relatively Easy to Use.

Reduced spam, reduced viruses. User-controlled management of spam.

Pros

It does a good job of blocking spam and malicious content. The customized emails that can go out to individual users makes management so much easier. The support, when needed, is very good and very responsive; with what seems to be domestic resources to assist.

Cons

The only complaint I have is that there is not a "greylisting" override. Specifically, when a mail is expected, but is the first time being received by a specific email address, you need to wait upwards of 10 minutes (depending on the other party's server settings). I wish there was some sort of queue or override to get around this without disabling the feature.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 6/02/2018

Very easy to setup. Catches a LOT of spam.

The benefits from this software are in the thousands. About 1000 less emails per day. We block about another 3000+ per day before they even make it to the site. However, we also see that SpamTitan is blocking about 2-3 viruses per week. No matter how much protection you have, it is not enough. Spam Titan helps us with protecting our site from Ransomware/Viruses, and in general waste of time going through all of the banking errors of the United Bank of Africa.

Pros

The amount of spam stopped. It can be configured to work on a SHARED IP hosting with cPanel. I would have to lookup the rule I created, but it helps stop spam emails that originate from the server itself.

Cons

It is not possible to Blacklist TLD's. I have used the local vmWare version, it has a lot more customization settings. That is both good and bad, in that anything you have to adjust takes time, but it gives you better control.

Muhammad
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 23/09/2018

Web Titanic

Pros

Its a great SAAS proxy server.
You can allow and block website base on their types.
You can whitelist some domain so they never get blocked if they are under blocked category.
You can Blacklist some domain so they are always blocked if not included in blocked category.
You can add role based user for management.
I really like creating and installing Certificate to by pass or allow traffic for specific period of time. It make management so easy.
I really like the alert functionality that can notify you if someone tries to access restricted websites

Cons

It doesn't provide any feature to disable addon on browser, so user can bypass it by installing vpn plugin.
They doesn't provide any support to integrate Certificate with MSP like Kaseya, so if you have big network, its very difficult to install certificate on each endpoint using conventional way.
You cannot add more than one email in notification.

Kevin
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

5
Reviewed on 24/02/2023

G&S Computing Review

Pros

None that I can think of................

Cons

Everyone was great at first. Since then support has been some of the worst I've dealt with out of any of our software vendors. We have had an issue ongoing for over a month and support just closed the ticket without resolving after we have been waiting on a "fix". No one can get back in touch with us within a week, reporting stinks, and since you all upgraded the portal, we cannot even get the policy page to load for our client. Promises of fixes and resolutions for weeks. We are looking to cancel service now and move to another solution with better support/features. Not happy in the least.

Derek
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 6/02/2018

Easy to use, works well!

WebTitan has provided us with a stable web filtering platform that has worked well for us for many years. We feel comfortable that it is blocking and restricting as we have configured it to do so.

Pros

WebTitan is fairly easy to setup. It is available as a cloud based solution or on prem. You can get as simple or as complicated with your filtering as you like, it will handle most situations with ease.

Cons

There are still some issues with mis-classified sites being blocked when they should not be. The web interface could be updated a bit and organized a little better.

Anthony
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/07/2018

Excellent easy to use product, top of the pool

Secured public access control to internet, blocking unwanted and in appropriate websites.

Pros

It is a set it and forget it SAAS. Deployed for our guest/visitor internet access. Simply works very well, bad and good sites are categorized quickly and access is secured. All for a very good price. Far less than Cisco. Support and Setup were very responsive.

Cons

NONE, it does exactly what we need it to do. It is not free. We have not deployed all features, so I cannot attest to those.

Response from TitanHQ

Anthony,
Thank you kindly for your 5 star review of WebTitan.

One of the major strengths of WebTitan is in securing public wifi access and blocking unwanted and inappropriate websites on guest wi-fi.
I'm delighted you found that to be the case.

Thanks again for taking the time to give us a good review. It's hugely appreciated

Kind regards,
Dryden
Dryden Geary,
Marketing Director,
TitanHQ

Replied 23/08/2018
Todd
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 10/07/2018

I am liking it a lot better than Umbrella by Cisco, which we were previously using.

It is already saving me a lot of time.

Pros

The simple interface is the best feature. When Cisco bought OpenDNS, they revamped the UI to make it look "modern", but they also made it a lot slower to use and find the info you need. With WebTitan, I am finding that I can log in, quickly look for blocked users, check their individual traffic, and get out in less than 5 minutes. With Umbrella (formerly known as OpenDNS), I just wasn't even bothering to look at traffic because the experience was frustrating. Now with WebTitan, I am finding that I am using it daily again because it is quick and easy to use and doesn't make me feel like I am fighting with the UI.

Cons

The only minor complaint I have so far is that I wish the Reporting tab had an option to consolidate hits by domain name. When I am looking at traffic for a single user, it would be very helpful to just click that and see 1 line per domain that they visited rather than a separate line per hit to that domain. I know I can probably write a macro to do it in the CSV file, but being able to do this in the web UI would be amazing.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Wine & Spirits
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 28/11/2018

WebTitan is a good software, easy to use and configure

I think that this is a useful solution.
WebTitan gives security and control of the content of the network. It's good that my company cares about cybersecurity and implemented this solution.

Pros

WebTitan is a good solution for filtering websites.
Configuration is easy, usage is easy.
This product has warning options when the user attempts to access unauthorized websites.
In summary, a useful solution in companies.

Cons

This product does not have as frequent updates as we would expect. I think it would be better if there were more frequent updates. I think it's a necessity in this kind of softwares.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 6/02/2018

We have been the Spam Filtering and I must say for the money they product performs well.

Pros

Very easy and intuitive web interface. Very simple to set up an HA pair assuming you have the licensing. Support has been very responsive and is able to correct and explain what occurred remotely.

Cons

If an email is caught it in Spam it's sometimes difficult to troubleshoot the root issue. Would like to see the email header and or body after its released out of quarantine.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/11/2020

Webtitan easy to implement and excellent performance

It is a solution that can be perfectly integrated and it really is very effective for what you are looking for.

Pros

Its easy implementation and excellent administration make this product very effective.

Cons

The truth is there is not much that I dislike, maybe it would work a little more in the interface but it really has a good performance!

Curtis
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 9/11/2022

1st year with WebTitan

Pros

It is very intuitive once it is all set up. The #1 pro is that it also blocks the wifi network. most types of software like this does not with out some complicated setup.

Cons

It has a few hiccups. Especially with the remote setup. The #1 thing I wish it did, and would be the only reason I would go to something else, is I wish it tracked Bandwith usage.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 9/02/2018

Very good product and easy to setup and use.

Safer web surfing

Pros

Configuration. It's easy to setup and it just works. We have a central internet port and all our traffic goes through this port. So our web titan looks at all the traffic passing through.

Cons

I would love to see domains blocked based on their age. If the domain is less than a year old block it.

Amanda
  • Industry: Libraries
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/05/2021

Hitting all the marks!

Web Titan keeps us within CIPA compliance while also keeping us within our budget.

Pros

Web Titan is used on our patron computers within the library. It is CIPA compliant, and once installed, it basically runs itself. It keeps people safe when using our computers and offers us the freedom to pick and choose what is blocked.

Cons

Paying our annual dues was confusing for the city clerk who mails payment by invoice instead of credit card.

Baleseng
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
2

5
Reviewed on 6/02/2018

It has helped with my Internet usage, help to cache and control which websites are allowed.

Webdownload management, quick proxy cache.

Pros

Webfiltering and it works nicely with Linux. Web interface friendly and easy and friendly to use., nice reporting and real time activities.

Cons

It causes the application Linux operating system to freeze. I have to restart the OS but this happens on Vmware.

258 reviews