User Reviews Overview

About Airbase

Our software gives organizations full control over their spending. Most companies struggle with being able to give employees an easy way to make purchases while also having a strong process that ensures control, compliance, and...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.8
Features
4.7
Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Support
4.8

Browse Airbase Reviews

67 of 67 reviews
Sort by:
Dmitri
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/06/2020

Best AP solution for SMB to MidSize businesses

From start to end we had an amazing experience with the sales process, implementation and daily operations. Highly recommend!

Pros

The best thing about Airbase are not the constant flow of features, the insanely fast support team or even the ease of deployment. The best thing is the architecture for approval flows and how the product team pays very close attention to customer needs.

The approval flows are setup in such ways as to allow each team to be fully automated in their approval flows and forbids circumvention of controls, thus allowing us a very high level of confidence that each person is accountable for their purchases.

Cons

I highly recommend Airbase, however, this is a new product and I also recommend spending a lot of time analyzing each nuance of your AP process needs before moving forward as not all features are immediately available. At the time of writing this review, international payments are not yet ready but Airbase has communicated their roadmap and we know exactly when this will be rolled out. The minor drawbacks have not impacted our improvements in performance, quality, and stability of accounting controls or slowed us down at all.

Reasons for Choosing Airbase

Bill.com is knows for its sync issues and weak approval flows. Airbase not only fixes both but also gives you tools to validate everything through reporting and flows that are flexible but reliable.

Switched From

BILL
Colleen
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/10/2023

Great Way to Track, Pay Vendors, and Stay Compliant

Pros

All the features we use are great. I upload vendor bills on the daily and setup the approval flows. Having an approval flow for each invoice that comes through the company is a life saver. It not only holds managers and their team members accountable, but relieves the burden of back and forth emails to/from the finance team. There also is the option to amortize any prepaid expenses. Airbase will generate journal entries to sync to our ERP which reduces errors and manual steps during our close process.Virtual cards are a great tool. There is an approval process, spending limits can be set, and cards can be locked if needed - or automatically if the card owner has not uploaded their receipt. It is a great way to keep the company compliant and spending within budget parameters.Finally, I would like to call out Customer Service. they are exceptionally great at responding quickly and solving and issues that have come up. This is important to us and our vendors. We haven't had a bad experience working with the Airbase team.

Cons

There are a few items that could improve which we have brought to the Airbase team and they hope to get them on the road map. One of which is if vendor information, such as an address, is updated in the platform it does not sync over the change to our ERP. This makes preparing 1099's at the end of the year a little tedious, but definitely not a deal breaker.

German Jose
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 6/06/2023

Airbase immediately refunds sales reports

I've mentioned out loud almost everything I've already mentioned, I hated to repeat myself, however, it's wonderful that a system works so well and, more importantly, so quickly, on such a dreaded thing as expense reimbursement. It transforms it into a pending job and not a thing that is put off for an extended period of time because it works so well.

Pros

I love the way it works well for my own reimbursements, plus it is efficient for the team I write, which supports me. I have used websites in the past where personal returns were simple, however, it was complicated when trying to control or approve for other members of my staff. Airbase is hygienic and simple, regardless of the activity on it. Refunds per order are quick, as you only need to show proof of payment and the system detects it.

Cons

It's rare that I find something that can't be improved in the slightest, however, Airbase seems to be this for me. It's simple and straightforward, and the control screen is really clean (I can't think of anything to perfect).

Top Airbase Alternatives

Katharine
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 29/10/2023

The most automated AP system Ive worked with

Overall I have really enjoyed Airbase, the automation saves so much time on the Accounting side and all other departments loved how easy it is to use.

Pros

I like how easy it is to process and schedule payment for invoices. It autofills most of the invoice info slashing data entry time.

Cons

It complicated Bank recs and there are some basic features that you have to reach out to support for, like un-applying a credit to an invoice.

Ryan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 1/11/2023

Airbase + Growth Company

Pros

Airbase has transformed our ability to efficiently process, report, and analyze all non-payroll spend. It syncs directly with our GL (NetSuite) and provides the appropriate level of financial controls for our size/stage.

Cons

Our employees & approvers often note that it would be helpful to review expense submissions by trip. Currently, expenses are submitted individually and not grouped.

Lisette
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/10/2023

Airbase

I love airbase and have nothing bad to say

Pros

I like to ease of use in the app. I shows me how much I spend daily

Cons

I wish my company offered the credit card

lisa
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 13/11/2023

my airbase review

My experience with airbase has been nothing but a good one so far.

Pros

I like how easy it is to use airbase and its functionality as well as the convenience of it.

Cons

There really isnt anything I have to complain about airbase.

Tommy
  • Industry: Security & Investigations
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 29/10/2023

Useful and easy to

Pros

Its easy to use and everything is well thought out, simple for new users to understand

Cons

the UI isn't the nicest looking but nothing that bad

Eric
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 3/11/2023

Excellent method for purchasing.

Pros

Love the ability to create digital cards.

Cons

Wish I saw more analytics, such as metrics of spend categories.

Brian
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 31/10/2023

Air Base Review

Pros

Easy to use. Receipt manager allows for quick inputting to get expenses approved. Scans the receipt for information required to input.

Cons

As a basic user of Airbase I do not really have any complaints.

Joe
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/02/2021

Essential Tool in Modern Finance Tech Stack

The overall user experience is excellent. Airbase helps Welkin improve accounting accuracy with fewer reclasses and supports a much faster monthly closing process. Time savings come also from the vendor self-onboarding process, which allows to save key documents such as W9/W-8BEN and contracts. Real-time spending monitoring also allows department owners to check on their spending without finance/accounting support.

Pros

- Automatic bill coding with OCR (time savings).

- Automatic credit card coding with receipt management function.

- Excellent onboarding and implementation team.

- Fast responsive customer support team.

- Airbase improves features based on customer feedback.

- Fast and meaningful product improvements and great UI/UX.

- Early access to beta features on request (such as receipt audits, advanced approvals).

Cons

- Airbase lacks a few features to replace some other tools effectively (e.g. Expensify).

- Annual fee could be lower or cashback on credit cards higher.

- International payments still not supported as of early Feb.2021

Alternatives Considered

BILL Spend & Expense (Formerly Divvy), Brex and Ramp

Reasons for Choosing Airbase

- Improved accounting accuracy with fewer reclasses. - Faster monthly accounting closing process. - Vendor payments and onboarding through automation. - Efficient year-end receipt compliance audit. - Real-time expense reporting / monitoring by department. - Better UI/UX experience for the accounting team.

Switched From

BILL

Reasons for Switching to Airbase

In our vendor evaluation in 2019 Airbase received high scores for key features such as automated accounting procedures (bill coding, credit card coding/approval processes), receipt compliance, vendor self-onboarding, and departmental spending monitoring/reporting). While Brex offered the biggest credit (one-time $5K AWS) and slightly larger cashback reward program (recurring), Airbase offered overall more time savings for the accounting/finance team.
Josephine
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/02/2021

Best platform I have signed us up for!

Airbase has been a pleasure to work with from the start. Even the sales part didn't feel... well.. salesy!
The onboarding was exceptional. We were assigned an onboarding support specialist who literally walked us through every step of using Airbase over 3-4 training sessions. There wasn't a thing left out and after each session I was sent away with 'homework' to ensure that each stage of setting up Airbase and integrating it with our accounting platform was done correctly.

We have now been using it for about 6 months and the customer service continues to be excellent. Despite the fact that it is a general support request, it is always the same support specialist that returns an answer (and usually within a couple of hours).

Our team have all had a really positive response to adopting airbase. It has given them the autonomy to spend as they require, but still kept the ultimate control over spending within our finance function for the organization.

Prior to Airbase, we used to spend hours trying to reconcile spending at the end of each month!
It has also meant that we pay our vendors immediately because the process of inputing a bill and making a payment is so quick and easy.

Pros

I love the user experience on this platform. Everything about it is just intuitive and well thought out. It makes processing purchasing requests a really seamless experience and has saved us hours of work at the month end.
Since adopting Airbase as our platform for spend management, we have been able to take everything back in house, have much more control over our spend, receipts and reporting, and have cut our bookkeeping costs by 90%

Cons

I honestly can't think of any downsides to Airbase. Really! It's saved is tons of time, money and headaches.

Sheng
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/02/2021

Airbase ease of use

Overall the experience has been wonderful, we are able to close more accurately and timely due to using airbase. There's no longer a struggle trying to determine what the spend is on various cards as they all have been categorized previously. Although initial setup may take longer it is well worth the accuracy.

Pros

The best part of airbase is that it easily integrates with QBO.
This allows me to setup prepaid on Airbase that automatically set up to sync to QBO for a monthly close.
Cards are automatically set up to charge a certain GL code, rendering it unnecessary to go back monthly to determine what the spend was and where to charge it.

Cons

When making some entries, it does not use a new naming convention and would use the most recent journal entry naming convention to make the the journal entry title. This can lead to bit of confusion.

Alternatives Considered

Teampay

Reasons for Choosing Airbase

We wanted more accuracy and timeliness as well as an all in one product
Kenny
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 3/05/2019

Airbase makes managing spend a breeze

* It's been a life-saver on the finance side. I've been able to automate all of our spend and everything from recurring software to one-off employee requests get routed through Airbase. Really easy to administer and employees needed no training.

Pros

* Helped me streamline the entire spend process at Coda.io - I route most expenses through the platform - everything from software to travel to one-off expenditures.
* Incredibly easy to use - I have never trained an employee on how to use Airbase. They log in, and it's clear what they should do.
* It creates tremendous peace of mind on spend - I don't worry about vendors charging us more than they should, people buying software they don't need, and card numbers getting stolen.
* Visibility - It's easy to know what has already been purchased, who purchased it, and how much are we spending.
* Keeps getting better - Airbase started with just digital credit cards but the tool is quickly replacing all types of spend management software internally.

Cons

* Mobile app still catching up to web app, but moving quickly.
* Manually moving over old spend into Airbase by switching credit cards with vendors was tedious, but a worthwhile one-time investment, and Airbase did a lot to make it as painless as possible (found all the vendors for us that we needed to update)

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 29/04/2023

Simple and Sweet Expense software

Airbase is simpler to use than most expense platforms we used in the past, but could definitely use some improvements in order to be best in class. We will continue to utilize it.

Pros

Airbase is relatively simple to use, and we really love that we can create virtual cards in the system. As a user, I'm able to use the system to purchase requests (where I can request a virtual card or submit a reimbursement request, reimbursements, and virtual card requests. They approval chain is visible to me, and I'm able to easily see where my reimbursement request is.

Cons

There are two features that I feel are lacking. The first is onboarding. My employees often have a difficult time getting access to the system, and once they do, don't always have the correct access. This could be something we have to work on internally as well but it''s a point of difficulty.Secondarily - it's quite annoying that you can't put through a report after a business trip, each expense must be individual. This has been extremely annoying to most of my sales team and I do expect there is a fix coming in the future.

Drew
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/02/2021

Hyper-granular control, finally...without being "that account person bugging people"

Pros

- Hyper-granular control of expenses. Instead of managing limits and checking expenses on corporate cards, each approved expense request receives a single virtual credit card number (managed by accounting) for that specific vendor an expense (one-time or recurring)
- Flexible approval workflows

Cons

- Lack of integration with budgeting. Approval workflows should show managers how any discrete approval affects their department budget.

Alternatives Considered

Brex

Switched From

Expensify
Desene
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/02/2021

Airbase has transformed our AP process!

Airbase solved our messy credit card reconciliation problems and has given us pre approvals and real time insight into all spend as it occurs. As an accounting team we don't feel like we are playing catch up at the end of the month.

Pros

We use the virtual cards, physical cards, POs, and bills/bill payments. Each area works perfectly and syncs directly to our ERP, Netsuite. It is has saved us so much time from a reconciliation standpoint. Our employees love the virtual card functionality and ease of approvals.

Cons

My only dislike is that they don't have Expense Reimbursements up and running. As a finance team we are looking forward to the day when we can have this in Airbase as well.

Arianna
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/07/2021

A necessary system for scaling company

We added more control to our expenses, more visibility and improvement on the monthly closing timing.

Pros

When a startup goes above 100 people, you need a spend management software. Airbase has tons of features, the implementation is easy and their product team always strive for continuous improvement.

Cons

I think it's on the right path, however some tool for reconciliation is missing when it comes to check that all the prepaid accounts are cleared and booked and that amortization expense is correct.

Kyle
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 18/03/2022

Works great for my team — requesting and spending money has become easy and streamlined

Overall, Airbase has been easy to learn and easy to use! As a user (non-administrator) I have found it very straight forward for the things I need to use it for. I love that it has simplified communication and spending requests (and approval of requests) between myself and our finance department.

Pros

The ability to request and review/track multiple budgets (via virtual cards) has been a game changer for us. What used to be a more complicated process with hard-to-track communication (using other internal messaging tools )is now so easy and requires less back and forth comms with our finance department. Requesting reimbursement for out of pocket spending is easy and streamlined as well. We also work with many outside vendors, and I am able to review and approve of invoices through Airbase. Everything is easily assigned to the right people and easy to track. I am looking forward to continuing to use the product as we grow as a company!

Cons

It is somewhat challenging to attach receipts to expenses. By that I mean that I get an email stating that I have an expense that needs a receipt. That part works great. But then finding the exact expense that needs the receipt, and the location where I can upload the receipt within the Airbase UI could use some improvement. It is not as intuitive as I hope and expect. However, this is a small issue for a product that otherwise works really great!

Vivien
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/03/2021

Awesome product!!

Pros

The number one thing I love about Airbase is their ease of use. I particularly love their reporting and tracking features because we're able to view our spend on a general or granular view. We're currently syncing our Airbase transactions with QuickBooks and it has been super seamless to use. We're able to change our GL codes easily before syncing, which is great. Their customer service team is always very responsive and helpful. They will work with you to get anything and everything resolved in a timely manner.

Cons

They only notify you when you run out of funds. This causes inconveniences when we get notified really late in the day because our funds will not get transferred into our account until the next business day. It would be nice if we can get a warning when we're low on funds, so we can plan accordingly instead of having to deal with declined charges until the next business day

Sabrina
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/09/2020

It's very good

While the system is good I actually appreciate the customer support the people are Airbase are very personable and friendly.

Pros

The software is easy to use and navigate, it also helps that the design of the site is pleasing to the eye and doesn't cause confusion or looks to crammed full of features, its formatted in just the right way.

Cons

The only issue if that, is that I keep forgetting to go in and make payments in the bill payment section once its been authorized I also keep forgetting though its simple enough what tab i need to go into in order to release the payments - would be nice if they payment was auto processed once authorized unless a specific date was noted for payments to go out.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 28/12/2022

very good application to manage your business

airbase is without a doubt the best application to manage your business.I will recommend

Pros

Airbase is ideal for managing the company's finances, controlling the spending process, getting a complete perspective on representative expenses, and deciding on business strategies.

Cons

airbase works well for me I haven't had any complications yet

Khanh
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 27/08/2021

Airbase from the People Ops perspective

Pros

The most impactful feature for our team has been Airbase's ease of use and the fact that we don't have to process expense reports. So no more wait times for reimbursements to land and no more wasted time tracking down receipts!

Cons

Can't think of anything at this time. Airbase has been awesome!

Alternatives Considered

Teampay

Switched From

BILL and Expensify
Rajat
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 18/07/2021

Airbase - Making spend management simpler

Highly recommend it. Easy to use and great customer support

Pros

Easy integration with GL
Great reporting system
Easy to use and control

Cons

Improvements in having multiple funding accounts as opposed to just one bank account

Alternatives Considered

Teampay

Reasons for Choosing Airbase

Wanted to have all non payroll spend under one platform

Switched From

BILL and Expensify

Reasons for Switching to Airbase

Better customer service
Angela
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 9/03/2023

Worst support and implementation

I wish I never had to use this again.

Pros

the freebie version is getting phased out - beware!

Cons

Support is beyond useless. Many features are unavailable in the free version - like an AP aging report! You do not get any kind of support if implementing the free version.

67 reviews