osTicket Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About osTicket

osTicket is an open source help desk management solution that offers ticket management and IT asset management within a suite. The system can only be deployed in the cloud and is suited for small and midsize enterprise customers. ...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.8
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
4.0

Browse osTicket Reviews

50 of 50 reviews
Sort by:
Kyle
Kyle
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 8/06/2017

Great Help Desk Ticket System

Pros

oS Ticket has been a great IT Help Desk system for our company. Users can easily send in a help request via email, and oS ticket automatically creates a ticket and alerts our help desk. The system allows for tickets to be assigned to different technicians, change hands, and keeps a detailed note/tracking of everything associated with the ticket. There are a lot of great reports as well, including # of tickets closed, average response time, etc.

Indrawan
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 6/09/2021

OsTicket can provide what we need

my experience use this osticket is satisfy. this can very useful especialy if you are the first time use ITSM and ticketing management.

Pros

this ticketing system can have many categorized and element. so it is more easier to you while make your own form.

Cons

i think os ticket must build some business intelegent dashboard or make a decision report for management.

Alternatives Considered

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Reasons for Switching to osTicket

osticket is usefull if you compare with the price. the price is lower than manage engine. but in the feature, osticket is not bad at all.
Aravinth
Aravinth
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 25/04/2023

Great helpdesk system | Opensource and Paid version

I've worked with several OSTicket versions for more than five years, from 1.5 to 1.17. further, i have implemented both the self-hosted and cloud versions for a number of organizations. this can be very useful especially if you are the first time using ITSM and ticketing management.

Pros

OS Ticket has been used as an IT Help Desk system and incident management systemEmail integration (O365 /Google workspace)Department-wise ticket number generation Help topic-wise SLAVery easy version upgrade for on-prem

Cons

Version 1.17 has an issue with the auto auth token access issuePHP version is compatible with Version 1.17 (So we cannot run multiple systems with OSticket)Email fetch time issue - it takes more time to fetch the mail than what we configured in the systemVersion 1.17 has an issue with one DB view - department-wise ticket countAuto escalation not available

Alternatives Considered

Jira, Freshdesk and Zoho Desk

Reasons for Switching to osTicket

OS Ticket has been used as an IT Help Desk system and incident management system for our company. Also, Users can easily send in a help request via email, for ticket generation and alerts to our help desk. Open Source edition with maximum features available. Very easy configuration as admin.

Top osTicket Alternatives

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 14/11/2021

If Issue tracking and Ticket management is your requirement, osTicket is your choice.

As a free opensource tool, osTicket is great. We used it in our startup and my current company which is really good. It does ticket management really well. There are loads of customization, it's easy to use and can even work in a small hosting environment.

Pros

Fast, quick and easy to setup. OpenSource so can be self-hosted.

Cons

Some file types are not supported as attachments. A bit obsolete in terms of technology but does the job.

Alternatives Considered

Freshdesk

Reasons for Switching to osTicket

Open Source community and well tested by the community.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 5/06/2018

Rock solid, no problems or outages related to the software for over 9 years!

This software gives our employees a place to report problems to multiple departments and receive timely answers to their technical issues. It allows us to measure metrics for performance, and see trends in issues. Importantly it also allows us to have a historical reference of all problems, outages, etc.

Pros

osTicket is the best open source ticking system out there. Did I mention that it's free? It's fairly easy to customize and is very intuitive! It has an active support forum and community supporting it. There are third party developers that have created (free and paid) plugins and modifications to help others customize their system to their environment and companies needs.

Need paid support or hosting? Need custom installation services? Have a feature that isn't available that you need? Enhancesoft, the parent company that owns and pays developers to work on the project, offer all of that.

Cons

There are a couple of features that I think are important that this type of product has, and they [the developers] have been really slow to implement them. Responsive Themes being the biggest of these. While you can modify it to make your own themes this type of feature is needed. note: Devs have promised this with the forth coming 2.0 release.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 14/01/2018

Free and easy to setup support ticket system to deliver a great user support experience.

Pros

Being free to use and easy to implement and setup, osTicket is suitable for non-profit and small business.

osTicket offers large set of features and options that enables to customize and deliver great user support experience for example you can create custom departments, customize support system pages and modify ticket fields like adding additional ticket fields.

osTicket is a very customizable support ticket system that offers many options to help customize all aspects of user support experience like the ability to customize departments, emails sent to user, pages and alerts.

osTicket offers an easy to setup knowledge base of frequently asked questions to help minimize support requests.

Cons

osTicket lacks some important options and features like the option to automatically close tickets after a certain period of time, an option to disable Overdue behavior and the lack of custom themes of both user and agent interfaces.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/07/2018

Perfect software for my ecommerce website support portal

Pros

When my ecommerce business started to take off and we were placing 400 orders a day, we needed something better than just an email inbox to manage customer service. With osTicket, I can manage my several customer service managers and inboxes to ensure we are utilizing our time in the best way possible, and serving our customers needs effectively. osTicket was the perfect addition to our toolbelt, and after trying alternatives, this was still the front runner.

Cons

The setup is a bit involved. There are a lot of out of the box settings that need modified in various places in the interface. It does take time to get used to the interface, but once you get the hang of it, the software is set and forget style. Works well for me anyway.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 15/11/2022

An easy Ticket system

We use Osticket more than five years. I highly recommend it.

Pros

You don't need a knowledge translation to start using it. It's simplier than others.

Cons

The release of new versions is slow. The User Interface is old.

Alternatives Considered

Odoo
William
William
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 26/06/2018

Support tickets, email notifications, mobile app, all relatively easy to use

Support ticket software, for free. But not the best feature set around.

Pros

Ticket tracking and email notification
Tasks can be added to tickets for additional steps before a ticket can be closed.
User management is fairly easy, and users can be organized by teams and departments
Files can be attached to the ticket.
A Paid Mobile app allows for simple ticket management.

Cons

Notifications and team/department access seems haphazard and a bit of an afterthought. It could be much better organized.

Mobile app is very limited and very pricey for what little it actually accomplishes.

Tristan
Tristan
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 15/09/2022

BEST help desk software 2022

good experience overall and i would recommend

Pros

Easy to customize or edit forms and configurations for workflow

Cons

there is a limit to features but still not too bad

Eva
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 15/04/2021

osTicket - Issue Tracking Made Easier

Pros

It's the best open source ticketing system. Claiming and reassigning tickets is very easy, as well as email notification is sent out, once a ticket is overdue.
User is able to export tickets quickly using the filtering option of, Assignee, ticket status, and date. From the exported report one is able to see when a ticket was raised and closed. This helps to track on the SLA's

Cons

OSticket, does not show how long a ticket took to be escalated to the next level, i.e from level 1 to level 2. It lacks the option to automatically close an overdue ticket after a particular time. There should be an option to reassign a ticket to the next person, if its overdue

Giorgi
Giorgi
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 8/11/2016

Probably Best Free Customer Support Platform ever.

OSTicket is so far my beloved customer support system when it comes to free platforms and easy of use functionality. I have spent over 1 year of managing and using OsTicket with 18 different agents and 4 separate departments. Thus, I will share my review of the system below in few words.
(Please note this is about the self-hosted package of OsTicket, not Cloud-based.)

The main advantage of the system is its nature of being equipped with all the necessary functions to maintain the medium sized companies support platform. It is a convenient system to carry out daily support-related tasks, answer tickets, have an unlimited number of cases/departments/agents, etc. In terms of simplicity, OSTicket is really user-friendly and easy to use platform that perfectly realises its own purposes of being reliable ticketing system. It is easy to install and maintain, the internal admin and agent user face are user-friendly as well.

The main disadvantage of the system might be its lack of statistical measurements. It was the main aspect I was lacking while using the OsTicket. It is really hard to get the valuable statistical data from OSTicket regarding the agents, their working levels, times, etc. Basically, there is just one simple page of "Statistics" that shows the quantity of the tickets and some basic stuff and that's all. Nothing else about the statistics. Furthermore, another disadvantage is its lack of social integration. The reason I decided to move my company to another platform was that I couldn't integrate the OsTicket with Facebook & Twitter platforms. There are other little disadvantages, however, not worth mentioning as they don't make a big different.

All in all, if not the aforementioned disadvantages of the system, OSTicket would be one of the best solutions for the small and medium-sized companies' support system needs. However, as it's completely free I'm nothing but grateful to the developers who developed this wonderful system and share it for free.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 17/02/2019

Backbone Ticketing For Tech

Overall OSTicket lets our tech and maintenance teams address issues in a timely fashion. It is pretty simple to use and therefore easier than some systems for our less technical staff.

Pros

The software allows our staff to create trouble tickets for both tech and maintenance. The incorporation into out email system (Gmail) easily lets staff create these tickets through simple emails. More advanced users can log into the portal and track all of their open tickets.

Cons

Our previous software was harder to setup but had a few more features. It would be nice to have a heftier reporting feature or trend management built in. Inclusion of asset tracking would be a plus too.

Tyler
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/03/2018

Free and Easy!

Pros

This software is easy to deploy, just git clone from https://github.com/osTicket/osTicket
Feature packed and ready for SMB deployment on your own servers.
Community support is active and easy.
Also available as an install package on Synology NAS

Cons

For out of the box ticketing system, this software has no real downsides. Some have said its hard to install but I did not have any issues getting it up and running. The fact that you can install this as a package direct from Synology package store makes it even easier.

Shawn
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/12/2019

osTicket

Overall osTicket has significantly helped me streamline our IT support in a mid-sized company.

Pros

osTicket is an open-source help desk ticketing system. It has all the best features, is easy to set up, deploy, and maintain and is fully customizable. I needed a help desk platform that could be hosted on-site and osTicket has fit the bill perfectly.

Cons

I really don't have any cons for this software. It's open-source and the developers monitor their support forums well so issues can be resolved in a timely manner.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/12/2018

osTicket

So far great experience.

Pros

Great simple application for support ticket. I am using this app for the past 8 years or more. For someone looking for a basic ticketing system, this is the one. Since the app is opensource, no need to pay for it. lately they have paid hosted versions. I am running mine in my own server. For me this works perfectly as a ticketing platform. You can create web tickets or email tickets.

Cons

Reporting can be better. Since its a free app, it's not fair to complain.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 31/08/2019

It suited our needs at the time

Like a I said in the title it fitted our needs at the time, but as we improved our system we found that we had outgrown the software.

Pros

It's easy of use is second to none. Everything is very intuitive and you can't fault it for that. It does the job it sets out to do, provide a space to view any issues that come into your service desk

Cons

The system just lacks a polished finish. From a visual perspective it looks out of date and it's lacking feature which people nower days probably want like reporting.

Jose
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 4/04/2018

It gets the job done without the clutter

Pros

The installation is really easy being a PHP application.

It lacks some features present in other support management applications, but it has the minimum necesary to get the job done without complications.

It has a very ease to use API to make osTicket work with external systems like call center and CRM.

Cons

The search functionality needs some work. It's difficult to search for specific customers or even ticket ID, but overall, is OK.

Manish
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/03/2023

Best Tool for IT Support Ticketing system

Pros

It's Open source tool which perfect for IT support Ticketing system

Cons

They can Improve the reportings and launch some free plugins

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/01/2019

Great software

We implemented this software to better track the problems encountered by our clients and to better assist them.

Pros

Open sourced, customizable, very easy to use and multi-user. You get reports so you can keep track of your statistics. Its easy to setup and install and you can host it on your own servers.

Cons

Search function is terrible. Feels a bit unfinished but they are always doing upsates and improving.

Gerson
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 6/12/2018

Flexible and very user friendly software

It's a good and free platform!

Pros

Being free to use and easy to implementation gives us a huge savings in our organization. osTicket offers large sets of free plugins and options that enables to customize the osTicket dashboard based on your organization. For example, you can customize the user support like email sents, knowledge based or FAQ in front of the report ticket dashboard.

Cons

Initial installation can be difficult if you have never do this before. There are many services to be setup just to get it work.

sai
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 7/11/2017

Its easy and user friendly

Pros

The way of answering the tickets is prety much easier on os tickets and ot helps the user to assign the tickets to any one from staff and the notification of alerts look good

Cons

Filters doesn't work good its really hard to filter tickets based on the name or client name it should be done better and add few addtional options to advance filter

Sean
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 27/03/2018

We use multiple instances of this software from IT tickets to Purchase orders

It is versatile. We use it for multiple things like IT support, Customer complaints, and contractor purchases.

Pros

Once it is setup, it runs itself with almost no tweaking. It has all of the same features as paid helpdesk suites.

Cons

Initial configuration can be difficult if you have never done it before. There are so many things to setup just to get it working.

rafeeque
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 29/03/2018

osticket open source and easy to implement

Pros

its a open source PHP easy edit to program don't need any PHP professional development skill reporting system is excellent we can customize as per ours requirement

Cons

sms integration should be there and email response excellent need more option for alert ticket reporting and user base very comfortable

Steve
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/11/2018

Os ticket keeping our tickets sorted easily

Pros

I love their free platform and allowing self hosting. Its kept our tickets neat and clean and we get them out fast. It has a user interface that is pretty easy to navigate and my customers love it

Cons

Can be a bit tricky to install but once its up its easy to do.

50 reviews