User Reviews Overview

About JumpCloud Directory Platform

JumpCloud Directory-as-a-Service is an IT Management software, which helps businesses of all sizes manage devices or workstations including Windows, MacOS and Linux, access to IT resources and user identities. The solution...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.5

Browse JumpCloud Directory Platform Reviews

87 of 87 reviews
Sort by:
Justin S.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 13/07/2021

Pricey, gets the job done, but not Active Directory

In a lot of ways, the world still revolves around Active Directory. JumpCloud isn't going to help you with that. However, it has advantages in the sheer scope of what it includes that, I believe, put it over the top. Give it a look, and don't let Microsoft's legacy platform control what everyone standardizes on.

Pros

JumpCloud is perhaps the most serious alternative on the market today to Active Directory. In addition to providing a directory service, it includes MDM, RADIUS, and plenty of other technologies that Active Directory does. I love having access to everything in one place with nothing to maintain.

Cons

It isn't Active Directory. JumpCloud is a great alternative to Active Directory, but when you're dealing with tools that are built specifically for Active Directory, you're still out of luck.

Adam B.
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 8/09/2020

Avoiding the mistakes of others...

I watched our sister company who was all Mac-based turn to the dark-side and try to take on PC client machines along with active directory...it's been a slow churn for them. No unified passwords, a home built radius server held together by a band-aid and Mac clients that see no benefit and 2 AD servers that no one truly understands...it's like some mystical dark art. We on the other hand, spun up 10 free users on Jumpcloud and never looked back, we have Linux/Mac and PC machines...as well as virtual machines all running Jumpcloud. We have Single Sign On between VPN, Wifi, NAS, System Accounts, Email... and it's all controlled from the cloud. They will never admit their mistake and come over to Jumpcloud, but I did learn by watching their slow, fragmented process for user/device management. Glad I went with JC!

Pros

I love that this DaaS product "just works" right out of the box. There is plenty of good documentation to read if you are cautious like me. I found that many features just worked and were intuitive to implement. We went from a small company that was ravaged by "password fatigue" - we separate passwords for everything with no central password app. It was a nightmare. After deploying Jumpcloud, we were able to make use of many of the features hidden in our networking gear. Within a month, we had unique (per user) credentials to get into everything. VPN, Wifi, NAS, System Accounts, Email...SSO. The password complexity is adjustable and can rotate. 2FA is simple to deploy and is icing on the cake. All of this in a Mac, Linux and PC environment....you really can't ask Active Directory to do that.

Cons

While the support for features and processes pertaining to Jumpcloud are documented well. At times the instructions can seem vague and maybe presume too much. However, support personnel are just an email away...they will help you "stick to the script", they are not however always well-versed in real scenarios you may have on your job-site. Nonetheless, I'll give them a C+ for walking through a couple nerve-racking installs the first time through.

Ratko S.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/08/2020

Freedom of choice, movemant, security, breaking AD chains - all with JC

If you want to have or already have most of what is necessary in the Cloud, without the need for a DC server in the premises, to expand your intranet to the entire Internet, then you need DaaS. JumpCloud is simple but offers complex services.

Pros

Quite complete solution, pretty simple but comprehensive. Management of users, machines, groups, solid connections with o365, cloud RADIUS option... And constant service improvement, which is very important in the software industry.

Cons

Reliability of RADIUS service, addition of remote control.

Alternatives Considered

Okta
Mark H.
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 9/09/2019

Reliable product

Jumpcloud are always requesting feedback and improving their offering

Pros

Minimal downtime and easy to navigate GUI.

Cons

Access to logs is via API only making them hard to decipher at times.

Alternatives Considered

Okta

Reasons for Switching to JumpCloud Directory Platform

cost
Michael G.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 9/10/2019

One of a kind cloud product

Solution to meet the requirement by having his/her own unique user account, therefore, no accounts are being shared.

Pros

As a replacement for an onsite server, JumpCloud leads the pack because they support companies that are very small with high growth potential, to take advantage of the software for free with limitations of number of users/computers. This allows the company using it, to grow and as it does, gives me an easy decision to subscribe to the service, without reinventing a solution.
Another PRO is that is actually releases updates that have a beneficial use; JumpCloud has never stopped adding new or improved features.
I have to research software to make recommendations that are best for the client and business. They choose JumpCloud.

Cons

As it relates to Directory-as-a-Service features, are policies for user/computer functionality. Such as standard policy to lock the computers after 15 minutes. It incorporates basic policies to apply to the machine or user, but not any near the amount Local Group Policy offers.

Mike K.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/10/2019

Great Software and Service

Very good and very helpful with managing dispersed machines across many different clients.

Pros

Automatically updates and pushes changes out to devices in near real-time. Works with a host of services and grows every day. Has many of the main features of a DaaS, without being overly complex or difficult to configure. Windows policy configuration without a domain for small businesses.

Cons

Lacks substantial Mac and Linux policy configuration.

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Azure

Reasons for Switching to JumpCloud Directory Platform

Azure works in similar ways, but the configuration and user interface is less friendly. It also has more than is necessary in certain cases, such as in small to medium businesses, and is a bit more rigid in terms of deployment and setup.
Felix G.
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 21/09/2020

Best cloud based directory service

Pros

Constantly improving feature sets.. new policies and functions being developed constantly
Friendly interface for sysadmins.

RESTApi enabled backend.

Cons

Logging to external syslog from admin gui is not present.
Older features don't have reporting enabled where new features all have logging in mind when building
Often falling back to REST API to perform tasks which not available on admin gui.

Donald H.
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 7/10/2019

Ease of use

Used this product at my clients sites that are a small office and not a domain. Works best in these environments.

Pros

Ease of deployment and ease of use when managing end users and Nas access.

Cons

When changing password it would not flow from jump cloud to O365. You would have to change in O365 and push to jumpcloud.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 4/09/2019

Easy and affordable directory service

It’s been really great and the people at JumpCloud are very helpful if I ever have an issue.

Pros

I like how easy it is to add new users to my directory and mange them in one place from anywhere.

Cons

There are a few limitations when integrating with other software.

Susan F.
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 4/09/2019

JumpCloud

We are using this to be able to manage the users on our devices as well as to manage some of the features and push scripts out as needed.

Pros

This software was very easy to use and set up. Customer Service was great during the set up process. The knowledge base was also quite useful. I ended up using the knowledge base a lot more and used Customer Service for further clarification as needed.

Cons

Nothing at the moment. We are very satisfied with this product. It met our current needs.

Greg C.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/02/2019

Great for managing cloud resources

We needed a way to manage resources that were out of the office environment like remote empolyee's.

Pros

This has a great integration with Google allowing the ability to manage resources outside of the office environment. Works with pc's and macs. Once we purchased the software we were provided a success manager who helped with the rollout from step 1 to completion.

Cons

So far nothing bad to say about it. Anytime we've ran into an issue they were quick to provide a resolution.

Dan H.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 10/09/2019

Finally you can step away from Active Directory

at present we have a poorly implemented AD for windows users, and nothing for mac, Jumpcloud allows us to manage all endpoints

Pros

having being frustrated with AD for many years, it's great to see a solution that is capable of truely replacing AD and supports policy for windows and Mac. customer on boarding is superb and there are new features added all the time

Cons

I think there's a couple of areas where things can be harmonized, IE starting policies that should be rolled out easier. for example screen lock time out, is a policy for mac, windows, and linux, why not harmonize some policies that are cross platform.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/08/2020

JumpCloud

Fantastic replacement for active directory and moving your on-premise IT infrastructure into the cloud.

Pros

Easy as pie to implement, able to import users from G Suite.

Cons

I don't have any gripes yet. We'll need to use the product more to generate any, That's so far the product has been rock solid.

Russell D.
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 9/09/2019

Small business directory

Although is supports many platforms there are limitations with some functions with different platforms. But these limitations are not the fault of Jumpcloud. I setup my QNAP logins via JumpCloud, I switched to QNAP domain controller thinking it would use JumpCloud users but instead disabled them. I am a small business with cost as my main concern, I am centralising the directory but keeping IT costs down.

Pros

Centralised directory that supports many different platforms

Cons

JumpCloud is easy to setup but integration can be a lot more involved

Celal A.
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 4/09/2019

Best DaaS

Pros

Friendly interface easy to use. Configurations are very straightforward.

Cons

Not applicable, I'm sure if there are any

Francois H.
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 4/09/2019

Cloud AD DAAS

Overall for solution

Pros

Online options for AD connections makes ease of use

Cons

Pricey compared to traditional solutions and a bit of work to setup

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Azure
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 3/06/2019

Strong Azure Active Directory Alternative

Pros

This product gave us the ability to manage both macs and windows in the same system while connecting users with our G Suite accounts and SSO.

Cons

The pricing isn't very cheap - but it is often worth it.

Marty C.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/09/2020

Replace your old on-prem AD server with Jumpcloud

Even without a global pandemic going on, our company is at least 60% remote. Solving the issues of users working remotely is what Jumpcloud specializes in. Cloud first was my philosophy when I began down this road, and JumpCloud definitely fits that model. No longer do you have to maintain on-prem servers and figure out how to securely allow remote access to them just so your users can log into their systems. JumpCloud handles all of that for you and frees you up to focus on more important issues. Its not "Active Directory in the cloud", but its close! What sets Jumpcloud apart from other solutions is their cross-platform support. Their support for MacOS is fantastic, and even linux workstations have some support!

Pros

Jumpcloud offers 10 users free, forever!

Cons

Without paid support, it can be difficult to adapt to using Jumpcloud if you're not familiar with Active Directory and Group Policies.

Alternatives Considered

Okta and Ping Identity

Reasons for Switching to JumpCloud Directory Platform

After much investigation, I found that neither Ping or Okta could completely replace an on-prem AD server. Azure AD is much more difficult to use, especially in a mixed environment like we have.
Carl S.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 24/08/2020

Excellent Solution for User and Device Management, Directory and Security

We are using JumpCloud as central directory, for SSO, for device and user management and partially MDM functionality. We love the support service, their incredibly enthusiastic and helpful staff. Support is brilliant! They are response time is sometimes hard to believe. The speed with which they have implemented features they mentioned in phone calls a few days before... we are well impressed. The end user experience is simple and assigning users to devices is lightning fast. JumpCloud helps us leverage zero touch deployment as well. We love that it has so many SSO integrations, too.

Pros

Great UI, self explanatory, fast and works in almost any browser (desktop and mobile). The ease of use is incredible. Basically no learning curve at all.

Cons

It would be great to have even more MDM functionality, especially for Mac and mobile devices.

Alternatives Considered

Okta and Hexnode UEM

Reasons for Switching to JumpCloud Directory Platform

Great experience with their team and it is the ideal solution for our setup.
Kyle R.
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 21/09/2020

A great solution for a cloud-based business

Pros

JumpCloud solved a number of issues for us as we needed a cloud-based identity management and also a system management tool for our distributed workforce. The product has constantly been improving over the 2 years we have used it. Set-up is fairly easy and it was pretty simple to roll-out.

Cons

There are some limitations that I hope are improved as the product develops. MDM is currently limited in functionality, and the System Insights still require command-line input to gather detailed information. It doesn't not have commands that can run on a system automatically when joined which would be nice.

Alternatives Considered

OneLogin
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 4/09/2019

Great option as cloud directory as service

Works just fine as a cloud-based domain service, ideal for spread organizations.

Pros

Easy to use and deploy for different OS options

Cons

Cost can become considerable for large number of users

Gareth S.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 12/08/2020

Excellent Free Tier

Pros

I run a predominantly Mac shop with only a handful of PCs. While I chose a competing Apple MDM solution, it was not because of dissatisfaction with JumpCloud. The Apple solution does not work with PCs, so I stuck with JumpCloud for those. At the price point (free) and the basic functionality provided, I am able to meet my audit and compliance targets with little effort and at a bargain.

Cons

The administrative interface and deployment steps are a tad cumbersome, but that's about it.

Alternatives Considered

Addigy
Mike J.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 4/09/2019

Great non-domain user control!

With this service I was able to settle some PCI Compliance issues with just a short amount of setup time.

Pros

I loved the fact that I was easily able to implement this product with Linux and Windows servers to auto-create and populate user information and user control. This has changed so many steps in our initial buildouts and use on these machines. Must say it has saved countless hours of work!

Cons

So far, I do not see any part that I am not a fan of at all.

Paul M.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/09/2020

Jumpcloud - Active Directory in the Cloud

Pros

Having a cloud-hosted authoritative directory. The ease of creating and managing users across g-suite, ldap and Microsoft 365.

Cons

The cost for a large group of users a little higher than I'd like to pay. Especially as a education institution.

Igor M.
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 4/09/2019

swiss knife identity hub

Identity as a service - ability to stitch together disjoint web apps while maintaining centralized identity store

Pros

Flexible multicloud identity broker - allows to stitch and federate identity between onprem and cloud. When you are looking to go all-cloud, major challenge becomes identity federation and not depending on the onprem AD.
Capability to offer tie the same cloud identity to onprem infra via RADIUS as a service is indespe

Cons

can become costly and api-level interop with major MDM / Security frameworks is highly desired

Alternatives Considered

Okta

Reasons for Switching to JumpCloud Directory Platform

Fantastic technical support, wealth of documentation and documented scenarios
87 reviews