Lightyear Reviews

4.9
Overall rating
Reviews

4.9
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Lightyear

Lightyear is an industry-leading cloud platform providing intelligent automation solutions for large SMEs & Enterprise level Purchasing & Accounts Payables processes. Designed to work across all industries, our end-to-end...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.8
Features
4.8
Ease of Use
4.9
Customer Support
4.9

Browse Lightyear Reviews

142 of 142 reviews
Sort by:
Mark
Mark
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/03/2021

Terrific Service and a Continually Improving Product

Overall, it's been fantastic. There is no such thing as a perfect system, but it is the people behind the software which really impress me. The fact that when things go awry, it is so easy to open the instant chat and speak to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is a great touch. The service is paramount. I've had issues which were solved overnight which comes to show they really do listen.

Pros

Lightyear is visually pleasing-it's quite simple to use and understand. From the user perspective who inputs data on invoices and approves them, it's straightforward and the layout of the software does not show you more than what you need to see, however, underneath the simple processes there is complexity. Lightyear makes supplier creation, GL code settings linked to export files such as Excel, and GST codes etc are somehow made simple to set up. One thing I find particularly great is whenever I input an ABN number during the Supplier Creation process, it autofills the Supplier Name field. Additionally, this is a drop down menu, so i am able to choose ANY of the Business Names linked to this ABN.

Cons

Sometimes, there have been system bugs and I'm unable to export data for a brief amount of time, or when we top up credits to use the system, the old credits are not rolled over their expiry date. It would be great if there was a notification in place to let us know that our credits are expiring soon or we are running low. Also, there are some things which cannot be customised. For example, the Export to File which is a function that exports invoice data into a spreadsheet, cannot be modified from my end. Lightyear do add features from time to time, but I'm not sure if consumer recommendations are actually involved in the process.

Jane
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 27/05/2020

This software took away our headaches with accounts payable

We love using Lightyear. It provides a fast, smooth process for auto processing and two-step approval. This saves us time and gives us the control process we need with administration staff checking mapping and accounts along with Directors approving the bill for payment; all before getting exported to Xero.
Customer support is helpful and timely , especially during the set-up process.

Pros

Integrates seamlessly and easily with Xero - our accounting software

The option for single, double or exec approval process within Lightyear - meaning bills can be directly exported to the payment tab in Xero rather than draft.

Ability to file statements within the software - very handy with suppliers that send multiple dkts then ask you to pay on a statement

Cons

Minor wish list item:The archive tab for completed bills would be handier to search if located on the horizontal tab area where reviews, approvals are shown - rather than only accessible from the left-hand menu bar.

Rachael
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 27/07/2022

Time Saver

Charlie has been great and customer service has been very quick in replying and solving questions. Approval processing is working well, overall happy.

Pros

The Manager function has worked well for us as we have offices in different locations which has made the approval of invoices more efficient.
Easy to see where the approval process is up to.
Exporting invoices to our accounting system is great.
Also like the audit trail feature.

Cons

We haven't used the PO system yet but looking forward to the enhancements that will suit the way we use them. Yes they have listened to us and adding options to suit our business.

Top Lightyear Alternatives

Daniel
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/05/2020

Accounts Payable Perfection

Extremely happy.

Pros

Lightyear allows us to easily manage the accounts payable process across our entire client base. It's unqiue mapping extraction process as well as logical flow of information, clean user interface, filing cabinet, approval process, inventory and duplicate recognition make it in my opinion the best accounts payable solution on the market. There support team is second to none.

Cons

Integrations with more POS programs or even job management programs would only increase Lightyears potential.

Alternatives Considered

Hubdoc, Dext Prepare and Datamolino

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

The additional functionality and accuracy of the extraction process/technology.

Response from Lightyear

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It is great to hear that you are taking full advantage of LIghtyear. We are always working on new integrations and more are coming soon.

Replied 28/05/2020
Debra
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 9/11/2021

Game Changer

Simplifying the approval process

Pros

Having data extraction & approval within one system is a game changer for us.
The approval process is simple to use once you spend the time to set it up.
The Keyword feature works really well when working with multiple locations.
The mobile phone app is easy to use and easy to switch between companies.

Cons

No ability on the mobile app to add a note to the receipt/invoice and no feature for multiple page or long receipts / invoices.

Alternatives Considered

EzzyBills

Reasons for Choosing Lightyear

Needed an all in one app for bill approval & accounts payable automation

Switched From

Hubdoc and Dext Prepare

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Single e-mail address for incoming bills Mobile phone app easier to use Approval process easier to set up
Kamil
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/06/2021

A great product that's getting even better with every update

Pros

First of all, Lightyear is a standalone application that you can, but don't have to integrate with your accounting software. Second of all, strightaway you know the costs of adding it to your business. The price list is on their website and it's fair.
The setup did require some thinking about workflows and user experience, so I took my time there.
But once the suppliers and maps are set up and automation rules kick in, the whole AP process becomes much less painful. I almost enjoy it now ;). The most important features like reading the invoices, accurately mapping them, and assigning them to correct approvers work very well. It saves time, effort and annoyances. The Lightear support team is a very helpful and friendly bunch. I even did a small survey among colleagues and asked what they thought of Lightyear. No surprise - everyone likes it. I highly recommend this product!

Cons

No option to add multiple attachments to invoice at once.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe Acrobat Sign

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

It's standalone and doesn't need costly integrations with accounting software or involving IT support.
Patrick
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/12/2022

Extremley Powerfull and Efficient Accounts Payable System

The experience with Lightyear to date has been exceptional. From initial engagement, implementation, and ongoing support has been flawless. Guidance and support from [SENSITIVE CONTENT] at Lightyear have been brilliant and I look forward to continuing working with Lightyear and the team on implementing other workstreams coming up (i.e., P/O Processing).

Pros

- Invoice Processing: Significant amount of time saved for me to focus on other aspects of the business, with confidence, knowing that I have accurately captured and processed all invoices.- Security: bank fraud detection is a very powerful feature of the lightyear system as well as its ability to flag duplicate invoices.- Support: the Lightyear team are incredible. From implementation to processing/mapping support, Lightyear are unreal.

Cons

N/A: We have currently used Lightyear for < 6 months but have explored a significant amount of its functionality and capability, which has been an incredibly positive experience for myself and the business.

Alternatives Considered

Tipalti

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Far superior invoice processing functionality and advanced P/O system that could not be matched on quality and price.
Laure
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/09/2021

Amazing tool to process accounts payables

Pros

Great value for money, time saving, user friendly, outstanding customer service, provides everything you need to process creditors invoices

Cons

I have never had a bad experience with Lightyear. Whenever something doesn't work (which barely happens), their team is always very responsive and the problem gets solved super quickly

Alternatives Considered

Hubdoc

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Much better product than the other alternatives
Andy
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 28/05/2021

Easy to implement and works very well

Has helped modernize the way our company processes and stores invoices, hard to envisage the company going back to the way it was before.

Pros

Easy to use and has vastly improved the time to process our payments while providing significantly more oversight for our executive team.

Cons

Integration with existing procedures was very easy but would require the company's accounts/purchasing team to be hands on during the process.

Alternatives Considered

Medius

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Cost and Lightyear took our queries more seriously and responded with much more urgency.
Alex
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/05/2020

Best Invoice System I have ever used

Very positive.

Pros

- So easy to use
- Effortless
- Easy to integrate to accounting software
- Easy to identify working streams via approval tabs
- Easy to find old invoices

Cons

- Nothing ! It is such a good platform. Highly recommend.

Diego
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/05/2020

Great AP tool for your business

User friendly platform, great support and an outstanding approval options. I recommend Lightyear to all my clients, specially the ones that requires a complex approval process before the bill is imported to the accounting system.

Pros

The approval options definitely is the differential of Lightyear. From a simple 2 steps approval, to up to 3 executive approval, there are many options that can suit the most complex business.
Another strong point from Lightyear is their support. You usually gets a response on the same day.

Cons

Their subscription is based on the number of transactions, so if your business manages a large quantity of bills, it might become a bit expensive.

Alternatives Considered

Hubdoc and Dext Prepare

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Due to their approval options.

Response from Lightyear

Many thanks for the review. Glad to hear that the approvals are making your life easier.

Replied 28/05/2020
Evette
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/07/2022

Highly Recommended - A Cost Effective Solution and Amazing Customer Service

I wish we had moved to Lightyear a long time ago, it's a simple solution to a time consuming process.
Customer service has been second to none - from the start of demonstrations to ongoing support (which we rarely use now) the service has been 10/10!

Pros

Complete visibility across supplier invoices either via the dashboard as a quick view or in detail across all stages of approvals. This is especially helpful at the end of the month to see if all invoices have been through the entire approval process and exported to our accounting system before close off.
Search functionality is helpful and shows which stage of the process each invoice is at - search results can be exported.
The audit trails and notes show full history of the life of the invoice and save a lot of external communication and queries.
Implementation was easy after the demonstrations given to us by [SENSITIVE CONTENT] who took the time to understand what we wanted (which was a little bit out of the ordinary!) and configure the settings accordingly. We gained confidence in Lightyear through the demonstration/training process and the additional webinars.

Cons

Looking forward to enhancements to the mobile app to allow more functionality while on site.

Lisa
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/04/2021

Wonderful Product

Time saving and accurate. The archive tab is a wonderful tool for our department managers to look up invoices without interrupting the Accounts team. The inventory function is great as well. I was sceptical when first introduced to Lightyear after returning from Long Service Leave but now I just couldn't imagine working without it. Being cloud based it is easy to work from home.

Pros

We never lose an invoice. Even if we accidently delete an invoice we can return it for processing. We have reached our goal of being almost paper free. The processing, approval, review and signing off tabs are wonderful and provides us with a simple system that provides accountability from our department managers. So easy to use and saves so much time.

Cons

A very small number of our supplier invoices can't be mapped but with the overall benefits of this system it is just a minimal issue.

Mike
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/06/2020

Must have software

I found Lightyear easy to use and value for money. I can't recommend it enough!

Pros

The Lightyear software is very affordable, user friendly and easy to implement. It does have many functionalities and the integration to NetSuite ERP system is very robust. The accuracy of data extraction is impeccable. What I valued most though is the customer service. The Lightyear team has made the implementation and ongoing operation of the software a breeze.

Cons

The Lightyear software is feature packed. However, more could be done in the space of multi level coding and exporting capabilities.

Alternatives Considered

PaperSave

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Cost.
Ajai
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/05/2020

EXCELLENT SERVICE

Very pleased with level customer service and support

Pros

This software does things that other software could not offer us and was not as user friendly

Once the software was set up correctly the we saved 12-20 hours a week

Cons

General I am very happy with Lightyear and no negitives

Alternatives Considered

Xero

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Service and ability to do what we needed

Response from Lightyear

Many thanks for the review. Great to hear that you are saving so much time every week.

Replied 28/05/2020
Kathleen
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/05/2020

Lightyear saves you time for sure

We've been using Lightyear since it started. We find it very helpful and easy to use. It keeps a tax record of all our supplier bills in one location and sends a copy of the bill to Xero so that the process owner can see it when reviewing it to approve for payment.

Pros

Having Lightyear enables us to do in minutes what used to take hours of manual data entry to enter suppliers bills into our accounting software.

Cons

I find it annoying that I have to set up a supplier in Xero, raise a test bill, then pull that back into Lightyear to set up a supplier in Lightyear.

Response from Lightyear

Hello Kathleen, Many thanks for your excellent review. There should be an easier way to setup new suppliers between us and Xero. One of the team will reach out.

Replied 28/05/2020
Ankur
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/02/2020

AP Automation tool ideally suited for SMEs

Implementing Lightyear was tricky initially as the software did not have existing integration with SAP. That's something we had to figure out however the team at Lightyear gave us ample opportunity and support even during the trial phase. Would like to specially mention about [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], our account manager. She is a customer service champ.

Pros

The product gives you good value for money. Its easy to use and implement with excellent customer support.

Cons

Still early days for the software when it comes to integrating with SAP. Would have liked an API that integrates with SAP too. Best works for Xero, MYOB and other finance platforms.

Alternatives Considered

SAP Concur and Medius

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Better value for money.

Response from Lightyear

Many thanks for the review Ankur. We are always developing the platform but we will pass on your feedback to the development team. Great to hear the support team have been able to get everything sorted for you in the meantime.

Replied 17/02/2020
Alistair
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/01/2020

Fantastic Product

Pros

Have always found Lightyear to be a terrific and easy to use product. Dual authorisation of bills is something that many products do not have and the data extraction is very fast and accurate.

Cons

It can sometimes have speed issues and lag.

Response from Lightyear

Hi Alistair, Many thanks for your review. We are delighted that you are finding the combination of data-extraction and authorisation of bills to be a game changed for your organisation.

We are continuing to work on the speed issues that some users are experiencing and we have major updates for this planned over the next month. Stay tuned.

Thanks, Eoin

Replied 16/01/2020
Nance
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/04/2020

Fantastic Product

Lightyear saves hours of data entry, allows for multi-level approvals throughout a company and exports seamlessly with Xero.

Pros

The ease of set up and use and ability to export automatically to Xero.

Cons

Very little. Initially in the change from Invitbox to Lightyear there were some issues but they have been quickly resolved and in fact Lightyear just gets better and better.

Response from Lightyear

Many thanks for the review Nance. Great to hear how much you are loving Lightyear!!

Replied 12/05/2020
DONNA
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/08/2020

Time Saving

Purchase invoices, time saving

Pros

This is so beneficial for our purchase invoices. Saves so much entry work. Customer service is fast on chat and if need be the issue can be discussed over the phone. Which I find most useful. Customer service always helpful and will fix up the problem via joining your screen if needed

Cons

Credit expiry is not warned when it is coming to an expiry point.

Brett
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/10/2022

Lightyear has been a game changer!!

Excellent! We have had a wonderful experience and are very thankful to the team for the assistance

Pros

Lightyear has been a critical and very beneficial piece of software for our business. The ease of use combined with the outstanding customer service has meant we were able to build and launch lightyear very quickly and start using it to assist our growing business.

Cons

Hard to pick something we dont like. If anything, search capability can be improved within purchase orders but the team are constantly working and upgrading the software.

Silvio
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 26/05/2020

MITS review

Experience so far has been fantastic. We have had little use, and had to stop during the COVID-19 shut down, but from what we have used so far, we can see this saving our venue managers and well as our finance team lots of time in processing and reconciling supplier accounts.

Pros

The ability to set up different team members to approve invoices, as well as keeping all invoices in one central location, uploaded via suppliers. Integration to Xero is also fantastic.

Cons

The learning curve for new users takes some work.

Kenneth
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/05/2020

Excellent Accounts Payable Invoice Processing and Approval Software

Excellent support from their support team
Very user friendly

Pros

Layered and tiered approval process
Simple and easy to use, very user friendly
PDF recognition
Progressive software company that looks to continue to develop its product

Cons

Speed of software can be improved
Can improve on recognition of other file formats

Rachel
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/11/2021

Easy to use and efficient

Pros

Its easy to use. Its very clear and the team and customer service are excellent. MIssing invoices are always easy to locate.

Cons

Sometimes I find it difficult to map some of the smaller businesses, but as someone who is not techno savvy this is just a small problem.

LOUISE
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/03/2021

Data processing efficiencies

Tech assist is readily available and most helpful

Pros

The mapping that allows for pre population of data. This saves considerable time and adds a level of accuracy to the data process.

Cons

Iam finding it difficult to pin down any feature I don't like !

142 reviews