User Reviews Overview

About ADP TotalSource

ADP TotalSource is a full-service HR solution for SMBs. It provides cloud-based HR technology paired with a team of experts to help businesses handle payroll, employment tax, employee benefits and benefits administration, HR...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4.5

Browse ADP TotalSource Reviews

188 of 187 reviews
Sort by:
Doug H.
  • Industry: Packaging & Containers
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 8/11/2019

Good details

Received a couple crash courses on where to go to do what, and since then great!

Pros

There is so much information, that you can just navigate around a stumble across great information that is so useful in planning and helping employees. Then to be able to manage from the software, very easy.

Cons

So much details hard to remember where everything is.

Alternatives Considered

Paychex Flex

Reasons for Choosing ADP TotalSource

Cost and wanted benefits package and better service

Reasons for Switching to ADP TotalSource

Service, sales team, and cost
Brian M.
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 13/03/2018

Very smooth transition and versatile product

Quality, consistent payroll and valuable employee benefits.

Pros

It takes only a brief amount of training and is fast, simple and provides a great audit trail. The support from humans is great .

Cons

A few of the report titles are odd. It can be difficult getting through the automated phone system.

Tiffany O.
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 8/11/2018

User Friendly Human Resources Tool!

We use ADP Total Source to keep track of all of our human resources needs.

Pros

ADP Total Source is really easy to use. I am able to quickly and easily manage my employees timecards and yearly reviews and it takes all of the guess work out of the process for me. I love that it alerts me if something doesn't look right or when things are changed or become due.

Cons

There are still a lot of functions that are available that I do not know how to use. The scheduling part is a little confusing so I don't use it.

Top ADP TotalSource Alternatives

Helen F.
  • Industry: Wireless
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/11/2017

This software lets you do so many things

The ease of turning in payroll whenever I am ready without having to make phone calls to do so. Reports at my fingertips, ease of setting up employees, etc.

Pros

Love the ease of putting in payroll, new employees, updating employees, getting reports, terminating employees, etc. Really quick and easy.

Cons

There isn't anything we just don't like about this software. Do wish you could use your right/left arrow keys when inputting payroll. It would save a lot of time. You can use the up/down arrow keys, but not the right/left.

Verified Reviewer
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 20/12/2017

Versatile and Easy to use

I am able to not only clock in and out, but can access pay stubs, estimate pay, complete reviews, update insurance and personal information and even have access to coupons and discounts.

Pros

I like all of the feature that are available for employees in the ADP platform. We are able to complete so many necessary tasks with this platform.

Cons

The software is hard to access from mobile devices. It does not format for mobile viewing and must be used on a desktop/laptop for best viewing.

Therese M.
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 1/11/2017

I LOVE working with ADP Totalsource. Their site is easy to manage and their service is...

Ease of use, accuracy, support.

Pros

Very easy to use. Do not need lessons to use and never need to contact support for assistance for every day things. I could probably state that in the time we have been using ADP Totalsource - approximately 6-8 years, I have had to contact support for their program/site less than 10 times.

Nicole B.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 10/10/2017

Easy to Use

Pros

Very user friendly software, great for small businesses. Payroll and HR support are included so you always have someone to call.

Cons

Sometimes the reps who are assigned to you are not responsive. They do not have a great sense of urgency.

Justin G.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/10/2018

Great functionality & ease of use

Pros

Very easy to see time sheet summary and benefits outstanding. Also easy to add requests for time off and submit corrections

Cons

UI is somewhat dated but this doesn't hamper performance at all. Ease of use is great!

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/03/2018

We have been a customer of ADP Total Source for almost 20 years

Pros

Provides us with accurate information. Security is a priority but still user friendly. The information listed on each tab is easy to understand and affords you the opportunity to access more data if necessary.

Jennifer W.
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
1
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 4/02/2020

The stone age version of ADP

Pros

I can't say anything positive about this software. It seems like it hasn't been updated in awhile.

Cons

Site is not user-friendly. Also, reports are extremely limited.

Carol M.
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/08/2018

TotalSource is the way to go

Pros

It is easy to navigate on the TotalSource site; from entering new hires, processing payroll, enrolling in benefits and more.

Cons

At times it can be hard to find a specific reports.

Laurie K.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 16/09/2019

Exceptional Client Services

Outstanding

Pros

Interconnected modules for a robust national infrastructure

Cons

more advanced, proactive communication strategies for shared best practices

Paige A.
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 20/03/2018

We love support team! We like our representatives. They are always helping us!

Support

Pros

User Friendly- Easy access to help or forms. Organized very well. Always shows phone numbers of who to call when you have questions.

Cons

No notification of changes. The change over from www.mytotalsource.com to myadp.com or mykplan.com. Wish there was one site to link all and one username and password for employees

Melissa W.
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 19/04/2019

ADP TotalSource is Great!

Pros

ADP TotalSource is super easy to use, cost efficient , helpful

Cons

We still haven't figured out how to use all the functions

Julie S.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 25/09/2019

Helpful

ADP TotalSource helps us with Payroll and Benefits Administration.

Pros

I like the ease of use. The screens, tabs and lists are easy to navigate and understand.

Cons

It can be a little difficult for employees to navigate at first. There are multiple steps.

Melissa W.
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/11/2020

ADP Newbie

Overall, I enjoy using ADP. It's got everything I need in one place related to HR and easy to use on the go from my phone. Definitely one of the better HR products I've used in my professional career from a user standpoint.

Pros

I like all the additional benefits that are available to employees and the easy of which to use the functions like getting a copy of a paycheck, checking benefits we signed up for, and submitting PTO time. Having everything located in one place is extremely helpful in staying organized. The app is also very handy in checking in when I am unable to get to a computer and am on the go.

Cons

Sometimes I'm not sure where something is due to the names not always being as clear as you would think but it's not horrible. Just confusing at first.

Kathy R.
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/03/2018

Professional help for the Small Business

Pros

It's Very Easy to Use and if you have any questions, customer service is just a phone call away. Your payroll is laid out exactly how you would by using an excel spreadsheet. All you need to do is drop in hours and the software does everything else for you.

Cons

Trying to enter the effective dates for some kind of deduction or benefit change or deletion. Setting up a new employee is difficult and time consuming.

Brian G.
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 5/12/2017

ADP TotalSource is a solid, no-frills PEO that works effectively for our joint ventures.

Overall, ADP TotalSource checks most of the boxes needed to satisfy all of requirements of being a software system designed to act as a PEO. While there could certainly be some improvements, none of the products on the market seemed perfect, and this was one of the best 2-3 that I found.

Pros

It integrated well with our other systems and software. The customer service and support has been good and the implementation and set-up went smoothly. It does everything it was expected to and does have some nice reporting functionality included as well. It's user interface isn't particularly exciting, but is fairly intuitive and easy to pick up.

Cons

While it does what is needed, I feel like they could display more info per page and find ways to minimize "unnecessary clicks" to accomplish basic tasks related to sourcing, candidate, pipeline, dispositions, and requisition management. Also, resumes don't seem to always open properly using the Chrome browser. Sometimes, they must be downloaded in order to be viewed.

Emily J.
  • Industry: Newspapers
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

2
Reviewed on 15/12/2018

Extremely basic and worth what you pay

If you run a small company with basic needs, get it. If it's bigger than 40-50 people or you want something with real detail, I wouldn't recommend it.

Pros

It does the basic job of tracking logging in and out and employee record keeping. It's organized in a basic and sometimes easily accessible design.

Cons

This software is a low bar for what you can expect for the price. It wasn't as detailed in employee information as I'd sometimes would've liked. The fonts are smaller so it's less accessible than other competitors. It didn't leave room for variability options.

Hannah H.
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 9/11/2018

ADP TotalSource - cumbersome but inclusive

Good product overall, but there is a learning curve

Pros

Administrators are able to adjust, edit, or update anything. Assigning managers and time card approvers is easy, and time off requests live in a portal - that way if one manager is covering for another it is easy for them access and approve.

Cons

Many features are not intuitive to find and some updates require changes in 2 or 3 completely different areas. Customer service is ok, not great. They'll help you quickly but do not always fix the problem on the first or second try.

Manu M.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 19/10/2017

ADP TotalSource

Pros

Great support. The ESC is prompt and helpful.
Very easy to use. I like the option to run reports. Easy to navigate.

Cons

Times out quickly. Sometimes I wish it was easier to look up everything in the employee's profile without having to change tabs, but I understand that this is for compliance reasons.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 13/11/2018

Good HR program, but a little glitchy

Pros

This software has an app, which makes it easy for employees to clock in/out. It works great for time cards and time off management. Also, the HR support for benefits is outstanding!

Cons

Sometimes the app doesn't work or the web login is a little glitchy.

Mike I.
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 14/04/2017

Very easy to use for all employees

Overall an easy to use product.

Pros

ADP is very easy software to use as a payroll administrator and as an employee. Entering and keeping track of hours worked is a very simple process. The ease of the mobile is a great plus as well. Integrated well with internal system.
One employee can use for multiple jobs.

Cons

There are many help options available but cant seem to get a "live/dedicated" agent to assist.
Training videos are short.

Bethany T.
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 1/08/2018

There is a ton of resources in total source but you have to know about them to find them

Very straight to the point but without much description on paychecks, benefits, etc items.

Pros

Once you log in, it is a great place to quickly and easily see your paychecks, W2s and benefits, along with other ADP perks.

Cons

I just recently found out about my ADP total source discounts for car insurance, flights, pet insurance, etc. I only found out about this through word of mouth from my HR Director. After learning about it, it wasn't extremely difficult to find but it wasn't prominent on the website to get to.

Robert C.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/03/2017

President/CEO

We have had 100 percent satisfactory relationship with ADP TotalSource for over 10 years. Extremely Professional and very easy to work with. Highly recommend.

Pros

Very Simple to use

188 reviews